We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acquamarina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acquamarina Resort to your Saves list
Acquamarina Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nea Chryssi Akti | New Golden Beach, 84400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 136 Hotels in Paros
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Located few metres from New Golden Beach in Paros Island, Acqua Marina Resort is a small, beautiful and quiet structure to spend a holiday in Paros, Greece.
We spent two weeks in July 2012 (a family of 2 adults and 2 children of 9 and 5 years old); we've been upgraded for free to a Suite (sea view) just because we booked well in advance. So we got a real apartment instead of a big room! My advice is to book on B&B basis - like we did - as there are less expensive places nearby for lunch/dinner (the internal small pool-resaurant is OK even with a limited course list / menue). I rented from Italy through the Internet a car for all the period so that we could see the whole island (+ Antiparos); the car is also useful to go out for dinner in the different villages and to reach beaches without wind when the Meltemi is getting so strong that doesn't allow to stay in the beach in front of the Hotel. The beach is really beautiful, clean (Blue Flag 2012) with crystal clear blue water, perfect for both families with children and for windsurfers (which I'm not...). The room was clean, the breakfast buffet was OK (full: continental and/or british, as you like). The hotel pool is clean and really big. I would strongly recommend this place for both couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This resort is amazing to spend the holiday. I stayed there for 10 days in the month of july. The location is great, about 40 km from the island "capital" the city of Parikia where the ferry will leave you. Is is easy to reach the hotel by car or by taxi . (TIP : is you are just 2 people without a car try to find a taxi that goes in the same direction, because it will be very difficult to find a taxi that will take just thje 2 of you on the other side of the island.) In front of the hotel there is a private beach of this resort and it is not crowded, but if you want to have some fun you can go to POUNDA BEACH and find in the same place small souveniers shop, a beach club and a lot of people who party on day light.
The rooms are very clean, they change the towels every day and clean the room. There are also rooms with sea view, with terrace. We stayed on the 4 building and we had a room with sea view and it was nice. In the room there is a mini fridge also.
The food is great, especially beackfast and you can ask any time room service :).
Next to the resort thee is a windsurf club if you are interested and the weather is perfect for this.
I kindly recomand this resort for everyone, is perfect for couples, families or just a group of friends, you can spend a quiet holiday or you can also have some fun. And if you go do not miss Pounda Beach.

Hitchhiking works very good on the island :)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in July 2011, and I just could not believe how beautiful, and how perfect the resort was, in terms of the most perfect and most pleasing Cycladic aesthetics, the flora and fauna, the chirp of the insects and leading up only 20m to your very own, the most gorgeous clear-water beach I have ever seen in my life! I cannot explain enough the magic of the resort and Golden beach. Location is perfect for couples, and families and if you can't feel the romance in Paros with a 4-wheel motor (γορουνα?) zipping round the island at night and swimming in Golden beach, then you better give up. :P

The suites are beautiful, and they have all kinds from beachfront (but when the beach is in front, I really don't see why you want beachfront) to sea view, all of which have a wonderful balcony overlooking the beach. Ah, the beach. Oh heavens, the gods blessed me when I arrived there. To experience such beauty of the beach. I have never seen the water so clear, as if it was drinking water!

Food is wholesome, pretty Greek, so indulge yourself, you're on holiday, so it doesn't hurt.

Zipping through to party town Naoussa or Parikia takes roughly 30 mins and it should be 15 mins to the Pounta beach that takes you by 5 min ferry to Antiparos, a must-visit for souvenir collection! :) Oh, in Naoussa, go by the shell-selling kiosks and pick up some beautiful pieces. They are cheap and they are wholesome, and handmade by true blue greek fisherman.

I couldn't ask for a better experience. Onwards to Acquamarina encore! And of course I adore the resort owners, the young lady is pretty cool and we made good friends with her. :D

Note: This is Greece au-naturale in terms of terrain, so expect lots of mosquitos in summer, and if they like to suck your blood, buy yourself the mosquito coil. And use the mosquito netting they hang for you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed there with my family during our visit in Paros island last summer and was absolutely satisfied with the place. Our room was clean, good size with a beautiful view and we had an amazing beach just steps from our door. It was almost like our private beach! Restaurant's food was delicious and fair priced ( I personally loved what they were offering for breakfast which was included in the room price). We could enjoy our drinks right next to the pool which was cool since we did not have to leave the hotel if we did not feel like it, everything we needed was right there! Staff also was very friendly and helpful and we even made friends with some of them. Overall I would say that we had a great time there and I would definitely recommend this resort to people who need a place to relax and have fun at the same time (especially families with kids). Its totally value for money and I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I stayed at the Acquamarina Resort Sept 1 to sept 7 08, It was in ever sense perfect.
Room :
We had a Jr Suite that was tasteful and comfy the bathroom was huge and completely covered with marble. The small terrace in front of the room had an amazing view of the sea and pool area.
Staff:
The staff was what really made this place a jewel, helpful in everyway from the desk clerk to the waitresses at breakfast, to the housekeeping staff and of course the bartender and barmaid at the pool bar.( By the way I always got a frosted mug when I ordered a beer).
Grounds and beach :
The grounds of the hotel are bursting with breathtaking flowers and shrubs the grass is a little brown but this is greece and that's to be expected.Golden beach is literally right in front of the hotel and was not to crowed with fine gold sand and lots of windsurfers.The pool is huge and well kept even though it seems a bit of a waste with the sea just in front of it.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Nice and cute resort next to one of the finest beaches of Paros.
Typical Cycladic architecture outside, nothing special inside the --spatious- room.
Bathroom could be better, the same is true with the service (cleaningness, room service etc) which had nothing to do with the self claimed by the hotel four stars.
Breakfast though served up to 11.00 am, which is good for late sleepers, was dull and boring, we did not get it but twice in a 10 days stay.
Restaurant yes, next to the pool (which is fantastic by the way), but really expensive and discouraging trial.
Too many families with small kids, ideal for this type of residents.
Last but not least:if you are a beer drinker they only serve Heineken draught in small plastic cups at the pool, 4 euros per glass...

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

The grounds and pool are very nice. Service was fine. Room was very medicore, the bathroom absolutely a nightmare. Our Jr. Suite was a room (ok in size) with 3 small hard single beds. We did have a refrigorator, but not one comfortable chair to sit in. The small patio was supposed to be a sea view, it was not. All we could see was the reception area. The patio was shaded and had more privacy that most of the others. The beach is a waste of time unless you are into windsurfing. The bathroom was our main complaint. There wasn't really a shower. Just a hand held shower in one corner with the drain on the opposite side of the room. Also the drain barely "drained". When anyone would take a shower the entire bathroom floor would become a stagnant pond, even if you used the water sparingly. Also the toilet took so long to refill it could only be flushed once an hour. A problem with 3 people sharing the "suite". I wouldn't recommend this place. Also wasn't impressed with Paros in general (unless you're into windsurfing).

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acquamarina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acquamarina Resort

Address: Nea Chryssi Akti | New Golden Beach, 84400, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Paros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 136 Hotels in Paros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acquamarina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acquamarina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acquamarina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.