We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finikas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Finikas Hotel to your Saves list
Finikas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alyko Beach | Pyrgaki, 84302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Naxos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed in Finikas as a large group of four families, and all 17 of us were delighted! The location in front of the water provides a beautiful backdrop for a hotel that is run professionally with plenty of personal touches. The breakfast is very generous, with home-made savory dishes and cakes, as well as eggs made to order, delicious greek yogurt and fresh fruit. The bar and restaurant menus are well priced for hotel standards and offer good quality (albeit slightly uninspiring) food and great cocktails. The rooms are comfortable, but could do with a bit of personality injected to the decor. However, what sets Finikas aside from its peers in Greece, is the people who run it: Eleni, the hotel owner is always present with a big smile and a mild manner, ensuring her operation runs smoothly. Her team strikes the perfect balance between familiarity and professionalism; requests are always met with enthusiasm, the tips on Naxos are spot-on and their constant presence ensures seamless service. This is a feel-good place that you just don't want to leave behind...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    32
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Finikas hotel is a perfect place if you are looking for peace and quiet in natural surroundings,which I did. Or, as many guests seem to rent a car, a perfect basis to come back to. The place is rather isolated,but in return you get undisturbed rest in spacious grounds in an open environment of mountains and woods by the sea. Another asset is the very good restaurant with very friendly service,which is continuously open. The overall atmosphere is very pleasant and this is due,in my opinion,to many elements : the very pleasant rooms and the nice pool, but certainly the friendly and helpful staff, from welcoming reception to restaurant and housekeeping and porter service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

On Naxos for 3 nights and chose the Finikas as a SLH. We had decided to try out the Finikas Suite. We absolutely adored our room which was right above the reception, had a jacuzzi on the terrace.

The terrace was absolutely humongous and literally wrapped around the entire suite with access from the bedroom, reception, living room.

We enjoyed a jacuzzi session every evening, looking at the stars. The service was very friendly and the food tasty.

This is a perfect island retreat. The coast on this part of the island is quiet and sedate. This was certainly a very relaxing stop and one we would really recommend. Please don't take our suite if you are visiting at the same time as us.... because we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Finikas for 4 nights in July 2014. The hotel is situated in a quiet and relatively undeveloped bay with beautiful sea views. There aren't many restaurants or tavernas nearby but fortunately the hotel restaurant and bar serve excellent meals at fair prices and we never felt the need to go anywhere else. The choice at breakfast is extensive and delicious.

The salt water pool, hotel grounds and the room are immaculately clean. What really made it was the friendly and helpful staff. We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visited this Hotel last year as part of our first Island Hopping experience in 2013 and was one of two on our list for a return in 2014.
A very high quality, clean and well maintained hotel. Staff are wonderfull and can't do enough to make your holiday something to remember. The accommodatin is U shaped with pool in the centre looking out onto a wild beach with lovely blue sea in the background - idillic !!
The restaurant faces out to sea and serves excellent food both at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We will certainly return again and would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Any rooms at the bottom of the U or to the right of the U with your back to the sea, the side which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A four-star hotel which constantly strives to uphold its rating as one of the fine Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Rooms airy with beautiful views of the sea. No reason to eat anywhere else on island - the chef is phenomenal and Nicola, our server, is also the fisherman who caught your dinner. Included breakfast is fresh, plentiful, and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff is amazing. We loved Merlto and Dimitri, the bartenders that will grant your every desire. Hellen the owner/manager attention to service and detail is A++++. Pano will give you the lay of the land, where to go/what to see upon checkin. Kosta, the chef was the head chef for the 2004 Olympics - need I say more. The breakfasts included meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs cooked as you like, fruits, olives and local jams. Our dinners were excellent and Kosta aimed to please. The lobster pasta we had one night was divine.

As another reviewer mentioned the pool is salt water and so refreshing. I could have lingered there all day. It faces the beach and there are no crowds of people.

Our room was huge, smartly decorated and immaculate. We had a living room, a sitting/dressing room and a bedroom with an extremely comfortable bed and a sizable bathroom. I NEVER sleep 10 hours but the comfort of the bed and the wind blowing through the palm trees caused a natural drug induced calmness that kept my head on the pillow.

This was one of the most relaxing vacations I've taken in years.

I would love to give it 5 stars but the spa was not as I had hoped. The location is out of town but if you are looking for calm, quiet, peaceful and A+++++ service, you won't care. The staff was so kind and helpful that you don't need to read about the island before you go. Upon checkin they map out everything to see and do and at a moments notice will obtain a rental car, taxi, masseuse or whatever your heart desires.

We would love to return to this Paradise!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 2nd floor with a huge balcony. Our room was very large and could have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finikas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finikas Hotel

Address: Alyko Beach | Pyrgaki, 84302, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Naxos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naxos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finikas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally steps away from the sandy beach of Pyrgaki, Finikas offers spacious, exclusive, sea-view & well-appointed rooms and a fantastic pool, set amidst a 4,000-m² garden, within distance from the center of Naxos which offers exclusivity and seclusion. It is located a few-minutes' walk from Alyko and Pyrgaki beaches and close to the white sand dunes. All air-conditioned en suite rooms of Hotel Finikas are equipped with free Internet Access, Satellite TV, Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, in room safe, 24h room service and reception, wake up service, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. For those looking to unwind, there is a jacuzzi and a sauna on site. The hotel also has a well-equipped fitness room. Naxos town is 17 km away, offering shops, nightlife and great dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Splendia so you can book your Finikas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finikas Hotel Naxos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finikas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.