We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay in Rethymnon!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avli Lounge Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avli Lounge Apartments to your Saves list
Avli Lounge Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An awesome stay in Rethymnon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked a trip thru a travel agent who placed us in a hotel in downtown Heraklion. When we decided to move on to Rethymnon on our own, we found Avli and were so happy we did. The accommodations were beautiful, the location excellent, and an outstanding restaurant right in the heart of the old city. We got to know the staff who went out of their way to make our stay one of the best vacations we have ever had. Our stay was just too short, so we must go back, and as they say in Greece, "I think so, Why not?"

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
201
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent and stunning hotel; Excellent personal service; Excellent food. We would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a very special unique holiday. We were personally looked after by the manager and his staff to ensure our stay was one of the best holidays that we have ever been on. The hotel itself is in the old part of the town and very romantic and the food was simply divine, especially the local yogurt and honey for breakfast. We also enjoyed watching the sunset over the old town from the roof top jacuzzi. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The Green apartment was stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful room,incredible food,great people, perfect location. Would go back in a minute. Restaurant has gourmet flair with traditional influences. Staff goes. Out of their way to fill every need.

Say hi to George for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was by far the best place we stayed at during our Greece vacation. We were sad when our stay came to an end. Thanassis and the rest of the staff attended to our every need, even those we didn't know we had. The room was wonderful and the food was some of the best we have ever had. Amazing place to stay, and we hope to return someday soon. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a truly fantastic place and by far the best 2 nights of our two week trip were spent here. Thanassis, the host, could not be more welcoming and helpful. The Avli experience starts the moment you arrive and are seated in the gorgeous courtyard with a glass of wine - or two - and some finger food. We stayed in the green room, which we loved. The hotel exudes style and good taste. Everything about it is wonderful. The à la carte breakfast was delicious as was the dinner and wine in the evening. The staff are all friendly and pleasant. The rooftop jacuzzi is spectacular. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel - a true gem. We would highly recommend this to everyone thinking of spending time in Crete - make a detour if necessary, you won't regret it! We will definitely return if we visit Crete again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, all unique and all very stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I discovered the Avli on our honeymoon... in fact, they rescued us from a large all-inclusive hotel that our travel agent booked for us. One look at the so-called resort we made a bee-line for the Avli and never looked back!

The accommodations were lovely and decorated impeccably. The inn itself is located in the heart of the old section of Rethymnon making it easy to get around town. And while the location and rooms are wonderful, the staff is what makes the whole place such a joy. Everyone at the Avli was so helpful and friendly that it made us feel right at home.

I cannot recommend this boutique hotel enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the White Suite and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is magical. We are actually in the Lastrada which is part of Avli but my guess is smaller rooms. Everything about this place is superb! Thanassis, just as everyone has written here, is part of the hotel and restaurants charm. He is the perfect host. Our room is perfect for the two of us. The location is right in the middle of the town. So far this was my best sleep in Greece. I will definitely be back.

It is the perfect spot for a wedding - in case you are looking for a unique destination wedding spot!

I will be back with my boyfriend since this has to be one of the most romantic places on earth.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cristina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avli Lounge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avli Lounge Apartments

Address: Xanthoudidou 22 & Radamanthios, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#16 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avli Lounge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique - only seven suites - hotel in the middle of the old town of Rethymno. Each suite ranges from 375 sq.feet to 645 sq.feet and each is decorated differently using a color scheme. Two junior suites and one penthouse suite feature an open plan Jacuzzi tub inside the room and two junior and the two executive suites feature same Jacuzzi tub in a separate area. All suites are equipped with a refrigerator/mini bar, satellite TV, stereo, safe deposit box, internet access. The penthouse suite features two balconies, one executive suite features a Romeo&Juliet balcony and the second executive suite features one balcony. The building itself is a 15th-century Venetian mansion that was renovated in 2006. The suites are served by an award winning restaurant - considered one of the best in Greece - featuring a wine cellar with over 400 labels of wine and a courtyard where guests can enjoy their breakfast (included n the price of the suite). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Avli Lounge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avli Lounge Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Avli Lounge Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avli Lounge Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.