We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Tour Didn't Visit Locations Advertised” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Travel

Pelican Travel
Fira, 84700, Greece
+30-22860-22220
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pelican Travel is a family company that offers tours in Santorini. With a 30 years of experience, we provide organized and private boat and land tours. Choose among wooden traditional boats, sailing catamarans and motor yachts to explore our island with our experienced skippers!Or opt for our private or organized land tours to walk on our island's paths and learn more of our history with our guides!
Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Private Tour Didn't Visit Locations Advertised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked a private mini-bus tour of Santorini for 13 ladies in their 60's and 70's. When we were picked up our tour guide was German and started our tour by spending 1 1/2 hour climbing up endless steps to visit a church that was closed and then on up to the top to see a view of the island and caldera. This was in spite of the fact we told her some of the ladies had problems climbing due to bad knees and hips. She wouldn't say why we were climbing, just kept saying it was just a few more steps and would be "wonderful". As a result there was no time for the winery visit, visit to the black sand beach and very little time in Oia. There was also no time to watch the sunset in Oia except through cars in the parking lot as we loaded onto the bus. I asked for a full refund, but was offered 30% because one lady said she enjoyed the climb and view from the top. The driver smoked in the bus while we were out walking, and stood and watched while we struggled to climb out of the bus which had a big drop from the step to the ground.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunset dinner cruise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've just returned from a Greek Island trip and this really is a must do when in Santorini. The experience was fantastic - a nice blend of volcano hiking, swimming, eating and drinking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pelican Travel - Private Catamaran Sunset Tour/Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just a quick word to say what a fantastic sailing trip was organised for us by Pelican Travel. The crew were very professional, extrememly welcoming and made sure that we wanted for nothing during our private sunset tour of the Caldera in Santorini. We all thoroughly enjoyed it and hope we get the pleasure to repeat the experience in our next visit to Santorini. M. Vassalos

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic private tour of Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

With only 12 hours notice, Pelican Travel set up for us a wonderful yacht tour of the island. The skipper was smart, knowledgable, warm. The food which he prepared on the boat was fresh and delicious. This 4 hour tour was a dream, i would do it again with my eyes closed

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great tour of Santorini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just returned home from a cruise from Istanbul to Rome. We've long since tired of cruise tours so we book our own private tours before we leave home. Browsing Tripadvisor I found Pelican travel and booked a day tour with them for four of us. We took the funicula up to and followed the directions right to the agency. After checking in they told us that our guide was on her way and would be right there. Within a few minutes, Helen, our guide showed up and started our tour. She took us all over the island pointing out the beautiful views, walking us through tiny streets to beautiful places and spots for shopping. We saw the green sand and black sand beaches. She asked if we were interested in stopping at a winery and we said, "of course". She gave us a few choices and we picked a small one owned by her father. We prefer smaller local places. What a great time we had and some wonderful wine. When she dropped us off close to the funicula we asked for a restaurant recommendation and she suggested, The Greek, around the corner. We ate so much that we skipped dinner on the boat that evening.
All in all it was a fantastic day and much better that a large tour with 40-50 other people. Thanks Helen and Pelican tours for a wonderful day in Santorini.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Travel also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.