We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Philoxenia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalymnos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Philoxenia
Armeos | Armeos, 85200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Kalymnos
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stay in June in 2013 one week, the hotel is close to Massouri in Kalymnos island the hotel is nice clean is run from local family very nice Nikolas the front man is very friendly the room is large clean whit wonderful view, I recommend for nice trip to the Island. I would recommend this to budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

From the moment that we stepped across the threshold of this hotel, we were impressed by the sheer warmth and hospitality of Nicolas, George, Maria and the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We dined at the hotel on number of occasions and found the food to be first class at a very reasonable price. Maria will cook anything to order, from traditional Greek cuisine through to English egg and chips! Our room overlooked the pool with a fantastic view across to Telendos and was clean and comfortable. Nicolas has an English degree from Oxford and speaks better English than I do! There is a large car park behind the hotel. The pool is clean and just the right size. Breakfasts are basic but quite adequate and set us up for a days climbing. For climbers, the position is absolutely ideal, just below the Grotta although it may be a little quiet for the younger climber! We are already looking forward to next year - one of our party is planning to stay fro a month later in the year. Superb!

Room Tip: We had rooms 324 and 326, which were quiet, air conditioned and very comfortable, at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The hotel feels like home from the genuinely friendly welcome from Nikolas and his family to the clean and spacious rooms. We are so impressed we now use this hotel for all our climbing courses that we run in Kalymnos. The hotel is also ideally located for all the main climbing sectors.

Room Tip: Top floor have studio apartment's which are nice if you want some extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We only stayed here two nights while searching for a long term apartment but we were pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel. The room had a massive patio with a stunning view and the bathroom had a full shower and tub with good water pressure. Nicolas, the owner, was welcoming and helpful. If you want to climb, it is in a spectacular location below the Grand Grotta. Overall, I would recommend this to budget travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunz, Niederosterreich, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I were there at the end of March in the "off" season. The studio was nice and clean. The owner was extremely hospitable and it was obviously quiet. We were there for climbing and the location was great. Far enough away from the town that it was quiet and close enough to be handy. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Philoxenia in July 2012, and it surpassed my expectations.
We booked through Manos, Thomas Cook as a late booking.
The only other Greek island we had previously visited was Kefalonia, and this accomodation beat anything there.
We had a seaview room, and the views are breathtaking. The rooms are clean although basic. Typical of Greek accomodation.The beds are a little hard but we were pleased with the room.
Nicholas and his family do everything they can to make you welcome. His mum also cooks nice meals, which we tried at lunchtime.
The pool was spotless, and it was welcome as the weather is baking hot in July.
The bus stops outside the Hotel, and we used it to go to Porthia , and Emporios, which is well worth a visit.
We would like to return, perhaps in Late September when it's a little cooler.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We spent a wonderful relaxing week at the Hotel Philoxenia in June The location is superb, George,Maria and Nick make you feel so welcome.

Hire a moped to see the rest of this beautiful island, we can thoroughly recommend it. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance or try Maria's "home cooking".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Philoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Philoxenia

Address: Armeos | Armeos, 85200, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kalymnos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Kalymnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Philoxenia Greece/Kalymnos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Philoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Philoxenia to your Saves list