We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!!Best holiday ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepi Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pepi Studios to your Saves list
Pepi Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Tsouderon Street, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Ossett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing location!!Best holiday ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Pepi studios is in an excellent location right in the heart of Rethmynon old town. It is very quiet of an evening so noise was just not an issue at all. The cafe beneath the studios doesnt open ridiculously early or stay open late so that is not a problem at all. The studios are about a 15min walk from a beautiful beach. (Their is a smaller beach nect to harbour which is only bout 5 min away but there are no sun beds etc). I would highly recommend walking to this beach. Tjhere is a bar on the beach to get drinks, water sports and also a toilet which you dont often find these days.

The rooms themselves are very basic unless you get one of the rooms on the ground floor which look a bit nicer, however seem very dark. Our room suited our requirements which was just a place to sleep really. The self catering facilities are basic. 2 hobs, a few pans etc. You wouldnt be able to cook a huge meal in this place but it was adequated for when we used it. Bathroom very clean and look new. Beds are pretty hard and not the most comfy, but you get used to it and it didnt spoil our holiday,

We are 23/24 and wanted a place where there was an old and new town so that we could have the best of both worlds. But the old town had it all. It was a labryinth of streets with different retaurants, bars and shops and along the sea front their some very trendy bars. The harbour is lovely as well but we tended to go here for drinks and only ate here once for lobster as they put 10 euro on standard food just because of the view.

This is not a cheap place. Gin and lemonade 7.50 euro, Wine ranged from 14- 28 euro. Beer is 3 euro. Average price of meals was 60 euros including drinks. Take everything you need as clothes/towells etc are very expensive. Also in retaurants they will bring you bread but then charge you at the end, We didnt mind this but nights when we didnt want it we just sent it back and it was crossed off the bill. Some absolutely fabulous restaurants. Stay away from the typical tourist ones and go and look down the smaller streets as they often look very small but they open up into beautiful gardens and it is these restaurats where you really taste Cretan cuisine at a more reasonable price. Kleftiko in pastry was one of our favourite dishes, unfortunately I cant remember the name of the place. Also Alana restaurant is very romantic, very attentive staff and the steak was the best i have ever tasted.

This was one of my best holidays ever and Pepi studios really made it with its lovely surroundings (Pool very small but adequate for those days you dont want to go far) and perfect location to other attractions!

TIP: Service is extremely slow in retaurants so dont wait until your starving for food!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    50
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
110
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at Pepi Studios. The room was simple, but spacious and featured a well equiped kitchenette in the room. Staff was very friendly and location was excellent, right in the middle of Old Town!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I don't usually comment but couldn't leave the last very negative review without supporting Pepi. I find it hard to believe that we are talking about the same place. OK we stayed in a Superior room on the ground floor and it certainly was superior. However, we also looked at the standard rooms during our stay and would be happy to stay in one of them. As for cleanliness, the cleaners, Dora and Barbera are the best we've come across; they never disturb you but they do a great job. Iosif the manager/owner couldn't have been more helpful (in fact he rescued us on the last day when my hire car was trapped in a car park.) Eleni on reception was charming, friendly and very helpful. The location is perfect. I would recommend Pepi to anyone, and yes we have immediately booked to go back next year. (Rick & Heather)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We booked a room in Pepi studios after having seen the photos and reviews in Trip Advisor.
However our room was a true shock! No similarity with the photos posted in the internet: old furniture, a bathroom with neither window nor ventilator (!), a very basic kitchenette. When we complained down to the reception clerk, he said that this was our mistake because we booked a standard room and not a superior one the photos of which are in the internet!!!
To get things even worse, the cleanliness was poor (ashtrays were not emptied, dirty glasses were not cleaned) , the curtain in the shower wasn't efficient in preventing water from spilling out and every time we had a shower, the bathroom was flooded. But what was really dreadfull was the air-condition which did not work two out of five nights, with the temperature outside being 40 deg C!!!
When I told the reception staff that the room facilities were null compared to the price, he implied that I should not expect more for what I paid, that is 75€!! His whole behavior was outrageous.
Overall, apart from the location which is great, the hotel was totally unsatisfied!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

While this place doesn't have a view, we still gave it high ratings given their friendly staff & nice accommodations. The rooms are very spacious, beds were very comfortable (extra pillows - yes! ), and the bathrooms weren't plush, but still way above average. Out of the 7 hotels we stayed out while we toured Greece, Pepi was probably our #3. It is walking distance from everything you'd want to see.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pepi Studios for 6 nights after searching many hotels on the internet and we were not disappointed.

Pepi Studios is a charming venetion building set in an ideal location in the quiet part of the old town. Everything is nearby, including shops, restaurants, cafes and the beach.

We stayed in a superior room (no. 18) which was one of the best we have ever stayed in and we are well travelled. The room is newly renovated with a high beamed ceiling, stoned wall and antique style furniture and is decorated to a high standard, the bathroom is small but modern and compact.

The staff on reception are very friendly and were extremely helpful. Iosif, the manager is very hospitable and welcoming, so a big 'thank you' for your kindness and approach to all we asked for.

The best part of Rethymnon is the old town, full of character, alley ways full of lovely shops and the best restaurants are located in this area. Our favourite by far was Alana Restaurant set in an old venetion building in a colourful and relaxing courtyard, not to be missed!

All in all we had a fantastic stay in Rethymnon, and for us Pepi Studios was the best choice of accommodation at a reasonable price, we would definately stay there again. Highly recommended!

Many thanks to all the staff.
Panayiotis and Susan.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

we stayed one night and were very sattisfied. it was quiet and very comfortable. very good price! the room (studio appartment) was large, with kitchen, good for the baby that was with us. everything new. the only problem was the boiler: too small and the hot water was not enough. also the garden was nice. for may, not so crowded, was the best choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepi Studios

Address: 22 Tsouderon Street, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepi Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pepi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepi Studios Rethymnon, Crete
Pepi Studios Hotel Rethymnon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepi Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.