We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Faros Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Faros Studios to your Saves list
Faros Studios
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alyko Beach | Alyko Naxos, 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Came across this family run hotel using TripAdvisor. We stayed for 3 nights while in Naxos. Even though it's situated 20 minutes outside Parikia it's worth considering. Some of the nicest beaches are nearby. The hotel itself is super cosy and you are treated with a pleasant warmth from the owner and the staff. If we ever go back to Naxos we'll be staying here for sure!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
121
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After Island hopping for five weeks in the 'Little Cyclades' and staying in good and not so good basic accommodation it was an absolute pleasure to walk into our room at Faros. Nickolaos picked us up from the port and, from the start, it was obvious that here was someone who cared about his island, his studios and his guests.
Faros studios are based in a quiet and beautiful area of Naxos. The rooms are immaculate - clean, spacious and modern with wonderful showers! There are no other restaurants or tavernas in the near vicinity, but the restaurant on site is excellent.
The beaches,which are within walking distance, are stunning. Nikolaus advised us to walk along the headland to see beaches which could easily be missed if travelling by car. What good advice - beach after beach with stunning white sand, dunes and clear water.
The studios have their own excellent pool area which we would normally not have used, but due to the extremely strong winds during our stay, we managed to shelter there.
The staff at Faros are polite, friendly and helpful - a credit to Nico's management.
We would definitely use these studios as a base to tour Naxos again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay here. We immediately felt relaxed and at home here.
If you want to get away from the busyiness of life come here.
- great price for the amount of amenities provided.
- clean, up to date
- great breakfast with fresh and homemade food- such as scrambled eggs with ham, yummy crepes, yogurt, cereal, tea and coffee, etc.
- the staff was so helpful and amazingly friendly. They really try to give you the best experience possible
-loved the pool and grounds
- beach is just a walk away
-can get a shuttle from the ferry to the place which is about a 20-25 min drive.
- we didn't eat anywhere else bc we loved the food so much here! Fresh and homemade! Talented cooks! You really can't go wrong. I loved the mushroom appetizer, fava bean paste, with yummy bread or pita. I did have a shrimp dish and it was a bit over cooked and dry. But other dishes were wonderful. The salads are FABULOUS!
-family run business- Niko is at the front of the house, and the brothers are in the kitchen.
- they have bikes you can take out for a nice stroll.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I recently stayed at Faros Studios with my wife and fourteen year old daughter. We spent five days in Naxos and had a wonderful time. We were so hapy that we chose Faros as our base. The setting in Alyko is wonderful (the nicest beaches in the island), quiet and peaceful. The rooms are comfortable, clean, with good service and most of them have a nice view. Nicos and the Moustaki family are very helpful and pleasant hosts, eager to arrange car rentals and dining reservations as well as courier service in order to get my passport picked up in Athens and delivered to another island. The food in the taverna is excellent traditional Greek cuisine, using very fresh local ingredients and with a nice variety of options. All the staff are couteous and helpful. The pool is very nice and Glyfada beach is a five minute walk across the road. The beaches around the Juniper tree reserve in Alyko are worth the small effort in getting to them. I would highly recommend this place as your base for exploring Naxos!

Room Tip: I would get a west or south facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Warm and relaxed atmosphere. Nikolaus runs the show with grace and charm and will help plan your days on the beautiful island of Naxos. The staff is also fantastic, making sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I have traveled to a lot of wonderful island/beach destinations (Thailand, Malaysia, Burma, Australia, Bali, Florida etc.) and this is by far the best place we have stayed!

Faros is Greek for lighthouse that can symbolize salvation and forward looking in life. This is a perfect name for this secret hotel that is tucked away on the south part of the Island (20 minute taxi from airport or port). The best part of this hotel is the location! You can walk (about 5 minutes) to 4 different beaches depending on your mood. If you want your kids to play with other children you can walk to the south beach, if you want to be alone you can walk 8 minutes to a more secluded part, or a stone throw away if you want to be close to the hotel, restaurant and pool.

The view from Faros are great and you can see the ocean in most of the rooms.

I absolutely loved the breakfast in the morning with a nice selection of choices.

The restaurant is at the hotel is amazing with the Grandmother cooking and supervising the kitchen. A lot of people from Naxos town (including locals) come to enjoy the local cuisines that are fresh, delicious, and made with local island produce and herbs.

The bar is wonderful and the bartender makes great drinks to quench your thirst after a day of lying out on the beach.

The staff is wonderful and always friendly! A most for a person or family that wants to relax when everything in the world seems without order or meaning.

Room Tip: I would recommend room 5 for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nikoloas' family's studios and taverna were excellent. We really needed a quick real quiet Greek holiday away from all hustle and bustle in busy London. What I was searching for was a non-hotel accomodation but a very small quaint bnb near the beach and local cuisines, and we got it! The pool was a bonus! The pool was huge which we were able to swimming laps. The property itself was very well maintained and not crowded. They only have 7 studios, so plenty of spaces for guest not to feel cramped. Also, their guests were nice too. We trekked through the berry forrest to get to secluded beaches, it was worth it even in the heat. I never really liked the idea of lounging in the sun and getting pruned up with skin cancer (I'm tan naturally and from grew up in California so wasn't desperate for all that), so all those outdoor adventures really made our holiday fun. We rented a car (which Faro's staff helped us book a car) to explore small villages like Filoti, Aspiranthos and etc. The countryside was absolutely stunning! I look forward to going back soon. Thank you Nikolao, your family and staff members for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Faros Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Studios

Address: Alyko Beach | Alyko Naxos, 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naxos
#20 Family Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Faros Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful piece of land, full of trees and pure Naxian Air, Faros offers a unique experience to couples, families or singles who search for relax and personal attention. Cedar trees on the sand dunes of Alyko, amazing beaches and coves in a walking distance, a little cozy house, colorful garden, stunning views of the sea and the sunset, infinity swimming pool, cocktail pool bar, greek taverna, mama's traditonal food and our family hospitaly is what you can expect at Faros! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Faros Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faros Studios Apartments Hotel Naxos
Faros Complex Naxos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faros Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.