We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive all around....excellent hotel....best kids' facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Missiria, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Geneva
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very impressive all around....excellent hotel....best kids' facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent one week starting 12 October with our four young children and had a thoroughly fantastic vacation. We spent our entire week in the hotel as the car rental we had reserved through Sixt didn't work out so we took taxis from the airport (cost is about 90 euros per taxi per trip and takes one hour). Regarding the hotel we were very impressed by the infrastructure for children...the kids' club was excellent (Giorgia is particularly wonderful with children, speaks flawless German as well as Russian and English and I was impressed by her dedication to the job) and the children were thrilled with the rock climbing classes with Natasha. The evening programs for children were also great (they loved the circus show). The beach is beautiful, very well equipped and clean and we enjoyed swimming in the sea (the water was warm enough); on two days the sea was very rough though and the red flag was out. We rented one of the pavilions on the beach which was great (beach sun chairs and umbrellas are however free of charge) and we recommend for those who don't mind spending a bit more for extra comfort of having a sort of 'room for the day on the beach'. The staff everywhere was very polite and friendly. The breakfast and dinner buffets were absolutely sumptuous, the choice and quality of the food was of very high standard. The kids' corner (where children can eat for free between 11am and 5pm) was fabulous....no waiting time, excellent choice of nutritionally balanced fresh food....couldn't have been better. There is a very well stocked children's store on site (offering a wide range of baby food, pampers, toys, baby apparel etc.). The lady at the hairdresser on site was also very nice and gave a good cut for the kids at reasonable rates. The suite we stayed in was very nice too.....extremely spacious, well furnished, a nice partial sea view and very comfortable. All in all, this hotel probably rates as the most kids friendly resort we have ever been to (and we travel on average about 4-5 times a year with the children). It is a unique hotel as it offers excellent infrastructure for families as well as catering for all clients (honeymooners, pensioners, families...) within a very elegant setting. We had a few suggestions: better wifi reception in the rooms, earlier opening hours in the afternoon at the kids' club (many parents appreciate a rest after lunch and hence an opening time of about 2pm instead of 4pm would allow for that) and warmer water in the kids' waterside pool (this would definitely make this pool much more popular). Having said that, we tried to extend our stay but our flights were impossible to change otherwise we would have liked to stay some extra days. Next time it will be for longer! Hats off on a good job of running this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Swisschilind,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinso, I am the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

What a wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor !!
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for specially mentioning the friendliness of the staff, the beach and its facilities, as well as the room accommodation.

It is a great pleasure that your children enjoyed the Grecoland Mini Club where a lot of games, cooking lessons, etc. are offered from professional staff. The climbing wall you mention is a new activity from this year on for hotel guests of all ages.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the good food quality and also mention the Tasty Corner. As the kids’ menus are very important for us all menus have been created by the Grecotel Chefs this year and have been checked by a qualified dietician.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Creta Palace, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance (gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr) in order to assist you with any room or accommodation wish you may have.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    78
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
140
112
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great choice in a perfect surrounding. Tasteful designed rooms, excellent food quality. Very attentive staff. Very nice SPA area. Beautiful city of Rethymnon near by. A must for all who want to stay in Crete for holidays. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear honestgerman,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I am the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor, from which we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and especially mention the food quality, the Elixir Beauty Spa and the friendliness of the staff.

It is our greatest satisfaction when our clientele departs from our hotel with the best impressions and memories and even recommend it to others !

Once again I would like to thank you and do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. In this case please do not hesitate to contact me in advance gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr, in order to assist you with anything you may wish.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A very good location - roughly 4 km from the downtown (or the town boarder?), but in a calm peaceful place. A very good sandy beach, sophisticated restaurants and services as a whole... A very, very friendly stuff btw! Still, we were happy to live in a bungalow in a distant corner of the hotel area, far from any noises and crowd. Yes, the sea was not very calm at those days, but people who wanted to swim, did so without too many efforts. Yes, it rained heavily, but only once and at night it was.

We had an adventure there! The hotel has a strict policy of keeping stray animals away from visitors, but we had to rescue a small street kitten that had penetrated the territory somehow. It was no more than three months old and hungry, for sure. We fed it a few days and finally succeeded to find a volunteer organization in Rethymnon called The Cretan Cat-A-List that took the kitten under their wing and hopefully would soon re-home it to Germany, Austria or Switzerland - the way they use to act.

One more thing here. When walking or jogging on the beach be sure not to disturb a sea turtle nest: they happen to reside there from July till October. They use to be landmarked, fenced and supervised by volunteers that make presentations and gather donations at the hotel each Monday. We would like very much to know if baby turtles have left successfully the nest that we observed each day in some 50 meters away from the hotel beach area... They must've exit their eggs on some date around September 20, but yet didn't when we had to go away.

To travel over the marvelous, fantastic, fabulous island of Crete from your hotel as the starting point, you ought to hire a car. If you want to see more of it, think of hiring a SUV or a jeep, cause there are many steep dirt roads there that still are very pictoresque. Nonetheless, we hired an Opel Astra 1.4 AT and traveled quite a lot facing only few roads we didn't dare to enter - maybe only because we are drivers from the plain :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Nicholas 1964,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I’m the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor, from which I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and especially
mention the services and the friendliness of the staff.

Concerning your query about the nest we would like to inform you that from all the nests we had at the beach all little sea turtles successfully reached the sea.
As you noticed, we cooperate actually since 1994 with the society “Archelon”, the responsible society for the protection of the endangered sea turtles “Caretta-caretta”
in Greece.

