We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy busy busy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rethymnon Old Town

Rethymnon Old Town
Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 30 attractions in Rethymnon
Type: Neighborhoods
Attraction Details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Busy busy busy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 NEW

A bit of something for everyone, tavernas, restaurants, bars, and lots and lots of shops, street sellers lots of hustle and bustle but quieter bars and restaurants should you need them.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    341
    34
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“My favourite town in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW via mobile

Actually , it's possibly my favourite place ever.My long term goal is to spend a few months here .I love the place and love the people.It's a University town so there is a permanent vibe going .It includes my favourite hotel , my favorite restaurant, my favourite coffee shop , my favourite burger joint and my favourite pizza place .Also has the best cigar shop I have found in Crete so far.We recently discovered a local raki which includes honey and cinnamon , the latter giving a wonderful flavour .My favourite time is around 7 in the morning .I am not especially pushed on the new town around the beach ( locals go to a swimming place on the rocks behind the fortress ) and usually only go there to get the hop on / hop off bus .It's a great place just to wander around , no worries , no crime , no litter , no dog dirt .I can't understand how people only come for a quarter or half day ....you really need a full day and night to get a feel for it .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely and lots of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

everyone very friendly, very hustley bustley geat sites and great views from the old fort and port great dining and shops from morning to night

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo Finland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“FINE ATMOSPHERE IN THE OLD TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

I visited the Old Town at date 26.06.2014. The Old Town in Rethymno is a very intresting place. There are small shops and nice restaurants all over this area. Some restaurants are out on the streets and there you can sit and look around very vell. The streets are very narrow and romantic.
There is walking people from many different countries. You can hear a lot of different languages there. The Old Town is located close to the sea and many streets go down to the sea. A part of the Old Town is also the fine historical Venetian Harbour. If you travel to Rethymno go to the Old Town I am sure that you will like this place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Have to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

I cannot say enough about Rethymnon. We have been to many old towns in many different cities but this place certainly seems to be one of the best ever. So many beautiful small sidestreets and quaint shops and place to eat or sip a drink. The old town does cover many blocks give yourselves many days to enjoy this beautiful town. I do regret not having enough days

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rethymnon Old Town also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Rethymnon Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rethymnon Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rethymnon Old Town to your Saves list