We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed! Swordfish was highlight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matthew Taverna

Matthew Taverna
Tourlos, 84600, Greece
2289022344
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 303 Restaurants in Mykonos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed! Swordfish was highlight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pretty good. We enjoyed this more the Avli (the no.1 rated) and it was a lot cheaper. Good portions. Nice setting. Spinach pie was tasty. Salads huge. 1 per couple would be enough. Swordfish was amazing. Going back for cocktails tonight

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    17
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We loved Matthew's for it's prime location overlooking the new port. We dined a couple of times at the restaurant and found it to be decent without being outstanding, but the service and ambience made up for it.

The owner is clearly very shrewd. On at least two occasions, we saw coach loads of passengers calling at the restaurant to dine. Presumably this is a pre-booked arrangement and it fills the place within seconds. From 4/5 tables in use it goes to around 30!!

We used the Taverna to have a beer before getting the bus into town on an evening. With buses down to one per hour, we would often have a drink or two until the bus arrived!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great greek cuisine and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Matthew tavern. The food was great and you have many options to taste traditional greek cuisine. The service was perfect, everyone was very kind and helpful and the prices were very good for Mykonos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food pod price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This has a wide variety menu with cheap prices. Worth to go there if you are stays near old port. This has pasta seafood and the portion sizes are pretty large

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If You are a Lover of Food, You Must Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our second visit to Matthew Taverna. We ate their our first night on Mykonos. I had the highly recommended moussaka which was delicious, my partner had the pasta carbonara which was a winner as well. After a 9 + hour flight to Athens and then waiting 7+ hours for a 25 minute flight to Mykonos we were so looking forward to a good meal and Matthews did not disappoint. The restaurant has an open air veranda with a less open option in the back I believe. While there we watched what others were ordering and asked what each dish was. One in particular caught our eye. It is called pork on a bone for 2 cooked in beer. We went again last night and ordered the pork on a bone. Be aware that it may take a bout 25-30 for it to come to your table and it is a little pricey maybe at 42 euros but for 2 people well worth it in my opinion. While waiting we ordered a litre of the house red and shared a very fresh and tasty greek salad. The pork on a bone is a food lovers dream, the flavour is amazing and the juices have dripped and been absorbed into the bed of crispy sliced potatoes under the huge portion of pork. You will need to be a lover of meat but if you are this dish is not to be missed. The waiter told us someone a few years ago ordered and ate one all by themselves, an urban greek myth maybe but the dish is certainly more than enough for 2 or more people. We have lunch covered today with the leftovers. I know we will return to Matthews before our vacation ends in a couple of weeks. Great food, great atmosphere, not to missed by true lovers of delicious food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matthew Taverna also viewed

 
Agios Stefanos, Mykonos
 

Been to Matthew Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matthew Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.