To support the program of the society Archelon, we are not having any lights in the evening on the beach, we are collecting all sun beds at the evening so that turtles have free way to lay their eggs and we are not using the beach for beach parties, fireworks or other events which might disturb these wonderful creatures.

As these turtles were here long before us, we respect their home and we try to inform our customers to understand and to help us to keep the protection of a wonderful beach.
I am always very happy to have customers like you who are concerned and interested in environment.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Creta Palace, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance (gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr) in order to assist you with any room – accommodation wish you may have.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostfildern
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was last on Crete 17 years ago, and the once sleepy Rethymnon has changed in the meantime into something more redolent of the Costa del Sol. This probably made us appreciate arriving at the Creta Palace all the more. We were greeted with the unobtrusive professionalism we have come to associate with Grecotels and silently upgraded to a suite to our great pleasure. The location can't really match other Grecotel sites like Cape Sounio or the Olympia Riviera, but the layout is superb, with the individual bungalows and suite blocks set amongst palm trees and fragrant gardens, with the buildings incorporating local styles and traditions. I particularly liked the faux Greek village complete with church and Kafenion,(with its authentically grumpy but amiable landlord) which is a tricky thing to pull off, as can be seen in shopping malls all over the world, but here it really works. Our four year old adored the Grecoland facilities and our stay ended up revolving around the activities there, which was a real godsend as we arrived in unseasonably cool weather; too cold to use the pools and too windy to use the beach. The breakfast buffet was immense, and also good, which you really don't find everywhere. My only complaints are perhaps more due to the chain than the individual hotel; at these prices money should be available to be spent on upkeep (especially in the common areas where there were frayed carpets in plain sight) and the pricing in bars and restaurants is just silly. I don't mind paying a markup for the location, but € 5,80 for a small bottle of beer is at a Scandinavian level and three times what you pay five minutes down the road. Equally, for a hotel that obviously caters for a lot of package tourists, the à la carte menu does not have to be priced up to 200% higher than in downtown restaurants. Neverthless if you are visiting Rethymnon, and are mobile, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear AssyntJonte,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I am the GeneralManager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.
I appreciate that you and your family enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and your child liked the Grecoland facilities with its activities and professional staff.

Thank you also for mentioning the good breakfast buffet at the main restaurant
and the Greek village with its traditional Cretan Kafenion.
At the Kafenion guests can enjoy Greek coffee made the traditional way and also see a unique collection of antiques, as well as photos from many prominent personages and personalities who have visited our hotel.

It is true what you are saying that the pricing in our hotel is different than in the road bars and downtown restaurants, but as you can understand it cannot be expected
to pay the same price in a 5* resort hotel located in front of the sea as in a local pub or restaurant.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Creta Palace, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance (gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr), in order to assist you with any room wish you may have.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for the third time in the Grecotel Creta Palace in September. Every time we enjoy it even more. Wonderful hotel, great food and excellent staff that do everything to make your stay unforgettable. For sure the best hotel we ever stayed in Greece. We sure go back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear C V,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I’m the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor, from which I was very happy to read that once again you enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and especially mention the food quality and staff services.
The satisfaction of our guests is our best reward !

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance (gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr), in order to assist you with any wish you may have.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich71
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This venue is extensively reviewed, still will add a personal perspective after a 3-weeks stay in September 2013. All in all, the hotel seems to be very professionally managed. This is reflected in all its facilities: reception, dining halls, rooms, the beach, kiosks, a la carte restaurants, etc. The staff are well-trained and very friendly. There is plenty of personnel in all departments and they cater to the clientele's satisfaction with efficacy and smile. Breakfasts are rich and you find a wide-array of good-looking food to keep you alive for the rest of the day. Especially if you're on the half board option. Dinner didn't always satisfy our palate but we could still fish among the wide offer for the right choices. We were disappointed by the quality of the typical greek pastry such as baklawa and so. They were full of dough with little filling and taste. Pity for such a typical local dessert. The same is true for the ice cream which is very commercial, lacking in sorbets. One of the main problems of the northern coast in general and of the hotel's very nice, long and clean beach is the weather. In September we enjoyed a few very calm days but in general the sea was quite rough and there were even days when we couldn't swim at all. We enjoyed a renovated room and an excellent fish dinner in the asian restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking at the swimming pool were evening shows are held. Western rooms seem to enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear zurich71,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I am the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for writing your comments on Tripadvisor, from which I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially mention the breakfast quality, the Asian Restaurant and the professional staff, who always try to satisfy all our clientele wishes – requests.

We want you to know that all guest comments and suggestions are taken under careful consideration, as it is always very important for us to constant improve our product.

Hoping to have the chance of welcoming you again at our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance (gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr) to assist you with any wishes you may have.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm a retired GM for hotels and I must say that this was one of the best hotels that I've stayed in.
The Food, Service, rooms and location are just excellent. We really enjoyed our holiday and will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th. floor which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos S, General Manager at Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear tufiBasel,

my name is Giorgos Skoulaxinos, I am the General Manager of Grecotel Creta Palace.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor!
I appreciate your kind comments and that you enjoyed your vacations with us.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year at the Creta Palace,
please do not hesitate to contact me in advance at my email address gskoulaxinos@grecotel.gr in order to assist you with your room – accommodation wish and for anything else you may require.

With best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel

Address: Missiria, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Creta Palace Rethymnon
Hotel Grecotel Creta Palace
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.