We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Filoxenia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Filoxenia Hotel
| Ormos Aegialis, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Amorgos
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“What a perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Goregeous views, quiet spot but only 100 metres from restaurants, Aegali ferry, chilled out bars, what makes this place so fantastic is the atmosphere of Aegali - no english or german voices, nearly all greeks with a few french who have seen the big blue (filmed in Amorgos). We arrived here after 3 nights in overcrowded mass-touristic Santorini and were picked up by Nikitas, the owner. He's a gentle, laid back sort, not given to over communicating, but if you need anything, he'll help you. Filoxenia's location is probably the most beautiful I have ever experienced, but you do need to sort of figure things out yourself. Breakfast is included, but you don't really know this unless you ask. You are left entirely to your own devices, which was perfect for us. Breakfast is simple but the OJ and coffee are good. Rooms are spotless and have amazing views of sunset. If you are not a type that needs a butler, give this place a try. We'll be back. PS completely gay friendly place as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

Building and location quite good, clean and large room. However furnitures are old and ugly, the bed was very uncomfortable and there was no small kitchen or sink to cook. Rooms were cleaned every day but apart from that no other service was available. Most of the time the owner was missing.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in early June 2011 - we hadn't prebooked, rather we saw it from the ferry and looked out for the placards amongst those owners meeting the boat..
The hotel has a wonderful location, overlooking the bay almost at sea level but just outside the immediate cetre of the town. The only noise we heard was the night of the local greek wedding! It is, however, just a few minutes walk away. Great sunsets from the balcony.
Room was very well appointed - fully self contained with fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, haidryer, air con, and balcony. Spotlessly clean, and cleaned every day.
Breakfast not included but was about 5 euros each in the cafe/bar if wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

\we stayed at the Filoxenia in Aegiali for 4 nights and cannot praise it enough. The views from our room overlooking the bay and port were beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast with freshly squeezed oranges, fresh bread and cake were really enjoyable. Amorgos is an unspoiled mountainous island with spectacular scenery
I would recommend this island and the Filoxenia hotel to anyone who enjoys Greece, it may not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems due to the nature of the landscape and there are quite a few steps to the rooms at the hotel but overall it was excellent

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel was just lovely. Fantastic views of the harbour from our balcony. The room was clean, quite large and bathroom modern. The breakfasts great and the staff very helpful and courteous. We arrived by ferry in Katapola - the hotel owner picked us up and then transported us to his hotel in Aegialis free of charge. We had a fantastic 5 day stay at this hotel and would thoroughly recommend to others. Tea and coffee making facilities provided, along with plates and cutlery if you require. The best stay of our whole trip.

Room Tip: Most rooms have seaviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

A good basic hotel very convenient to Aegialis port.
View from balcony stunning overlooking the port and the bay with great sunsets towards Naxos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We spent at filoxenia just one night before leaving Amorgos towards Naxos, but I wish we could have stayed longer! We were in Katapola for 10 days and were supposed to leave from there but unfortunately due to bad weather conditions (strong Meltemi wind) the speed seajets boat have been canceled two days in a row so we had to stay one more night and have to move to Aegiali Bay since we were leaving at 7 am with a more reliable and traditional ferry. So we luckily ended up at filoxenia after calling randomly a bunch of hotel numbers. they were very nice, they picked us up at the bus station with their van: not that the hotel is that far away from the bus station ( i would say no more than 400 meters!) but since there is a slope we highly appreciated the gesture! the hotel is conveniently located at the beginning of aegiali, just outside the port so that it is very quite, with beautiful seaview and also very close to everything. rooms are quite new, spacious and clean including the bathroom. We payed 70 euro for a double bedroom the 11th of august... this is a great deal!
Aegiali is very nice with a long sandy beach along its wide bay (there's also a very nice beachvolley court but used to play rackets instead... the national sport! greeks do not play much beachvolley ;-)) but it's quite touristic, I think Katapola is more original but of course beaches are further away and you may need a car or a good scooter to reach them.
If you're planning to go to Amorgos you should really consider this hotel and check their availability... they do have email address but it's much better to give them a call.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Filoxenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia Hotel

Address: | Ormos Aegialis, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Amorgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Filoxenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.