We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kastellorizo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kastellorizo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kastellorizo
Save
You added Hotel Kastellorizo to your Saves list
Megisti, 85111, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The Hotel Kastellorizo is indeed a little gem. Located right on the harbourside, it takes only a few steps to the ladder into the pellucid, warm waters of the harbour. Beautifully decorated/furnished with lots of original and historical touches, spotlessly clean - even the ladder down into the water is scrubbed regularly - and in an ideal location, it is somewhere one can totally relax and luxuriate (in September when we went, anyway; July and August would be livelier). Little extras such as beach towels, a very effective shoe cleaner and luxurious toiletries (I loved the creamy body milk) give it that additional something.

Despite dire warnings we were not bothered with mosquitos at all and gave up using the elegant mosquito net arrangement after a few nights. Our room was light and airy; facing East we had morning sunlight streaming in, the perfect start to the day and guaranteed to get us out of bed and into the water for a pre-breakfast dip.

Breakfast was substantial - and heavy on the carbs - haven't dared get on the scales since I've been back - but who could resist Voula's delicious home-made breads, cakes and jams?

Voula and Yiannis do everything they can to make you feel comfortable without being intrusive. Any problems we encountered - the stair lift broke down - they did everything in their power to rectify (the engineer in Athens said he would get there 'before the close of the season on15th October') and if a problem is not solved immediately it will be due to the isolation of the island and lack of a local engineer, not lack of effort on the hosts' behalf. We were moved to the ground floor to another lovely room so you could say we had a two-centre holiday.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking peace, a romantic setting with beautiful views and discreet, helpful hosts. In fact we've already 'sold' it to three sets of friends, all ardent Grecophiles. Those with fastidious standards of cleanliness will be more than happy. We shall be back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was just wonderful.The owners were fantastic nothing was too much trouble,if you asked would we go again.ABSOLUTELY.We had a Greek Night and we were so welcomed never did we feel an outcast.Thank You Voula and Yannis.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We found this hotel by googling "10 least visited Greek Islands". Athens and big city stuff is just not what we like to do. When we travel, we like a slower pace, we like to read and eat great food and drink good wines and go for lovely walks and hikes. Rushing from one historic scene to another is just not our taste. So we read up on the few hotels on this island and settled on this one, easily. Yes, there are a couple of negative reviews on here about this hotel but let me just say that either these people would never be happy anywhere or they might like the whole hotel chain sterile room thing or they go mixed up and stayed somewhere else because the negative reviews have absolutely nothing to do with this place. We pulled into the harbor here, taking the ferry from Kas and I knew immediately that these were going to be some of the best days of our lives. Our hosts could not be more hospitable and gracious. If you have a need, they meet it with a smile and pure graciousness. They take time to socialize even though it is clear that they must be running their tails off taking care of this place. Our room is spotless. There is a small kitchen and we keep some foods like cheese and salami and wine and vodka and water in the refrigerator. The bed is very comfortable and the couches are made to stretch out and relax. The patio has two chairs, a nice sized table and two chaise lounges. There is a very large closet and when the windows are closed, the airconditioning keeps the room very cool in the heat of the day. There have been no mosquitoes here at all, but I know that can vary from year to year. There is a small pool but we spend most all of the day in the sea. The water is crystal clear and floating is very easy with the salt content. There is a lovely small bar (no smoking, thank heavens) with great cocktails and also a piano which is played by our host quite well, actually. The breakfasts are amazing - you have the opportunity to make your selections the night before. Whoever decided to complain about this - REALLY? You complain because you make a decision the night before rather than on the spot? That's just plan silly. We loved making our selections after doing the first breakfast and having a little of everything! The yogurt is the full Greek style; I mixed mine with some of the heavenly marmalades that are homemade - my favorite so far is plum but tomorrow will try one of the others as well. The eggs were perfectly boiled, the toast crunchy and rich, the tomatoes fresh and full of flavor, there was fresh fruit and heavenly coffee. If you want American style coffee, you check "filtered coffee" and you'll get french press. If you want true Greek coffee,check "a double" and you'll get coffee that will wake you right up! If you want things like bacon or sausage, you can order that separately, but there is a charge. Or you could make it in your kitchen I suppose, but though we sometimes have some bacon or sausage at home, the breakfast they serve without it is a great plenty for the day.

There are many wonderful place to eat and explore here. You can be as busy as you like or as much of a slug as you like. Your hosts give you the canvas and you paint the art.

