We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel full of Russians - good and bad points to it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments to your Saves list
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60, A. Velouchioti Ave., Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 172 Hotels in Rethymnon
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“the hotel full of Russians - good and bad points to it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Like many past reviewers I'd agree the website is misleading and the hotel is not 5 Star! We were offered a larger room and received a warm welcome on arrival. The rooms are designed for self catering - not sure why - makes them bigger but it's a hotel really.

The staff were very good as I developed a cough and cold and they gave us extra bedlinen without charge to use the sofa bed. They did charge for the room's safe key which I think was tight in the extreme for a supposed 5 Star hotel. The breakfasts were fine if slightly repetitive. We tried the €10 / head evening buffet one night and it was poor. For a 5 Star hotel one would expect more choice. The bar was OK at night but had a miserable and quite rude lady staffing it in the daytime. The staff were mixed - there was an older lady who really cared. We felt many of the others (mix of nationalities) were just there for the money. The beach was fine and don't agree with an earlier reviewer's comments at all - the road outside is not that busy and it was easy to cross to the beach. The hotel also had a nice pool.

The big gripe was the hotel was jammed full of Russians! Surely it could have had a more balanced clientele. We met one other British couple and that was it, which was a shame, That's why I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We spent two weeks in this new Grecotel hotel in August and we were far from being happy about it. As regards good points, there are not so many of them... One is size: the hotel is relatively small so there are not too many people around what can easily happen in other huge brothers and sisters in the Grecotel network. We also enjoyed breakfasts which were good, fresh and with plenty of things to choose among. Also the staff in the hotel restaurant and reception was nice and friendly (beyond the fact that some of the Greeks working in the bar did not speak a single word of any language apart from the Greek and even giving a room number required writing it down for them...). This would be it for real advantages. As regards smaller or bigger inconveniences, here's the list:
location: the hotel is neither in the centre of Rethymno (it required 25-30 minutes walking), nor directly at the beach. Yes, of course it is just across the street from the beach, but there is still a pretty busy road in between. we visited friends in a much less luxurious hotel some 4 km further, but which was located directly at the beach and we saw the difference... it was nice, quite and safe for children.
beach: was one of the biggest disappointments. it was dirty and we littereally had to clean the area around us before we put on the sand our 1,5 year old son. but even after cleaning he was still able to find old cigarettes and other trash which he was digging out what meant that the beach was not being properly cleaned for quite some time. also the access to water was not very friendly. the beach was sandy, but there were a several-meters-wide strip of stones when entering the sea and it was not very comfortable to go into water. we ended up going to the hotel beach twice in two weeks and tried to go by car to several other beaches in the vicinity, which were much, much better.
hotel area: it was small and unattractive. for a family with a small kid it was disastrous as there was no space which would be safe or designated exclusively for children - there were either unprotected swimming pools or exit to the busy road or other elements which were not children-friendly. we couldn't have a single calm minute - we had to chase our son all the time to make sure that he was ok comparing to other spaces that we tried (another hotel, tavernas, restaurants at the beaches, etc) where it was enough to keep an eye on our little one when he was playing on a big lawn or so and not to go after him all the time. it means that it is possible to arrange the space in such a a way that a family with small kid can feel safely. also the hotel advertises itself as offering baby sitting services. well, when we asked for a baby sitter for the first time, they gave us ... a high chair! pretty anecdotal ;-) then it took the reception 3 days to establish that they had only one baby sitter who spoke only Greek (so even explaining her something would be problematic), who was anavailable in the evenings and in general not too happy to do the baby sitting. we didn't have big plans, just planned to go out for dinner from time to time, but we had to give it up... from our observation, it also looked that the kids club advertised by the hotel was neither working as forseen. it was open only for max 4 hours a day and only in the mornings when most people take their kids with them anyway. the effect was that hardly anybody left the kids there.

hotel room/apartments: nothing special and definitely not a **** hotel design. a sofa that should be already changed for a new one some time ago, some cables sticking out of walls, very, very small bathroom, strange smell in the bedroom. etc. well, the kitchen was well equipped, but who would cook if there were plenty of eating possibilities around, both good and cheap? also, the very first day a bottle of coke exploded next to our bed so there was a big brown spot on the sheets that were changed only after 6 days! in the meantime there were doing nicely our bed leaving every day this huge brown coke spot on the top of the bed. unbelievable!

summing up, I don't think that this is a particularly bad hotel, but it is not good either and definitely doesn't meet 4 **** standards. as somebody has already written it - it should be qualified as solid 3 *** .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rjukan, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

It was ratet as a 5* hotel. We rate it as a normal 3* hotel. On the hotels homeside they do not tell that it is heavy trafic between the hotell and the beach, and the photoes does not tell the real situation e.q. room standard.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This was a timeshare exchange, and after we paid an extra 20 Euros per day, we were given a nice large unit with a great view of the sea and bay. The first unit was small, dark and very unwelcoming. The mosquitoes were a problem until the front desk gave us little gizmos to plug into outlets in our room which seemed to do the trick keeping them away. We enjoyed the 25 minute walk into town where there are countless bars and restaurants to chose from. Although there was no parking we never had a problem finding a parking space close by. It was a great base to explore all the wonderful sights the area has to offer. Everything was close by, restaurants, grocery, bars, beach. All in all a very enjoyable week, just a shame we had to pay extra to get a decent unit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

this mid size hotel pretty nice, but not all services are on 5* level. our room (junior suite) was enough large, with small balcony facing to narrow backside street. Restaurant was fine, breakfast were OK, dinners were a bit boring after couple of days. Plates and glasses sometimes very dirty. Hotel beach (free of charge) dirty and littery. Hotel is exactly 2,85km from old harbour of Rethymno.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

we had booked with my wife for one week, taking in consideration, that this is a hotel of the "classical" chain.
unfortunately, we found out, that the "hotel" is working on a time share basis of furnisched appartments. the personal was very friendly but this is not enough. As we arrived at almost 23.00 in the evening, we were hoping to get something from the room service. the stuff told us, that there isn't any room service (in a 5 star hotel!!!!) the restaurant was closed and that we could get some pizzas from the restaurant near to the hotel. there isn't any elevator, so we had to carry our baggages for 2 stories, which we much disliked. breakfast was served up to 10.00 (this is a holiday place, not a business hotel), but if you wanted to get a snak after that you should go to a bakery.
we left on the 4th day, instead of 7. if you are looking for an accomodation without many facilities, it is ok. if you are looking for a"classical"5 star hotel, this is not the place I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Great holiday for partner, baby and my parents. When we booked we asked for 2 rooms on the ground floor near each other, when we arrived at our rooms we had 2 on the 2nd floor and they were duplex suites over 2 floors. We returned to reception and were given 2 suites on the ground floor next to the pool. We were impressed with the way this was dealt with.

I agree on previous reviews this is not a 5 star hotel as you would expect, more a 4 star. We did find the facilities within the room very good, especially the kitchen area as we had our young son with us.

Food was good, again agree with previous review that they do not label any dishes at dinner so unsure sometimes what you are eating and it would have been nice to have coffee included rather than paying €3 each. Tried some of the wines on the restaurant list in particular the house red for €14. Emma in the restaurant was lovely.

Walk into the resort is a fair distance especially in the heat, taxi from resort centre back to the hotel was only €5, not all taxi drivers know the hotel as the plaza spa suites.

Would stay at the hotel again for the right price

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments

Address: 60, A. Velouchioti Ave., Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classical Plaza Hotel Rethymnon
Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Plaza Spa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.