We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fine service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Poseidon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sof. Venizelou 61, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 140 hotels in Rethymnon
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location and fine service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Definitely a good place to stay. Close to everything; beach is directly across the street. Staff and owner could not be nicer. Friendly atmosphere; good breakfast; quiet room; nice view of the beach. Very clean. Good value
Criticism - had to walk up one flight to the room; no internet service, but offered use of owner's son's laptop when he was there. Only he was hardly ever there. TV was limited.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Italy, France, Greek Islands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I highly recommend this hotel - Right across the road from the beach - easy access to everything - The rooms are big and bright with full ocean views - They are immaculate, the service is excellent - staff could not be more helpful and the food downstairs is scrummy and very resonable - The room rate was very low and included a full breakfast - Excellent place to stay!!! - Gina Australia Sep 2009

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed here only one night (because of ferry reshuffling), after staying in Chania for 2 nights and really wished we'd stayed at Hotel Poseidon the whole time and taken a bus into Chania. Villa Venezia in Chania was 23 euros more per night than Posiedon and not nearly as nice.
The hotel was a great deal and directly across the street from the beach. You can see the Venetian fortress from your balcony too. The staff was friendly and kept asking if everything was alright with our room. The room was spacious and clean and had a balcony overlooking the beach.
The restaurant/bar downstairs was nice and they didn't harrass us once to eat there or look at the menu (that gets REALLY old), so we did.
My gripe? Like a lot of other places in Greece the shower head is handheld and there isn't an attachment to the wall so you have to hold it the entire time. Oh...and there's no shower curtain which i just don't get.
It's a half hour walk from the bus station but only a 10 minute walk to the ferry which is nice.
Wish we stayed here longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This is a brilliant hotel to stay at because it makes you feel at home. The staff are very friendly and sometimes like to have chats with you. So far on the trip we have been on this has been the best hotel. The rooms are great, good sized, nice comfortable beds,airconditioning, great views of the beach and it is right on the beach. It is just a five minute walk to the old town. If the water has a rip or is dangerous they will warn you in a friendly way.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel has some good things going for it. We had a large room with a lovely view of the beach and sea just across the street. It is easy to walk from the hotel anywhere you might want to go in Rethymnon.

However, we unfortunately did not experience the warm family atmosphere described in some other reviews and which was a large part of why we chose the hotel. When we arrived, the owner was gone, no one was at the desk, and the lady from the restaurant below gave us a key without asking our names! We never did see anyone available for help or at the desk until we were checking out.

While our room was large and had the view, there was also a lot of noise from the street at night, so we planned to close the sliding door and use the air conditioner---which did not work or even go on. And although we had mini-fridges in all our other hotels that were fine, this one made such a ruckus that we unplugged it. We had one cup for the two of us and the bathroom towels were thin and rough and had lots of threads hanging off the sides. Also, there were four bulbs over the sink, but only one worked. Just lots of little things that sort of added up and could be easily improved.

On the bright side, the breakfast was very generous, and once again we had that great view. This could be a wonderful place, but our experience was just okay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Hotel Poseidon is a fantastic hotel with warm, wonderful Greek hospitality. Since our stay in Greece was during the first two weeks in November, we had a little difficulty finding any hotels that were open. The rate on the Hotel Poseidon was so low (35 euro /night including breakfast) that we were a little worried, but there was no need. This is a family owned business and it is as close to a visit in a private home as we have ever experienced in a hotel setting. The view of the Aegean Sea is wonderful (right across the road). The owners visited with us on their bar deck and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are also clean and offer all that you need: a firm bed, dresser & mirror, fridge, bathroom with shower and a private balcony with a cloths line. They even gave all of us a free drink on our first night! This is very good value for your money! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rethymnon. As a further note, Rethymnon is a very relaxed place to visit in Greece as well. The night life is very lively and joyful as well with all the friendly, little shops down town.

Tim & Gwen Nell Francis Sask. Canada

  • Liked — Hospitality and value for our money
  • Disliked — The beds were a little on the hard side, which was great for us, but not so great for the other couple.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin.Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

So glad i booked this hotel..had some worries as traveling with 2 teenage girls and wasnt sure if the area or hotel was the right choice.However there was no need for us to worry cus Yorgas,Pergona,Alex and Co made us feel really welcome. The coctails our fab and the fresh fruit salads and icecreams devine,courtesy of pergona ..u name it she can make it ..hygiene was great, rooms clean and spacious with a balcony. The relaxing atmosphere for eating good food and drinking was great (didnt break the bank) as you looked out onto the sea and the lovely sunsets.The town is a short walk away and again encapuslates everything I imagined an old town steeped in history would. The sea and the beach were literaly across a short road with beautiful waves and warm water..only watch out for the hot,hot,hot,sand..make sure u bring good flip flops..will go back for service and friendliness alone!

  • Liked — service and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Sof. Venizelou 61, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 140 hotels in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel POSEIDON, Rethymnon, is a cozy family run new renovated hotel, which is situated directly on the beach promenade and open throughout the year. It offers a breathtaking panoramic view from the Venetian town castle Fortezza to the beautiful horizon. It provides 9 spacious renovated and modern furnished rooms, each with bathroom/shower, balcony with sea view, central heating, air conditioning, double glazed windows, refrigerator, TV and phone at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Rethymnon
Hotel Poseidon Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.