We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in quiet location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finikas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Finikas Hotel to your Saves list
Finikas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alyko Beach | Pyrgaki, 84302, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in quiet location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the Finikas for 4 nights in July 2014. The hotel is situated in a quiet and relatively undeveloped bay with beautiful sea views. There aren't many restaurants or tavernas nearby but fortunately the hotel restaurant and bar serve excellent meals at fair prices and we never felt the need to go anywhere else. The choice at breakfast is extensive and delicious.

The salt water pool, hotel grounds and the room are immaculately clean. What really made it was the friendly and helpful staff. We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    30
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visited this Hotel last year as part of our first Island Hopping experience in 2013 and was one of two on our list for a return in 2014.
A very high quality, clean and well maintained hotel. Staff are wonderfull and can't do enough to make your holiday something to remember. The accommodatin is U shaped with pool in the centre looking out onto a wild beach with lovely blue sea in the background - idillic !!
The restaurant faces out to sea and serves excellent food both at breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We will certainly return again and would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Any rooms at the bottom of the U or to the right of the U with your back to the sea, the side which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A four-star hotel which constantly strives to uphold its rating as one of the fine Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Rooms airy with beautiful views of the sea. No reason to eat anywhere else on island - the chef is phenomenal and Nicola, our server, is also the fisherman who caught your dinner. Included breakfast is fresh, plentiful, and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The staff is amazing. We loved Merlto and Dimitri, the bartenders that will grant your every desire. Hellen the owner/manager attention to service and detail is A++++. Pano will give you the lay of the land, where to go/what to see upon checkin. Kosta, the chef was the head chef for the 2004 Olympics - need I say more. The breakfasts included meats, cheeses, cereals, eggs cooked as you like, fruits, olives and local jams. Our dinners were excellent and Kosta aimed to please. The lobster pasta we had one night was divine.

As another reviewer mentioned the pool is salt water and so refreshing. I could have lingered there all day. It faces the beach and there are no crowds of people.

Our room was huge, smartly decorated and immaculate. We had a living room, a sitting/dressing room and a bedroom with an extremely comfortable bed and a sizable bathroom. I NEVER sleep 10 hours but the comfort of the bed and the wind blowing through the palm trees caused a natural drug induced calmness that kept my head on the pillow.

This was one of the most relaxing vacations I've taken in years.

I would love to give it 5 stars but the spa was not as I had hoped. The location is out of town but if you are looking for calm, quiet, peaceful and A+++++ service, you won't care. The staff was so kind and helpful that you don't need to read about the island before you go. Upon checkin they map out everything to see and do and at a moments notice will obtain a rental car, taxi, masseuse or whatever your heart desires.

We would love to return to this Paradise!

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 2nd floor with a huge balcony. Our room was very large and could have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I spent 6 fabulous nights here. The facilities were delightful and of a very high standard. The food was fantastic and the chef made several special dishes for us after finding a fellow-foodie in my husband. The real difference between Finikas and other hotels has to be in the quality of the staff and their commitment to customer service. Other reviews may focus on small, logistical grumbles but I believe a holiday is about the overall experience and the opportunity to meet people who are passionate about their country and take the time to share this with visitors from other nations. In this the team at Finikas can not be bettered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I got into the taxi in Naxos port with trepidation in our hearts, having read the mixed reviews on tripadvisor, but man, were we in for a surprise - this hotel is perfection. From the lovely staff greeting us with local liquor, to the amazing food, to the gorgeous salt water pool and lovely, well-thought out room with simple, clean furnishings, the place is really a heavenly hotel to spend a week in. There's gorgeous hidden beaches in a cedar forest five minute walk away, and we rented a car to have fun exploring the rest of the island.

The food: The giant breakfasts were incredible, with eggs made to order and endless local cheeses and fresh vegetables and honeys, etc. The lunches and dinners were also superb, and they even gave my boyfriend a surprise giant slice of birthday cake with candles and all. I love this place.

The beach/pool: There's been some comments about the rocky beach. Well, they've raked the beach and now ti is rock free, and the cabana chairs by both beach and pool are very comfortable, with lots of free, clean beach towels for the taking. The pool is salt water, which was a gorgeous surprise. Feels so fresh and clean when compared with chlorine pools.

The service: In short, the service was amazing. From fully arranging our (delivered) rental car, to the surprise bday cake for my boyfriend, to the lovely cleaning woman for the room, and our waitress who was so friendly and fun she felt like family, we missed them all when we left.

In sum: we'll be back every year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have been very disappointed by the hotel and the hotel management.

The description on the webpage is very far from what you finally get. The hotel rooms are tiny - family rooms are a catastrophe... In our "family room/suite" the kids had to sleep in the entrance. Between the fridge, exit door and bathroom door. They had to sleep on (!) a sofa - no bed for the children. The size of the room is not what the webpage describes - the probably count the stairs to get to the room in... :( The shower is not 1 m2 - tiny. We had to beg for shower gel & shampoo. Finally we got a small tube for 4 people... Very disappointing, poor quality and cheap interior.

We asked for a bigger room - the management just ignored us. When we insisted on receiving an answer/solution; the answer was "there is no room/solution for us." A caring and hostile management looks different.

Whatever you want extra, you need to pay - even the breakfast drinks (chocolate, etc.) for the children. Free is only poor filtered coffee.

At the beach you can't access water because it's full with sharp stones. The hotel provides crappy, plastic sunbeds (the cheapest you can get) - 6 pieces in total - under military covers. There is a nice beach next to the hotel but there are no umbrellas provided and since it's windy on Naxos, it's very difficult to protect yourself from the sun.

For us the hotel tries to squeeze the max of money out of the guest - hospitality looks different. This is pure profit maximizing! Provide a minimum - cash in maximum. Very poor.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finikas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finikas Hotel

Address: Alyko Beach | Pyrgaki, 84302, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Naxos
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finikas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally steps away from the sandy beach of Pyrgaki, Finikas offers spacious, exclusive, sea-view & well-appointed rooms and a fantastic pool, set amidst a 4,000-m² garden, within distance from the center of Naxos which offers exclusivity and seclusion. It is located a few-minutes' walk from Alyko and Pyrgaki beaches and close to the white sand dunes. All air-conditioned en suite rooms of Hotel Finikas are equipped with free Internet Access, Satellite TV, Mini Bar, Air Conditioning, in room safe, 24h room service and reception, wake up service, bathroom amenities and hairdryer. For those looking to unwind, there is a jacuzzi and a sauna on site. The hotel also has a well-equipped fitness room. Naxos town is 17 km away, offering shops, nightlife and great dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Finikas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finikas Hotel Naxos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finikas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.