We came from Portland Oregon, through San Francisco (delayed a full day for plane mechanics) through Frankfurt, then to Antalya, then drove to Kas then took the ferry. Next time I think we would fly to Liverpool, catch a connection to Rhodes and fly here, so much shorter (there is a tiny airport here - who knew??)

We just recommend this wonderful place highly enough. If you can't be totally happy here, stay home, you'll likely not be happy anywhere.

Room Tip: We loved Gamma 2, which I am reluctant to say in case it is booked when we next want to come!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

It is difficult to go wrong in Megisti. All seem OK in the tiny island. Beautiful village, superb restaurants, cute little hotels. We visited the island on a day trip last year, fell in love, and promised to come back for a few days which we just realized a few weeks ago. I arranged Hotel Kastellorizo through e-mail contact with the owner-managers; always smiling, incredibly positive couple. Hotel is next to the sea, not meters but only centimeters away. We took a top (3rd) floor room with amazing scenery. It was actually a suite with a small kitchen and a living room. Room is furnished with taste. Very very comfortable and spacious. Even the small bathroom is memorable with its decoration. Lots of light in the room thanks to several windows. If you are an anti-AC person like us, you don't have to turn it on at all; just keep opposite windows open for a nice breeze. Room is kept meticulously clean at all times. Linens and towels alike. Pictureous breakfast prepared to order for each guest every morning. The hotel does not have a restaurant but the bar is richly stocked. Yannis may surprise you with ice cold ouzo which goes well with the shelled specialties that he himself gathers freshly from the sea. Sun and sea don't need any praising. They are naturally of the best quality. The island's "pet" carettas are the bonus of all these paradiso. There are a few other hotels around which we haven't tried yet. However, Hotel Kastellorizo gave us everything we could imagine, thus, we'll not look for anyplace else next year. We took the ferry from Kaş, Turkey. Probably the easiest way to hit the island. It only takes 20 minutes from Kaş to Megisti and costs 25€. Hotel Kastellorizo, together with its location, architecture, scenery, owners, managers is A1. What else can I say other than thanking them for one of the best vacations that they made possible.

Room Tip: Rooms are very similar in amenities. Hotel's web site clearly show the location of each room. Pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Kastellorizo is an amazing island if you want to spend some time in a beautiful environtment. It is an quite and peaceful island. The Hotell is situated just a few steps from the sea. Don´t miss the sun rise in the morning and take a swim! The rooms are nice, clean and have everything you need. The breakfast is delicious and it´s so nice to have what you desire on a tray instead of facing a crowded buffet. The owners are really nice and will make the best of your staying.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor at the front of the hotell have easy access to the sea and their own s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is fantastically situated on the harbour. It has great breakfasts, good wifi, small pool but easier to swim in the harbour in front. Harbour front ground floor best rooms especially gamma2. The owners were most helpful in all aspects. If you want a truly relaxing chill out this is it. They have a nice little bar as well.

Room Tip: Harbour front best, but others were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We spent a few days again in Kastellorizo Hotel, which we simply adore. Beautifully located on a silent corner of the island and owned by two lovely people, Voula & Giannis.
Breakfast: tasty, fresh, home made, as always!
Hospitality: Excellent!
Gianni & Voula we are coming back very soon! Thank you for another great holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - I would prefer those on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kastellorizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kastellorizo

Address: Megisti, 85111, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kastellorizo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kastellorizo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kastellorizo is located right in the port of Kastellorizo, which is also the island’s only village. It comprises five traditional buildings, designed to be in harmony with the local architecture and is situated at the quiet end of the harbour. The hotel consists of 14 spacious apartments - Junior Suites and Suites - from 25 to 58 sq. meters in size. The rooms offer a discrete comfort, adjusted to the island’s style, with spectacular views across the harbour. The sea is just a few meters in front of the buildings. All units are fully equipped with sitting area, kitchenette, refrigerator, independent air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial telephone, TV (plasma in the suites) with satellite channels, CD/DVD, safe box, hair dryer, hot water kettle, trouser press, magnifying shaving mirror, bath amenities, sea towels, bathrobe etc.The hotel also has umbrellas and deck chairs, access to the sea for swimming, piano bar, children’s pool, thalasso – massage pool, room service, laundry service, mini market, automatic ascending chair for persons with special needs and generally all quality services that can make your holiday truly unforgettable. A home – made breakfast is served either in the garden or on your balcony. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kastellorizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.