We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic pool area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aegean Palace to your Saves list
Aegean Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaka beach, 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 123 Hotels in Naxos
Tonsberg, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic pool area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were here at our honeymoon. We were greeted and given a bottle of bubbely as a nice gesture.
As we unpacked we discovered rotten fruit and half bottles of soda in the fridge along with some grapes . On the balcony there was some discarded clothing from the previous guests, not the best start on our honeymoon. Needles to say the cleaning wasnt superb, and that would be our lasting impression aswell as the dirt, sand and hair that was still behind the bathroom door and under the sink when we arraived was not once removed during our week long stay.
The breakfast was decent and they had even some nice cakes for dessert ;-)
The rooms are small but delicate decent balcony size with a nice ocean view on most of em.
Theres a fantastic pool and the area around it. Probably one of the finest we've ever seen . And if you dont feel like the pool the beach is only a few steps away. The beach is also were all the bars and resturants are located, there arent many and some of the clusters of food and drink can be quite a walk apart and the road is just a sand road that isnt lit at all and theres alot of traffic passing there so be carefull!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a vacation in the summer of 2012. A friend recommended Naxos as being more quite/local and family friendly. It was all of these things, but it was also too windy. We were there for about a week, and the wind was so strong we could only go to the beach 1 day (it was august but the wind made it so cold and the sand was in our faces so it was not pleasant to be on the beach the other days). The rest of the week we bundled up in multiple towels to sit by the pool. The pool is huge and lovely, but it was so windy, it was hard to enjoy. There was only one day during the week that the wind subsided, and on that day we got a glimpse of how nice it could be if the weather was good...

The room itself was nicely renovated and the facilities were overall quite good. Breakfast was included in the room price, and there was one very friendly woman who worked the the kitchen area. She really liked our baby and would pick him up and carry him around while we had breakfast. Being from NY I was not used to that, and I was a bit worried at first, but she was very sweet and once we got used to her holding our baby, we realized she was doing it so that we would have a few moments to eat and relax.

Overall if you are going to Naxos and want a resort style beach front hotel, I'd recommend Aegean Palace. But I would do your research before booking a trip to Naxos and try to time it such that you dont get such a windy experience (unless you are going their for windsurfing etc, which is apparently one of the big draws).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is a very nice hotel, with rooms that are clean and staff that is very friendly. The location is a bit far from the main downtown of the island but it has great service.
About 100m from the Hotel is a Windsurfing rental spot with a variety of equipment for any water sport.
We were upgraded to the best suite for free, it had a shower with massage jets.
Price was really low as we were there the week after the end of the high season.
The staff also advised about a horse back riding trip that was really fun.

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

room / pool area nice and clean. breakfast: had to ask a few times for food to be re-plenished and were told at 1o:15 (breakfast was until 10:30 !!) "finished" !! after complaining, service got a bit better. toilets (downstairs) for pool area: did not get cleaned for at least 4 days and had to point it out to reception. internet room: did not get cleaned for the entire week we stayed there. after our complaint, empty bottles and dished with left over food were removed. will not go again.

Room Tip: Plaka beach is pefect for a quiet holiday- but do not go this hotel!!! Overpriced for what it is and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Definitely a nice hotel. The pool and landscaping are amazing, it is close to the best beach in Plaka, literally 2 minutes walk on a dirt road (the whole west side of Naxos Island is one big sandy beach, one of the best beaches in Greece I have ever been to), and the staff is very friendly. Be aware: when you go to the beach there may be people selling stuff to you, not locals, but foreigners. They are not pushy but it can become annoying. Now the negatives: when we stayed the bartender's assistant and his girlfriend, both of them no older than 15, would have serious make-out sessions in the pool in front of our kids. Mind you this is a family place with a lot of little kids around. I found this to be very annoying and unprofessional as this went on for a couple of hours. The room we stayed at was tiny. I mean tiny. The 2nd bed was in the living room-kitchen, which was so small that if you are claustrophobic, you have a problem. The bathroom equally tiny with a capsule for a shower. If you go to the hotel website you will know what I mean. The nice thing about the room wss that it had a balcony on each side, and the balconies were big enough to allow all of us to sit out there. I recommend you ask for 2nd floor rooms because the view is nice. Even a pool-view room is quiet with a nice view of the pool. The breakfast was very average, in my opinion, very generic. Eggs were O.K, the milk was room temperature, the coffee horrible, tasted like it was watered down.The very cool thing about the hotel is that it has a weight training room with benches, a barbell, dumbbells, a Universal Gym, and a treadmill, so if you are into fitness, this is very nice. The staff is very friendly and there is shuttle pick up from Naxos airport. I recommend you rent a car and go inland to the mountain villages for some incredible views. Also go to the south side of the island and you will find some sandy, beautiful, and deserted beaches, very secluded. Back to the pool: as others have said the pool is huge, clean, and beautiful. The best attraction of the hotel. By the way Naxos is one of the most self-sufficient islands: they have their own cows, sheep, chickens, potatos, and make awesome cheese. Most of the tavernas you will go use their homegrown produce and meat, and the dishes are delicious. If you go to Naxos city you have to go to the temple of Apollo (I think that is the Greek god, could be wrong), and the old city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is definitely a 4-star resort and might rate 5 stars if it had, say, a conference center which thankfully it does not. What it does have is a spotlessly clean environment, nice rooms, a huge swimming pool, a great breakfast that comes with your room, free computer access, ocean views, a swimming beach across the road, even a pool table.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view, preferably on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent 5 days at this superb hotel, at the beginning of June 2012. Initially we planned 2-3 days but everything was above our expectations, so we easily stayed for more - pity we had not more days, during which we fully relaxed and enjoyed the always clean pool, spacious and cool rooms, very high quality of breakfast. Most important staff was really polite and always really caring, balancing professionalism with friendliness. Lady-owner at reception gave us a very good deal, breakfast included, which proved a very good value for money. Overall easily the best place to stay in the, in terms of facilities (gym was great too, snooker, pc room) quality of premises and excellent service. We wont say more as we will go again soon...!!!
All the best,
Asia and Vassilis

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Palace

Address: Plaka beach, 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Naxos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aegean Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AEGEAN PALACE is a 4 star luxury hotel located in the western coast of Naxos, 7 klms from the city centre of Naxos. With 60 guest bedrooms and 10 suites this privately owned hotel is designed as a restful, elegant refuge for both the business and leisure traveller.The golden and sandy beach, the turquise and crystalclear sea, the stunning views of the deep blue bay - the natural beauty of the environment in Plaka is an attraction in itself. Our team is committed to deliver a truly unique experience beyond your expectations - in luxurious surroundings and with impeccable services. Everything composes an unforgettable picture. Aesthetically perfect premises, breathtaking nature, warm and kindhearted people with a tradition of excellence in service, dedicated to your well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aegean Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Palace Hotel Naxos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.