We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Snail

Fat Snail
Sofokli Venizelou & Kapetan Lemonia, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
2831058589
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 238 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Paris
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

It's the restaurant of Swell Hotel where I stayed for 3 nights last weekend. Service is nice. I had an excellent and tasty club sandwich. The day before I had dakos. Love this place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not really good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We came there because it was close, good reviews and also mentioned on s me beer websites as a beer place. The host was not hostile, but neither he was friendly. Had snails - there were lots of them but they were a bit wierd. From the beer it was only amstel. Won't return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant, with really nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We tried this restaurant for a family dinner whilst on holiday and it was a very good meal. The fish was all fresh and very tasty but they also do meat which we also found was good. The restaurant overlooks the sea and is a really nice place to watch the sunset, with a lovely calm atmosphere. The service was good with very friendly waiters.
One thing to be aware of, is that if you are British and ask them for chips, they bring crisps. They were hand cut chunky crisps which were very nice but not quite what we expected. Guessing we should have said French fries instead! Overall, would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I wanted to have a fresh fish for lunch. We just couldn't chose a better place on the beach! We asked the waiter and were recomended the seabream. One of my favourite fish actually! We got complimentary bread basket with olive paste and olive oil as a starter. We also ordered fish soup and a bottle of a great dry white wine. The service and food was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“You should try this restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First, I was a little disgusted by the name, but don`t let it fool you. They have all sorts of food. I can really recommend the Sovlaki. And my friend can recommend the swordfish. It was the best sovlaki I ate in Crete this holiday. And the staff were friendly and very attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Snail also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Fat Snail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Snail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.