We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My paradise :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Paradise Garden Restaurant

Harry's Paradise Garden Restaurant
Emporios | Harry's Paradise Apartments, Greece
+302243040062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 86 Restaurants in Kalymnos
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Real home cooking by Aleka and Evdokia, with fresh ingredients from the garden or of local production, make eating here an unforgettable experience. Our menu varies, depending on what is good and fresh since we do not rely mainly on the market for raw materials. The Mediterranean kitchen is one of the healthiest of the planet and this is what you will enjoy at Harry's!Of course you can have your breakfast with us! Fresh eggs from our neighbor's chickens, vegetarian dishes, home-made marmalades by Evdokia, and a large menu variety which changes often, depending on what goodies we find! Having your own olive trees comes handy too, since we use our own oil in the kitchen.The restaurant is mentioned (and recommended) in the Michelin Guide for the islands, the Guide de Routard, the Lonely Planet Guide, the Trotter etc. Recently, and after passing the relevant tests, it has been awarded enlisting in the Aegean Cuisine Initiative.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“My paradise :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I love this place.
Just 50 meter on the road to the harbour in Emborios you find this fantastic restaurant with delicious and excuisite food - mostly vegetarian.
Don´t forget to relax in the amazing flowergarten - for example in the hammock :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enchanted Garden, I did not want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I spent a few hours in this magical place hidden from the main street. We had a few friends in a kayaking trip in Greece and stopped there for rest and lunch, the food was very tasty,the family are very nice . The food was mostly vegetables and cheese and taste heavenly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Aegean Cuisine in a tranquil setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I hesitated to recommend Harry’s Paradise in Emborios on Kalymnos because some places are best kept secret. But this family owned and run restaurant is exceptional in every way and it would be selfish not to tell others. The food, described as ‘Creative Aegean Cuisine’, is indeed imaginative, a brilliant combination of flavours and textures, made with top quality local ingredients, very well cooked, and stylishly presented. They even rinse the cutlery in vinegar water so there are no smears. Typical of the quality and friendliness of the service. The menu changes regularly and included among the outstanding dishes are stuffed squid, stuffed tenderloin of pork .... and Leka’s mousaka is the only rendering of the traditional dish that I will eat. The garden setting has been created from a barren limestone field by years of hard work and is now a mass of lovingly tended exotic plants and flowers. If you want more lemon on your meal, pick one off the tree (asking first of course). Slightly inland from the beach it is sheltered and peaceful even when the Meltemi blasts in from the sea. It is difficult to imagine a better setting, best summed up by the Greek word 'ησυχία' meaning tranquillity. It's the Restaurant at the End of the Universe, having got there you'll not want to go any further .... even if you could. The one downside is that the bus service is very poor, adequate to get you there and back for a midday meal but for an evening you will need you own transport unless you are staying in the apartments at the back of the garden. But it’s worth travelling to even from Pothia at the other end of the island. One condition --- leave a table for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A paradise garden, indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This family-owned and run restaurant is tucked away in an amazingly lush garden, in the farthermost seaside village of rocky Kalymnos. It is not on the seaside like all other taverns of Emporios, which means that most people will probably pass by it, without paying much attention. This is what enhances the element of surprise (i.e., that such a place exists here)!
The food is all homemade and tasty, especially the appetizers (try the oven-cooked aubergines with cheese). Some fare was rather standard (such as the souvlaki) and non-memorable. All-in-all, the atmosphere is relaxing and unpretentious, a real discovery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant evening... We spent over € 50 for a few appetizers and a glass of wine, and they charged for the bread that came with it that we didn't order as they did in another restaurant in Masouri. It was nice outside and not too noisy. The food was good. The waitress was very sweet though she brought the utensils and plates in a pile without giving them out.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Paradise Garden Restaurant also viewed

Kalymnos, Dodecanese
Kalymnos, Dodecanese
 
Massouri, Kalymnos
Kalymnos, Dodecanese
 

Been to Harry's Paradise Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Paradise Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.