We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be a nice hotel in the 70s I guess” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kythnos Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kythnos Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Kythnos Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loutra, 840 06, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kithnos
Athens
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would be a nice hotel in the 70s I guess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for a friends wedding.
We were given probably the worst room in the hotel. Twin beds and a view to the garbage collection area behind the hotel. The rooms are ancient, the bathrooms the same and small.
The hotel doesn't have an elevator so if you have to carry your luggage to the second floor (or if you're pregnant like me) good luck with the stairs.
Although they have a huge dinning room on ground level they don't even serve breakfast. Supposedly they have a deal with the cafe-restaurant right in front but the prices even WITH the deal are higher than those of the other restaurants in the area.
The only good thing is the rooms are clean and the hotel is walking distance from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We suggested this hotel to friends and family for a reunion in the island and unfortunately almost no one was satisfied by the quality of the rooms, the breakfast as well as the cleanliness of the rooms. Although the location is nice, it is time for a renovations... asap!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Due to strong winds and a husband stricken with severe seasickness, I landed on Kythnos marina mid - August, unexpectedly. Kythnos Bay hotel offered reasonable rates for two nights and I was impressed by the helpful tourist information offered by Panos in reception, the free wi-fi offered in huge downstairs lounge with big windows, comfy seats and several power points and the close proximity to several cafes/restaurants about 2 mins walk away. The bus stop is about 5 mins walk to visit the rest of island. And the ripe figs growing around the back were the sweetest I have ever tasted. The shutters on narrow french doors leading to small balcony, ensured blackout for good sleep. Our room was at the back with no seaview but was nicely quiet. For me, Kythnos is a favourite small Cycladean island. Its inhabitants are known for their generosity and I agree from the efficient GP doctor, the taxidriver who found us a room to rent after 10 pm, (before we discovered Kythnos Bay Hotel the next day) and the friendly cafe owners who willingly tell you the best places on Kythnos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We have spent a week in a very friendly and comfortable environment!!!! Everyday the very kind owners gave us the best proposals to visit the island and explore the most beautiful beaches.We suggested it with no second thought and we hope to came back again in the near future!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

the hotel is not far from the heart of the village,is not far from the beach,is better though to have a car or a motorcycle. we had a weekend there and made us good impression the kindness and the service of the owners. Is a family and they try to provide everything,many thanks for the hospitality.
the island of Kithnos is amazing,do not miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

good location, clean rooms, polite owners - an overall good choice

Room Tip: rooms with a direct sea view also have a view to the sunrise: they are very sunny early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A 2 star old fashioned hotel situated close to the beach. I enjoyed my stay there. The owners are excellent, there is free parking area, and the rooms are small but comfortable with all the necessary. There is no breakfast but free coffee and a lot of creperies and cafes where one can have breakfast. Free wireless internet. There is no elevator.

Room Tip: Sea view and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kythnos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kythnos Bay Hotel

Address: Loutra, 840 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Kithnos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kithnos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kythnos Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kythnos Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kythnos Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.