We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thalassa taverna

Thalassa taverna
Sofokli Venizelou67, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
2831024791
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 239 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited this restaurant because it was near. But came back there lots of times. The owner is really nice, taught us lots of Greek. The food is cheap and tasty! Octopus made my day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Everything is great about this place... The food, the people , and the place in general. Kostas and spiros is two awesome guys who will make u laugh for sure! Dont go 2 rethymnon without visiting this place ! Yamas!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very good taverna at the beach side.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were for lunch time and we went to the restaurant for a snack but when we saw the menu we change mind so we order full meal and it was perfect. In the end we had few shots of raki.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE best restaurant in Greece!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

It's got atmosphere, warmth, excellent cuisine, view, everything you could wish for! And the best waiter ever: Kostas!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A bargain lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were hungry one lunch time and just wanted a snack and a drink. We each had a gyros pita. The meat was of a surprisingly good quality for a gyros with very little fat on them. They were served open, so you could see what you were eating, with the pita as a base rather than rolled up to eat from your hand. We had a large beer each and the bill came to about 13 or 14 euros. Excellent value as some places try charging 8 euros for gyros when they shouldn't be much more than 3.

The waiter was friendly and didn't try to make us order more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassa taverna also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thalassa taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thalassa taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.