We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brascos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brascos Hotel to your Saves list
Brascos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Daskalaki Street, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Bad choice for our stay as it turned out for the hotel to be on a very busy street with constant noise, day or night. We were looking for a central place for a two night stay for a conference, and yes it was central and very convenient but that was all that we got. No convenient parking or drop down for our luggage, no porter service on arrival, room very basic, bathroom in need for an urgent upgrade, nothing to recommend about this hotel. Even for the internet WIFI one had to come down to the reception or bar to use one’s laptop. Better to be avoided if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid front street rooms as they are VERY noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    22
    18
    7
See reviews for
14
46
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in hotel Brascos from 2nd Sept - 15th Sept 2011 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is, as stated in other reviews, basic in some aspects but considering we paid a hugely bargain price for the 12 nights, this is not an issue at all. The rooms were spotlessly clean and cleaned to this standard daily with beds made and new towels. Breakfast is served from 7.30-10am leaving time for a lay in and there is a good selection of foods to choose from (ignore people saying this is not good enough; if you want a fry up stay in England). The staff are very friendly and helpful, and Maria who works the roof bar is a delight - the roof bar is open until 1am each morning and has a lovely breeze and view over Rethymnon - we finished each night with a drink up there to cool down. A/C works well and room was cool, and each room has a secure unit with a fridge so can keep your things secure in a shelf about the fridge and your bottled water cold etc. Yes the shower is small and not exactly luxury but this I find is a feature of Greece overall, not just Brascos! 2 minutes walk to the old town, 10 mins walk to the beach and beach front restaurants and bars, and only about 5 mins walk to harbour and Fortress - you wont get more central for a better price. Highly recommend if you're not a two bob millionaire who expects 5* service for 3* prices! If we go to Rethytmnon again we would have no hesitation in staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are slightly noisier due to the roof bar being above but this did not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Rather poor and definitely not worth the 50 euro per night. Breakfast is basic, room (106) small and the bathroom really poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed there on the way from Heraklion, on our last night in Crete before the flight from Chania. The hotel was nice and close to all the attractions. Decent breakfast, good attitude, A/C and fridge. The bad luck we had in this town, was that we were cheated here, but not at the hotel. Taxi driver in the morning charged us extra for phone ordering and for baggage. We paid 6 Euros for a 2 minute trip to bus station. We did not feel like walking with heavy bags. Then, we got cheated at the waterfront restaurant called PASSES TAVERNA. Avoid that one! Things like this never happened to us in Crete before. But the hotel we would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herfølge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We were 5 people who had a wonderful holiday at Hotel Brasco. Compared to the price we think we got full value for money. The rooms were nice and clean. Cleanliness was top notch, for example with clean towels every day. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast is ok. again for the price.
One must be aware that there is some noise from the main street as the hotel is located. Parking situation around the hotel is ok. Remember to buy parking tickets.

Room Tip: In the rooms facing the street is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed in Brascos hotel,summer of 2010 and i strongly recommend you dont make the same mistake.The food was terrible and the breafast was worse,as for the rooms the beds are full of bedbugs,i am still taking my daughter to the doctors for scarring.I would advise anybody who still wants to go to Brascos hotel to take with them a mosquito spray along with a first aid kit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrinio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Starting with the rooms, they were ok in size, but there was a really bad smell, probably due to not being well-aired for long time. The beds were in a really bad condition. The mattresses needed an urgent change. Although we had ordered a room with a double bed, we were given a room with 2 single beds. You have to be aware that not all rooms look towards the street and the city of Rethymno. Some rooms only have a window (no balcony) and they have a view into inner courtyard (not nice at all!). The bathroom was terrible. There was no mechanism for fresh air coming into the bathroom, but only 2-3 small holes. The bath was really small. There was wifi at the hotel, but the signal was only enough for the ground floor and not for the rooms. Perhaps the only positive thing was the location, which is very close to the centre of the town (still the noise during the morning was too much!!). In general, i believe that the hotel should be a 2 star (maybe even 1-star) hotel and not 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brascos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brascos Hotel

Address: 1 Daskalaki Street, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brascos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brascos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brascos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brascos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.