We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our unforgettable stay in hotel Solaris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solaris Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Solaris Hotel to your Saves list
Solaris Hotel
84011, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Folegandros
Pove del Grappa, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“our unforgettable stay in hotel Solaris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Solaris only three days in September 2012.
It was a relaxing and amazing stay.
Surely its position raised on the Chora is remarkable. Mr Leonidas brought us from the port to the hotel and was perfectly informed of the marine traffic.
The chora is very close.Mrs Valentini was very kind, too.
Rooms are spacious and well furnished.
Prices were reasonable and the quality of the hotel really good.
We chose to have breakfast in the chora, so we can't give an opinion.
The island of Folegandros and this hotel are worth while.
We'll remember for a long while the beautiful sunsets from the Panagia.

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Solaris for 12 days in august 2012. The hotel was reccommended to us by some friends of ours. As frequent visitors to Greece, we found it to be one of the best accommodation we have had the pleasure of staying in Greece. It is perfectly located next to the Chora in Folegandros and has a reasonably sized swimming pool. The owners Valentini and Leonidas are friendly and very welcoming hosts. Breakfast is optional and is served by the swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and have nice balconies and terraces with a stunning view of the Chora and the church of Panagia. The light and view at the sunset are stunning and we thorougly reccommend it as a great place to spend a nice relaxing holiday.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Lovely location just out of Chora on the side of the hill. The village can be' reach ed in 5 min walk. Amazing view on the capital.
Typical Greek style, spacious rooms, pool and pathio for a delicious home Made breakfast. Definitely to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Solaris for three nights and found it an excellent choice for Folegandros . I agree with the other reviews about the description of the hotel and rooms. Mine had a magnificent view of the Dormition church from my bed! I find the openness of space and the Cycladic architecture very appealing.The owners were very kind to give us rides to avoid the uphill road when it was very hot in the middle of the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Newly built, spectacular views, building very pretty and in keeping with the character of the island, clean spacious rooms. Excellent value for money and friendly owners. Less than ten minutes from the village centre that has anything you could need. The last few metres of the walk are a steep incline so not for those with mobility issues. Note: it is more a small hotel/rooms to let than a full service hotel and the service is kind but minimal, there is no bar as such etc. Not a negative, just a note!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

A nice family owned hotel in folegandros. Near to the town of folegandros, nice stay, at nice big rooms with a friendly hospitality. A good choice if you plan to visit the island!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent five days in Folegandros in August 2011. This is a newly built small hotel just a few minutes away from Chora. The rooms are very clean and elegantly decorated and the premises are well managed by the owners.
The hotel has a swimming pool but we never used it as Folegandros has crystal clear blue waters. Although the distance from Chora is not long, it may be difficult at night as the road leading to the hotel is remote and uphill. We were using our car for our nights out and we were parking it at Chora's free parking.
The hotel has a beautiful view of Chora but as there were meltemia during our visit we couldn't relax comfortably at our balcony. Overall I believe this is a very good choice when staying in Folegandros. On our last day we checked out, left our baggage at the reception and went for our regular sea bath. When we came back late in the afternoon the owners were very polite, they gave us towels and allowed us to use the pool's private shower facilities before we left!
There were two lovely donkeys in a field in the entrance of Chora. I was buying a small apple everyday for each and they were loving it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Hotel

Address: 84011, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Folegandros
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Folegandros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Solaris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.