We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Filoxenia Hotel to your Saves list
Filoxenia Hotel
| Ormos Aegialis, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Amorgos
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Lovely view from the balcony over the harbour, great for sunset watching. Rooms are very comfortable, balcony, bedroom with fridge and hotplate for making a pot of coffee, crockery and tea towel provided, separate bathroom with wc. Breakfast taken on patio overlooing the harbour. Only a few minutes to the main areas where there is a choice of bars and restaurants. Lovely family who own the property. Would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We started badly when they failed to meet us at Katapola! Not the first time this has happened to me with Aegali hotels (I did e-mail 2 days before but should have rung from the boat) - still there are worse places to wait than Katapola on a sunny evening. After that all was fine. The room had a terrific view and was extremely well appointed and thought out. We were very comfortable for an eleven night stay. This is the 4th place I have used in Aegali and certainly the best - and cheapest! Shame the Sunset Cafe was not open to watch the sunset but a drink on our balcony was as good.

Room Tip: It is a long way up the steps to the top rooms but the view makes it worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The view from the tiny balcony (some were larger) was great and we watched a few sunsets. It's close to the town and road but you dpon't hear the road noise.
We found the owner to be off hand and his son, who met us at the port, made no attempt to carry a bag for us (not the usual friendly Greek approach)
I found my husband's passport left out unattended which unnerved me but not as much as the electric cable hanging into the shower (quickly fixed but still...)
The rooms are basic with an electric hob in the cupboard but no pot to make tea on. Beds pretty uncomfortable too.
There are better and cheaper places to stay just over the road witgh pretty much the same view

Room Tip: ask for a larger balcony otherwise its a bit of a tight squeeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kim1961
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lovely place perfect views over the sea and harbour. 5 minute walk in to town with the best sunset's our room was very big and clean with. we stayed for 5 nights and had sheets and towels change once which is enough for 5 nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located-all rooms have views of sea, harbour & bay, but quiet because its set to one side of the resort. 1 min walk to port & restaurants/cafes, 2 mins to bus stop, 5 mins to beach. Good quality produce breakfast, rooms cleaned very well every day. Only negative would be that I'd have liked more than 1 sheet/towel change in 7 days. Regarding previous reviews, I don't think its reasonable to expect a reception in a10 room hotel - the lady is always around for information during breakfast time (8-11)& the man was there every day around 10, plus a few times in the day. Also, in the room there were 2 telephone numbers to contact them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is in a prime position overlooking the harbour. Rooms clean and comfortable with a sea view. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. Aircon efficient and quiet. Breakfast good and tasty with the additional choice of yogurt or cake. Wonderful sunsets from balcony. Just a few minutes to the harbour with choice of bars and tavernas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights at the end of May 2012. We enjoyed it so much we have decided to return this year. Galina & Nikitas are very welcoming. The island was quiet and the hotel's Sunset bar was closed. We were happy to prepare our own breakfast & eat it on our balcony - with the best view in Amorgos! The sunsets are memorable. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: | Ormos Aegialis, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Amorgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.