We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Museum Koutsoyannopoulos

Wine Museum Koutsoyannopoulos
On the road to Kamari Beach, 84700, Greece
00302286031322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 55 Attractions in Santorini
Type: Wineries, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only natural underground wine museum in all over Greece located on the premises of Koutsoyannopoulos winery.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The wine museum is very interesting and informative they provide you with electronic voice guides that allow you to listen to the various descriptions as you tour. There are a number of stairs that you need to climb.
At the end of the tour you get the chance to taste 4 wines including desert wines.
There is a gift shop that allows you to purchase the wines and, other gifts. One of the desert wines can only be bought at the museum.
The entrance fee including wine tasting was 7 Euro per person.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    93
    32
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I loved taking a tour underground in the wine cellars and learning about how wine has been made over the years. The best part was tasting the wine at the end :-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It wasn't good, it wasn't bad. It's semi interesting since they make the wine a bit differently on Santorini but nothing you couldn't get on the internet, if not better. At the end of the "tour" you can sample 4 wines which they choose for you. I don't like dessert wines so I only got two samples, though you pay for 4 with the tour. The wine I did try was just so-so. That's not to say you may not like it, but for my husband and I nothing stood out. The young lady serving the wine at the end of the tour was nice and knowledgable although the sounded a bit lack luster. Like I said, our experience was just meh.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Santorini wine museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Santorini is famous for its splendid sunset views but few have heard or visit the Koutsoyannopoulos wine museum. I was hesitant to spend my precious half day to see it but a trip there made me wish I had more time. It was interesting, well documented and worth the effort of going there. I visited it in March 2014 with my family and purchased many of their splendid wines. Back home in Mumbai, India as I drink their wines I am nostalgic and am transported there. I wish I had bought an entire crate of wine bottles.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting, worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Usually cynical about these type of "museums" as they tend to be self serving trying to sell product. This underground museum was genuinely interesting and would appeal to the wine or history buff. It really does represent part of Santorini's past and worth the 7 euro entry which included tasting of 4 wines

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Museum Koutsoyannopoulos also viewed

Santorini, Cyclades
 

Been to Wine Museum Koutsoyannopoulos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Museum Koutsoyannopoulos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.