We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summer Breeze House

Saved Save
You added Summer Breeze House to your Saves list.
General view of the house and pool
General view of the house and pool
General view of the house and pool
Stairs leading from the house to the pool
View of the pool
Private garden and sea view
Chilling out in the afternoon
Mykonos
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
karlykay
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great host, great views, but house a bit small for 5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Catherine is a great host -- picked us up from the ferry, and even gave us a list of numbers to call for taxis plus a simplified map for guiding taxis. The property is very near Paranga beach, which is a big plus. However, it is a little far from city center, and you must taxi your way around as there is not much reliable public transport (~EUR10 one way). The property is quite secluded, such that even taxis get lost too. It is also just 5 minutes away from the Mykonos airport. Beautiful views of the sea, impressive swimming pool, but still a tad too cold for use in May.

The house is not without problems though. First, it is too small for 5, let alone 6. One of us had a 30 inch suitcase, and can hardly get it through the ground floor bedroom door. The other room on the ground floor with the bunk bed is really just large enough for the bed plus a small bedside table. The upstairs room with a double-bed is normal sized. The living room is small, and if all 5 of us decided to sit we'd be pretty cramped. If we all wanted to eat together we can only be at the outdoor table. Otherwise, someone has to eat on the sofa while the rest eat at the dining table.

Second, the decoration is cozy and homely, but perhaps a bit too homely and a bit dated.

Third, two of us had sensitive skin, and had some trouble with the bedding. Not sure if it's because of the washing powder used.

Not exactly the most outstanding place we stayed, especially compared to the property we rented in Santorini for roughly the same price. Really hate to say this as Catherine is a great host, but I'm sure there are better rentals!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small space, Cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2012
Hi Casey,

I would like to thank you for your very kind words about me. I would also like to take this opportunity to clarify some points you made regarding your stay.

The house and its location are described in detail and shown in maps, both in this listing and in the written directions I give to all guests prior to their arrival. The house is within a complex of ten other villas, it is barely 3 minutes away from a large & well known super market, and the road leading to it is full of more villas. I don't think it can be characterized as secluded or hard to find. As for your taxi driver getting lost, are you sure he/she was given the right instructions? Mykonos is a small island and taxi drivers here know how to get around well.

You mention that the pool was cold when you came in May, but let me point out that unfortunately May temperatures do not always favour pool swimming in Greece.

Concerning decoration, the house is photographed in every detail and its decoration and dimensions are depicted in every way in this listing.

It is true that the indoor living room is not very big, but as this is a summer holiday house, people eat, relax and spend most of the day outside in the very spacious veranda (where the larger dinner table is located), as well as the big garden and the large swimming pool. I believe that these very spacious areas (all overlooking the sea) more than compensate for the smaller living room.

Regarding the bedding, I would have gladly used special washing powder for very sensitive skins, if you had mentioned your particular skin sensitivities at any point prior or during your stay.

Thank you and best wishes!

Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sara
Bahrain
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Moos Blom
Netherlands
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Christos
Greece
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Panos Panagiotopoulos
UK
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011 for a stay in July 2003
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Washington DC USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Athens
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$272
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Catherine M.
Speaks English, Spanish, French, Italian
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing