We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Camara Hotel to your Saves list
Camara Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Prokopios, 843 00, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Camara Hotel!

Stavros is extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable for a triple. The location is great, just a short walk to the beautiful beach! There is also a bus stop close by to get to town (we ended up taking taxis which we found affordable and convenient for a group, approx. 10 Euros to get down to the port area). The breakfast offered was tasty in a bright breakfast room.

Our only complaint was some mosquitos in our room. Stavros informed us Naxos doesn't typically have mosquitos and that this year they have been particularly bad (he offered us a scented spray to remove them). We also had some issues connecting to the wifi, but again Stavros was happy to help.

Overall we loved our stay in Naxos and would highly recommend the Camara hotel! Thank you Stavros for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just come back from Camara Hotel for the second year (we like to change location every year and we usually never go back to the same place!)
We found the usual kind as well as professional hospitality.
As last year, we found a comfortable and very clean Hotel, improved by the mini bar service and coffe & tea facility in room + pillow menu !!!).
Sure we'll choose Camara Hotel next year, too!

Room Tip: rooms are exactly as represented in their photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you again at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Stavros and staff we spent a total of nine nights at your hotel. Hospitality and friendliness were wonderful . The rooms were very modern, the breakfast was very good and I really enjoyed your homemade cake

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We took the advice of many Tripadvisor contributors and booked the Camara, Stavros and I communicated by email several times and he booked a taxi to collect us from Naxos Port on our arrival by ferry from Ios (10€).

The hotel was a joy, clean and airy and we had a lovely room at the front overlooking the road, it’s in a cul-de-sac with virtually no traffic. It was spotless with a small balcony and small bathroom, but it had the best shower we’d encountered in the whole Cyclades!

The breakfast room was lovely and breakfast was better than expected, plenty of cereal, meat and cheese and eggs, and beautiful yoghurt and homemade jams. A kettle for boiled water and tea and plenty of filtered coffee. Guests at the Camara can use the pool across the street, just the shortest of walks and the comfortable beds even have towels, Stavros organised a car hire for us and then a taxi back to the airport (10€).
There’s not much going on at the hotel, which is a shame as its got a stunning roof top sitting area but just watch the door! The hotel is perfectly situated at the top of a small rise in the road and just a 10 minute walk to the centre and beach at Agios Prokopios with its long and developed beach.
There is a great selection of bars and restaurants and several general shops and small supermarkets. The bus runs passed the end of the street into Naxos town or down to the beach and all the way to the Plaka, please buy tickets in the supermarkets before you get on!

A great budget hotel, very clean and very comfortable, thanks you to Stavros and his team for all you help during a brilliant 6 day stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vastim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in Camara for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean and the owner was extremely accommodating, friendly and warm. When I go back to Naxos I will definitely stay at that hotel.

The town is really cute, small but not boring, with great options for all sorts of activities and food. The beach nearby is also great, one of the best on the island. I would definitely recommend this place.

It was my first time in Naxos and I was amazed with how beautiful the island is. Prices are for food and drinks are more than reasonable especially for the quality and level of service. Everyone we met on the island was warm, kind and friendly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at Camara hotel and loved it. Modern, clean hotel and room with a nice balcony. As others have mentioned, Stavros is one of the reasons that a stay in this hotel is so enjoyable. He's always on hand with advice and to make phone calls for local services if needed. Just a short walk to little town and wonderful beach. Everyone is so friendly here. Also plenty of restaurants and bars, which in June weren't too busy. Our favourite taverna was the one just across the road which got really busy in the evenings but the staff always managed to squeeze you in. Traditional Greek food at very good prices. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Camara hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We are grandparents traveling with our 12 yo grandson and spent the last 4 nights of a 3 week European adventure on Naxos at The Camara Hotel. We had arranged adjoining rooms as the price was so very good and reviews excellent. We greatly enjoyed our stay in nicely appointed rooms with balcony and garden views, each with comfortable beds and ample shower stalls. Stavros was extremely helpful as was evening manager Stafis, his brother-in-law. Sophia, served delicious simple breakfasts that included home-made jams, cheese and meats, hard boiled eggs, delicious yogurt with honey and cereals, all served in a sheltered open air upstairs dining area. Friendly and efficient Poppy the housekeeper kept rooms bright and tidy.

A huge plus for this property is the management's close relationship with its upscale next door neighbor the Lagos Mare and it's gourmet restaurant and bar. We spent long hours there when not at the sea, swimming and taking drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. The Lagos Mare also projects quiet movies and the World Cup when dark on its high pool wall, visible from many Camara balconies. Pray that the trees separating the two properties don't grow too high!

Our only relative disappointments, shared with Stavros during our stay, was the unavailability of the "side ocean view" room we were promised and the greater-than-350 meter walk to the shore. But to be fair, neither of these was of importance as the sea, being more like 800 meters away, is but a glimpse from the best balconies (see our lean-out photo) and one needs a car or motor bike to see Naxos anyway. So no big deal. (Karadatsis Car Rental was EXCELLENT; I indicated to managers Irini and Anneta that we preferred an older model car with a few dents and, for 25 euros a day which included necessary insurance, we picked up our slightly used Chevy at 6 pm and kept it for 4 nights for a total cost of 75 euros. This included a complimentary ride to the ferry on departure compliments of Mr. Karadatsis. Wow!)

We recommend the Camara/Lagos Mare!

Tom, Linda and Justin
Colorado

Room Tip: SE facing upper rooms are super and morning sun was indirect The 6 euro each cost for breakfast is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camarast, Διευθυντής at Camara Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review on behalf of Camara Hotel Team.
It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our hotel and we are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant.
We really hope to welcome you again at Camara Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Public Relations Team
Camara Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camara Hotel

Address: Agios Prokopios, 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Camara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camara hotel is situated in Agios Prokopios. It's only 350m away from the beach of Agios Prokopios which is one of the awarded beaches of the island. It's just 5.Km away from chora, the centre of Naxos. Camara hotel is a perfect choice for those who want to be near the magnificent white sand beach and of course near by all the excursions as the bus stop is quite near the hotel (only 30m). Everyone can be satisfied by its suitable and quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.