We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Village

Save Saved
You added Stone Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stone Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bali, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 140 hotels in Rethymnon
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you like the countryside then this is the place for you.
Very relaxed atmosfere.
You will need a car if you intend to stay here as it is quite a distance to the nearest beach and little village.
Staff are very friendly and helpfull.
They have a restaurante with ok food.
Apartments were very clean and little gifts were left for us in them.
The rest of the villa areas also seemed cleaned but with lack of attention to certain details, for example pool water didn´t look that clean. The jacuzzi, sauna etc were not working.
Don´t forget that you´re in the countryside so bugs do exist.
Overall we enjoyed our days there.
We booked it through Thehotel.gr and all went accordingly with very reliable service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I am just back from spending a week at Stone Village with my boyfriend. We had hired a car and arrived at around 2am, the place was dark and when we went into reception we were greeted by a sleeping receptionist who didn't speak much English. We finally portrayed to him that we wanted to check in and were brought to our room; a two storey maisonette. We were tired and disgruntled at this first impression, however, what was to come exceeded our expectations.
When we woke the next morning and saw the place in daylight, we realised how gorgeous the setting was; nestled in the Cretan hills, enough away from the resort of Bali so as not to be bothered by the noise from the bigger hotels and resorts. The grounds are maintained immaculately and they even have a zoo on site with ostriches, goats, chickens, a camel and a horse and donkey that children can take rides on in the evenings (I was unfortunately too big!).
We were greeted in the morning with an apology for the night before and all of the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating; especially George and Kókkinos (I hope I have that right!).
One piece of advice would be to definitely hire a car, Stone Village is about a five minute drive from the centre of Bali where the beaches and restaurants are. There is a little train that runs regularly but stops at night time.
There are not many great restaurants in Bali itself, a lot of touristy places with pictures of food on the menu. Karavostasi (http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g1177043-d3546625-Reviews-Karavostasi-Bali_Rethymnon_Prefecture_Crete.html) which is on the far side of the village in a lovely bay, or the restaurant in Stone Village itself would be the best local places. However, if you're willing to drive to the next village of Panormo you will find a multitude of gorgeous, authentic Cretan restaurants at very reasonable prices. Well worth the effort; we went here 4 out of 6 nights!
Overall; great stay, greta staff, very clean; rooms cleaned daily, even if you do wake up a bit late, they will always come back! Big plus is it has three swimming pools, so you will always find peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Only air con in the main bedroom of the maisonettes. If you have kids, take heed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in a studio apartment in April for one week. The hotel originates some mixed feelings:
The location is really calm. The hotel is located near the small village Bali with a beautiful view of the surrounding hills. The owner and the staff are friendly.

The rooms are large and equipped with kitchenette, air conditioning, TV, bath supplies and other usual things. Unfortunately, the door to my room featured some very large chinks. If the weather is windy, the wind will blow into your room. Naturally, if you are reading with some light switched on in the evening, many insects will find their way inside (besides millepedes and snails). The sheets were clean, but smelled slightly musty in contrast to the bedspread and the table cloth. Both have had some staints which remained for the whole week.

The warm water is provided by the sun light. It means, if you like to shower with warm water, you should start as long as the sun is shining. Otherwise the water will be terribly cold.

Happily, the breakfast was good. They offer cold and warm things like several kind of omeletts, fruits, yogurt, cakes, bread and some cretian specialities.

With the highway nearby, you can reach easily a lot of interesting spots on the island. Heraklion and Knossos is only one hour away. To the south coast, you will nead around 2 hours if you are going slowly and enjoy the breathtaking landscape. A car is mandatory in my opinion otherwise you will be really bored.

For the next trip to crete I will look for some place with warm water and proper closing doors. But if you are on a budget trip and you are open for adventures, you might enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you have a toddler or an early school age kid there is no other place to go. This hotel is built with childrens' needs in mind. There is a big playground, a separate swimming pool only for them, even a small zoo in the hotel grounds.
We had un unforgetable stay there with our little daughter. The people of the hotel were very welcoming and gave us a lot of advice on the area.
The open air restaurant had a variety of food in very reasonable prices. As for the rooms, they are spacious with a well equiped kitchenette.
Overall it was a great stay for us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Stone Village for 5 nights and enjoyed it very much. It was still very calm at this time of the year (early April) and there was only one pool open. As the water was still very cold, we only put our feet in the water ;-)
We got a family apartment with 2 bedrooms on the first floor (one with 2 single beds and one with a double bed, which had his own bathroom). In the living room they added an extra bed for us.
There was not one channel on tv and no wifi in the room, but that gave us more time to enjoy our vacation!!
The breakfast was a buffet with lots of things, but I fear that when it gets crowded, they can't follow to add up the things.
They also had a small playground and a small zoo with a camel, austriches, goats, pony's, rabbits and horses. Our kids loved it.
We paid 80€ per night for 2 adults and 3 kids for stay, breakfast and dinner!! So a very good price-quality relation. It is no 5 star hotel (if that is what you're looking for) but a very good priced 3+ star family hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have just returned from wonderfull holidays in Crete, Bali.
Want to say how lovely place the Stone Village apartments are. At first we were welcomed by very friendly and kindhearted owners. The accommodation and the view of mountains was breathtaking, very quiet place for those looking for relax and escape from overcrowded resorts. Rooms - very clean, well equipped and all of the staff was helpfull to all our needs.
We really liked the family atmosphere and the little zoo - especially camel called Alexander.
A nice walk from the apartments to the beach wasn´t too far, so we even didnť need to rent a car. The beach nearby is very clean, pebles/sand with Tavernas around. I will definatelly come again, it was the best holidays in Crete.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Last summer we decided to visit Crete (spanish group of ten people). We couldn´t choose a better place to stay. We spend our week in Stone Village Hotel in Bali. The situation is perfect, in order to visit the most interesting tourist points of the island by a rent car. In this resort you can find a lot of facilities, such us two swimming pools, a zoo, a good restaurant (Manolis can show you shirtaki dance), minimarket, etc. The rooms are beautiful, made of stone and wood, very complete, clean and comfortable, with typical sigthseen of the cretan landscape. Our stay has been simply perfect. Dimitri is a charming manager who will make his best four you to enjoy your stay. Thank you very much for everything! A wonderful place to discover and to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Village

Address: Bali, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Village 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stone Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Village Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.