We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apollon Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apollon Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Apollon Hotel Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nees Fokees Street | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is our second visit to the Apollon and we still cannot complain. If you want 5 star accommodation pay 5 star prices..If you want good clean accommodation at a price you can afford with friendly staff then come to the Apollon. Within walking distance of the beaches and many nice restaurants but if you want a truly Greek taverna try Pagonas Meze Place opposite the end of the road, and the bakery. The food is amazing and Pagona and her mum will make you feel welcome. We came across it shortly after they first opened and have come back 4 times to see them. If you don't try it or the Apollon you won't know what you're missing. Pat & Chris

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

2 adults and 2 small childeren stayed for a week.

Clean, great value for money, really lovely friendly staff couldn't do enough for us.

Bit of a walk to the main strip but no problem.

Breakfast was great just what we wanted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was there as a large family and friends group last September 15 in total, found the place to be clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful, really can't complain too much due to the price we paid for our weeks stay, it is a wee bit of a trek back to it at night, uphill my wife found it to be too much sometimes, so I wouldn't recommend it to people with mobility problems, a taxi up from the town cost 5 euros,share between four not bad at all,the town is full of the friendliest people you could ever care to meet. I would visit again.

Room Tip: get a pool view if you can,or one facing the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Love this place been many times and hope to stay many times to come there was 9 of us 7 adults my mum my husband my two daughters and there partners and 2 children my granddaughters age 4 and the little one was 3 months. We had 3 rooms between us.

Staff there are very friendly and would do anything for you and over the years have become friends as like many more people who return time and time again.

The location is perfect about 20 mins walk to the main strip and beach we got a taxi some nights as my mum has trouble walking reception will order for you it's 5 euros.

The rooms are basic but clean and the cleaners come every other day.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants on the main strip and two at the bottom of the road that the hotel is on only went to one it is fantastic.

Lovely holiday lovely welcoming people never lets me down.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In terms of the location, the apartment/hotel is good. 8 euros into centre of Rythmenon and a small village and beach near by to go for meals get your amenities etc. However...my friend and i walked into the apartment after a long flight and a four hour delay ..hungry and tired to find a welcome back of rusks, cream cheese, juice and water. We were pleased untill after we tucked in discovered we have to pay for the welcome pack. The room was only cleaned twice during out 7 day stay and by cleaned i mean...the cleaner made my bed and there was still sand on it...the cigarettes were emptied from the ashtray in the outdoor patio but there was still ash in the ashtray. Our towels were only changed ONCE the ENTIRE WEEK.
Breakfast is where i really want to make a point. So we were staying bed and breakfast . The first day i came downstairs ..expecting continental as that's what the hotel was offering. However being in Crete i was hoping for some yoghurt and honey ...maybe fruit or some salad. NO. Two cold pieces of toast, a small cold croissant with chocolate in that you would but in a packet from a pound shop, two slices of cheese(were were rationed) and two slices of cold meat.(which i didnt eat as i'm a vegetarian but ill come to that in a minute) Apiece of cake that crumbled when you tried to pick it up and tasted of nothing.Cold tea and no milk only a sachet of cream. Anyway no nutritional value there. Not even a tomato or cucumber in sight.
I asked the waitress who seemed a bit short tempered from the beginning to put the cheese on a seperate plate to the meat. She shouted "i DO IT TOMORROW.." and then started rambling on about a baby she has to see and how busy she is. I was shocked she then proceeded to remove the meat from the plate and said "there," So by this stage i was rather disillusioned and went to complain to the lady on the reception who seemed to have authority, i informed her i was very upset and i made a simple request for two slices of cheese to be put on another plate. She said sorry,,but that lady has a lot of stress today tomorrow will be different. I enlightened her in the fact that my friend and I work in London and our lives are also stressful, we have come away for one week to relax and this is the treatment we get. She said don't worry i will do it for you and went into the kitchen and put two slices of cheese on a plate by this stage i had lost my appetite.
The next morning she did put the cheese on a separate plate but i was watching her in the kitchen and i saw she handled the meat first and then put the cheese on the separate plate afterwards. I gave up at that stage and that evening purchased my own granola yoghurt and honey to enjoy at breakfast time.
The pool area was quite nice and as i said cant fault the location but if you want friendly welcoming staff and a hearty breakfast ..oh and clean towels don't go to stay at apollon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked this a week before going, got back today 25th, so glad I found this place, will be going back next year, basic rooms but clean and functional everything that you need, price so reasonable for what we paid, saw review on here that it was dirty, we were self catering and there for 7 nights and cleaner came 3 times, pool was spotless cleaned everyday, friendly staff very helpful, (only a 10 to 25 minute walk dependant how fast you walk) to beach and main road for restaurants and shops, but best restaurant is only a 2 minute walk away Pagona's Place has to be experienced lovely host best food we had, will certainly be going back, not the place to go if you want loud nightlife, but if you want fairly quiet time going to bed before 12 or sit up chatting and drinking til 3 in the morning then this is the place

Room Tip: our room was 214 1st floor separate bedroom, kitchenette, shower, balcony, very quiet in the night s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Room very basic , no kettle no toaster only a two hob camping stove, bathroom dirty , shower blocked after each use over flowed on to floor , shower curtain very dirty.two very uncomfortable single beds ,balcony ok but got bit to death with mosquitoes every night, air con expensive , late check out was 14 euros, sun beds round pool was impossible , every morning woke up to every bed taken up with towel on , some put them on at night.walked in to resort , had some nice meals but were over faced each time, massive portions, beach was ok sea very rough, overall nice holiday but room could be better e. g at least a kettle.,every meal was a gyros in some shape or form.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel Apartments

Address: Nees Fokees Street | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollon Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Platanes of Rethymno, one of the most beautiful areas of Crete, a quiet and hospitable place was created for you and your family. Traditional villages surround Apollon Apartments and they are within 10 min walking distance from the sandy beach of Platanes. Our apartments offer you a friendly, pleasant and hospitable environment with excellent and modern facilities including a fully equipped kitchenette with fridge, phone, radio, safety box and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Rethymnon
Apollon Hotel Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollon Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.