We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Creta Marine

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Creta Marine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Creta Marine
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Panormo-Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 140 hotels in Rethymnon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great place to relax. Excellent value for money.
The food is really very good for a resort; whilst you won't find it match the quality of the tavernas in Rethymno or Chania, it definitely does the trick.
Room was a little tired but very functional and clean. No complaints there at all.
The main pool area was a little too "happening" and some of the games were tacky but then again, you do have to entertain. There is another pool further down closer to the water.
My only problem here was that the gym opened at 10am, and those with a training regime will understand that it is very late in the day - I want to be out and about by that time in the morning.
Overall, a great place to stay! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    311
    89
    15
    9
See reviews for
260
293
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Flew with Cosmos - 9-19 October 2012. V clean hotel- food good and varied- always a greek traditional dish on the menu each night.
Arrived late and had a platter, fruit, and water for us in our room.
Beautiful resort with 3 pools, 1 indoor, and 3 bays exclusive to the hotel.
Bus outside hotel will take you to Iraklion or Hersonnossos for 2 euros
Car hire good value and well worth taking to get into the mountains to see the beautiful countryside- Crete is one of the most beautiful places to visit, mountains, scenery, villages etc. Safe to drive in - very patient locals- even in the towns.
Only downside was the poorly stocked bar- not with spirits, but mixers.
Apart from that- the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms are good- sea view. Large beds and TV. Fridge in room and hairdryer. Just need your iron a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I, stayed here for a week in September. It was a lovely hotel, very clean and staff very pleasant could not do enough for you. The food was extremely good, catered for every ones taste.
During the day we tended to go on the beach which was made up of different alcoves, and was nice and peacefull and there was also a lovely beach bar. We found the main hotel pool very loud as the animation team used it for their entertainment each day.
The only downside to this hotel is that it is very secluded, we had nowhere to go in the evening as you cannot walk to another bar and have a drink, we took a taxi to the nearest town called Panormo (definatly worth a visit) which cost 8 euros each way (we actually thought the Hotel was in panormo). There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which we made use of during the day but would not risk in the evening incase we got stranded.
All in all a lovely Hotel just a shame it wasnt in walking distance to other bars and shops, this is the only reason we would not return here.

Room Tip: Definatly have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Creta Marine for a week during October and had a great time. The hotel is set in stunning grounds next to the sea, and has both mainstream hotel and villa style accommodation. We were in a room in the main building, which was spotlessly clean and kept so by the room maids. The food in this place was absolutely magnificent, especially if you're a fan of Greek cuisine, which both my wife and I are. The day and night time entertainment was first class, but you could escape the relentless energy of the young quite easily.

Thankfully, the hotel does not seem to appeal to lager louts and the like, so civilised conversations in coherent English can be had. We shall be returning next year.

Room Tip: Bungalows in the grounds are more expensive, but are probably worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I came here for our second wedding anniversary.
There are only 2 negative points we found. We were offered no information when we checked in by the receptionist. So we had no idea we could have a meal at the cafe by the pool but that it had to be booked and meal ordered in advanced - it was quite embarrassing after sitting down to eat then being told to leave by the staff there! Also we weren't given towel cards which makes no sense as you couldn't receive beach towels for by the pool without them. Thankfully the staff giving the towels out were understanding and let us borrow a couple until we went up to reception to get said cards.
The beds were a little uncomfortable! The mattresses were fine for the week but we had 2 single beds pushed together which was bad enough but they were actually made up as 2 separate beds!! So on a holiday we took for our second wedding anniversary we actually slept in separate beds! It also wasn't explained to us about buses to local towns etc.
That's the moans out of the way because the rest of the holiday was amazing. The hotel is clean I bet what ever the domestic staff get paid it is not enough. They were very good, and friendly too. The restaurant staff could have been a little warmer but generally were friendly and helpful. The food was good, plenty of options and there was always something everyone will like - even if it's just chips and pizza.
The Animation Team were hilarious. Not too pushy (like some can be) but very entertaining. They were all very good and offered plenty of activities to keep people busy (no sleepy, sleepy!)
We had a lovely time and if we were in the habit of returning to the same destination more than once we'd go back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 809 which was lovely and had a beautiful view of the pool, gardens and sea althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Creta Marine 2nd week of October. It was my birthday whilst there and we were upgraded to a sea view bungalow and surprised with champagne and cake - nice touch. The hotel was good, grounds lovely and well-maintained, food very good. Only criticism is location, it is remote and nowhere to go in evening, so fine if you just want to relax, eat and sleep but we were bored after a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here the first week in October and had a really nice holiday. The room was pretty average but nice and clean, and I found the bed a bit rigid, our rep said that the hotel could provide mattress toppers and I asked for one of these but it never materialised, i also had an issue with the shower which I spoke to the man on reception about, who I think was quite senior, at the same time as asking for the topper, to be honest I found him rather rude and he commented that “all these things for the same room” whilst rolling his eyes!!!

However I am pleased to say that the ruddiness / unhelpfulnes ends there. All the other staff are fabulous, really quick to get you drinks and clear plates in the restaurant, and the evening bar is fab, waiter service to your table is very slick, speedy and professional, they are all so polite and friendly, it really is very well set up. The food is good, I’m not the biggest fan of buffet but it was always hot, well presented and lots of choice. We ate in the A la Carte restaurant once as per our package and that is really good also, lovely setting looking over the cove and the food was yummy, however it was a set meal so no choice, but the setting forgave this.

The grounds of the hotel are lovely, really well kept and lots of different areas to go and sunbathe if you wanted to get away from the main pool where all the activities take place. The animation team were really good, Boris and his brother are hilarious, always so enthusiastic and looking like they are still enjoying what they are doing even though they have probably don’t it 100’s of times already that year. They have the right combination of trying to include you but without being too pushy, they really are a credit to the hotel.

We saw 3 of their evenings shows, the burlesque night and the fame show were really very very good and far above what you would normally expect from an in house animation team, Boris’s brothers Freddie Mercury act on fame night is something that will stay with me for a very long time, I still chuckle now when i think about it. The 3rd show we saw was the Moulin Rouge night but this was pretty average though.

The location might be an issue if you are someone that likes to get out and about a lot, there is a little train that goes into Panormo in the afternoons, but i found the area a little disappointing, there are also buses that go into Rethymon, which my boyfriend took, he said it was fine going but on the way back was really busy, so glad I gave this a miss! I am an experienced rider so I had booked a sunset beach ride with Zoraida’s horse riding, they are about 30 mins by car away from the hotel and will come and pick you up/drop you back, it was very enjoyable and I highly recommend them to anyone who wants to horse ride whilst out there, they cater for beginners also and split the groups according to your ability and the horse I had was very well behaved.

All in all, a very nice holiday, you get what you would expect from 4* all inclusive, i would recommend it if you wanted a nice week away somewhere to relax and are not really that bothered about leaving the complex too often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Creta Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Creta Marine

Address: Panormo-Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Creta Marine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront IBEROSTAR Creta Marine Hotel in Panormo sits in a peaceful part of Crete's north side. This resort enjoys a coveted enclave location in front of the Aegean Sea with remarkable vistas. The IBEROSTAR Creta Marine features family holidays with the best accommodation, dining, and leisure that are guaranteed to convert your stay in Crete into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Creta Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Creta Marine Hotel Rethymnon
Iberostar Hotel Rethymnon
Iberostar Hotel Creta Marine
Iberostar Creta Marine Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Creta Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.