We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Rimondi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Rimondi to your Saves list
Palazzo Rimondi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Xanthoudidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rustic and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recomended this hotel by a friend, when we arrived in Rethymon we were met off our coach by one of the hotel staff who led us a short distance down a labrinth of little streets past some of the most beautiful charming buildings we had seen, we were in the heart of the old city and then we came to our hotel , we were delighted it was charming and romantic with a loverly courtyard we were taken to our room which was clean and typical for Crete we had a living room small kitchen and bathroom and then up some stairs to our bedroom which had a balcony overlooking the roof tops of the old town and to the hills beyond ,the staff were more than helpful, the breakfast was great with a lot to choose from, a lovely hotel in a lovely place .we now recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    35
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
106
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel right in the middle of Old Rethymnon. My husband and I loved the hotel and town. It was our favourite stop on our honeymoon that also took us through London, Athens, Santorini, and Brighton.

The staff – Monica in particular – were incredible, very welcoming, friendly and always helpful. We arrived late, around 11pm, and were greeted and given a run down of the basics. Throughout our stay the staff’s recommendations and advice were always spot on.

Our room was spacious and our private patio was an excellent bonus. The only complaint we had with the room was the beds, they were hard and quite uncomfortable, surprisingly so for such a great hotel. However, everything else was wonderful that to us the beds seemed minor.

Breakfast was great and consisted of a variety of pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, toast, eggs and bacon. And finally the location was right in the thick of the action of Old Town, surrounded by shops and restaurants and just a stroll away from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

this year we decide to spend 10 days in crete,in Rethymno city, we had a wonderful time, we walking a lot, exploring at the south part, Prevelis and plakias are wonderful choices, our hotel also Palazzo was so nice, but the big difference was made by the stuff, they were so kind and helpful with us. we will never forget our nights at the hotel romantic yard drinking raki with Maria, listening to her funny stories..we hope to visit again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

we choose Rethymno for our honeymoon, and we were not disapointed. We pend 11days at Palazzo rimondi hotel.it was unforegtable. Our room 206 has an brilinat balcony with fantastic view.Our breakfast was also really tasty, big varitey..even if sometimes we were are leally fool. But the most loveble was the stuff. everyone was so kind ..Maria with her big smile every days make us laughing and forget our problems..She has briliant ideas in order to explore Rethymno area.Helen and Angela was also very nice.we will definately return!!!!!

Room Tip: choose room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Palazzo Rimondi in late May 2012 as a result of a Groupon offer. The parking was actually easy and reasonably priced at the harbor once you figure out what is going on and the two Rimondi properties are a few "blocks" once you find the pedestrian area within which they are well located on one of the quiet pedestrian lanes. Their directions for walking from the parking were slightly off which is the only negative thing I can say. We stayed in their older hotel although we went into the new one which looks newer but not really any better. The rooms, lobby, outdoor pool areas and breakfast are at a luxury standard although with our deal the cost was modest. Our room actually would have accommodated two more people and in effect was a two bedroom suite with kitchenette on two levels and compared to what I am used to in Europe or major U.S. and Asian cities, the cost was a rounding error. The wifi was only in lobby and weak but I was able to do some work. They recommended family run restaurants within a two minute walk that were excellent at modest cost. We went back twice to one that made a Greek salad with their own property's oil and vinegar. Cretan restaurants tend to give you dessert or an after dinner drink although they are inexpensive in the first place. While shopping tends toward repetitive local produce and souvenirs in all of touristic Greece it is still relaxing to browse. The Rimondi hotels are not on the harbor which is good as that area is characterized by seafood restaurants that very persistently solicit you as you walk by which can get tiresome although the restaurants themselves are reasonably good (much better than a somewhat comparable destination, Dubrovnik, which is nonetheless worth a visit). The Rimondi staff do an excellent job and in general, including Athens, I would say the people in the Greek tourist industry are attractive, dedicated and working like dogs to provide a characteristically European experience at half the price while their brethren in the government bankrupt them. They deserve support as their product is highly competitive. We did not encounter any disorder, even in Athens, in the pedestrian or parliament areas.

Room Tip: Rooms vary, old but clean in old hotel. Ask what yours will be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ian very happy that I had the pleasure to visit this particular hotel. The Rimondi pallatzio is a great hotel a beautiful hotel, a sweet hotel, I have engoied the hospitality, the clean rooms and the great location. The hotel is in the center of the city close to day and night life.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I have enjoyed so far the excellent hospitality of the owners and the staff more specifically I have the opportunity to taste the excellent Cretan suits in palazzo rimondi hotel, the comfortable rooms but the highlight of the hotel is the magnificent yard which is made with sea stones in an amazing architect style. It is worth mentioning the fact that the hotel is in the hurt if the city but it is extremely quiet..I will gravely recommend travelers to visit and stay in this particular hotel....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Rimondi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Rimondi

Address: 21 Xanthoudidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Rimondi 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel, Tingo and HotelsClick so you can book your Palazzo Rimondi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Rimondi Rethymnon, Crete
Palazzo Rimondi Hotel Rethymnon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Rimondi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.