We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel, small resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karkisia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Karkisia Hotel to your Saves list
Karkisia Hotel
Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Amorgos
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value hotel, small resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The Karkisia is a very nice, reasonably priced hotel in Aigiali. The resort is very beautiful , but very quiet at this time of year. It seems to be very popular with walkers rather than beach dwellers (like us). In fact, the beaches were quite disappointing.

The hotel is quite basic but is very well maintained, and in an excellent location. Value for money is very good indeed. Staff are always available, either in the hotel itself or the bakery opposite.

Amorgos is a very pretty island. Hiring a car and visiting the rest of the island is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Very good overall impression and a place I would recommend.
Location: next (just a few steps, no car needed) to the center, the port, and the best beach in the island.
Room: we stayed in a large room with two balconies with direct view on the sea and the nearby beach. Small kitchenette very useful for breakfast. Little but fully equipped bathroom with shower.
In early June no real reception service is available but a very useful 2am free pickup was organized.
Friendly owner but with no knowledge of English.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

It's certainly value for money! It's in the center of Aegialis, it's very quiet. The stuff is very friendly.
I would choose this hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We were here Oct. 19 - 23. We picked this from Tripadvisor and were quite pleased. The room was spacious and clean with a good view of the harbour and the beaches. As is often the case in Greece there is no real sitting area inside and TVs are perched high. This late in the season we had the hotel to ourselves. There was literally no staff; the key was at the bakery; mother would check in on us from the bakery every morning. The price was a budget delight. We could also cook meals if we desired, and afternoon drinks on the balcony were nice. The village is quite tiny and quiet this time of year, You will find that when restaurant dining you and your partner will be outnumbered by cats. The village is an excellent base to explore the island. We rented a car for some of it. Amorgos was a delightful reprieve from other heavily touristed islands. The hikes can be quite demanding and be prepared for signage to get vague or disappear (a Greek speciality). The water was still fine for swimming at the small beaches. We enjoyed our stay immensely but a couple weeks earlier is probably advisable for most.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Very nice sojourn in Aegiali. We arrived with no reservation and the proprietor who spoke no english was very nice. They indeed had a room but for one night only. She told us in very basic english that we would have to change rooms the following day, which was fine with us. The rooms were extremely nice and very large with nice balconies overlooking the bay. Rooms have a fully equipped kitchen with all utensils, a hair dryer, soap and shampoo. The following morning we were taken to our new room.....but alas it was not in the same complex. It was above the town bakery and across a ditch.... what a disappointment. We declined and meandered the town in search of other accomodation. We ended up staying at Christina Pension. The proprietors are very nice, but the rooms are not.... The rooms were not clean. Bed Spreads had unidentified stains on them...

Karkisia I highly recomend. Next time we will definitely make reservations. We looked for Yperia hotel but could not find it.... because it doesn't have a sign outside!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

I wont say how amazing Amorgos is because I don't want the word to get out...and Aegiali is certainly the pick of the places to stay. Karkisia has a brilliant location and I could not fault the value of the rooms for the price. However when i booked I wanted a two bedroom apartment and what we ended up with is a one bedroom apartment with a bed (for two) taking over the whole living area. basically this meant that we had no where to sit and relax in the apartment other than on the bed we slept in. This arrangement was not really made clear to me when I booked so just make sure you know what you want and also what you are prepared to put up with.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in Amorgos on the basis of the reviews I read on tripadvisor. The reviews did not let me down. The hotel was just the trick. The little port of Aegiali was lovely - especially the little bars dotted around ...very laid back and friendly and the locals were genuinely just themselves and friendly...not being friendly to get your euros out of you. The little beach belonging to Aegiali is lovely but the gem is if you walk over to Levrossos beach - 20 minutes further on. You don't need hiking boots as the earlier review said, I walked there in flip flops everyday and had no trouble at all. That beach is really lovely. The hotel - was really good. It was better than what I was expecting and the managers were lovely people. I had problems with the pillows being too thick as it just hurt my neck after 10 minutes but .. no problem they found me a flatter pillow. Rooms were also spotless. My only complaint was the inconsiderate guests staying at the hotel - very loud Swedish family were on the room below and that ruined it a little bit ... but after they left, it was peaceful. Amorgos is a wonderful island. I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karkisia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karkisia Hotel

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Amorgos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Amorgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karkisia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karkisia Hotel Amorgos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karkisia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.