We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expexted a Little More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Hotel to your Saves list
Minos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 158 Hotels in Rethymnon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expexted a Little More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for my father-in-laws 60th birthday and to do the Samaria Gorge walk and thought this would be a great base for our activities . We found the food okay but the rooms really dated and were unhappy with the dirty line around the outside of the pool it didn't seem clean.
Outside the hotel needs tidying up, this is not the responsibility of the hotel but does let it down somewhat, graffiti and other litter gives a bad impression.
We understand that as a 3 star hotel there is room for improvement but as family we will not return.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 adults and 1 child in normal double room with all inclusive in the new part of the hotel. Had a lovely terrace and astonishing view - after having complained since our first room i.e. first night didn' t have functionate air condition. Close to the beach and 20 minutes walk on the strand promenade to the harbour and centre of Rethymnon. Food ok but inside seating when not quick enough for an outdoor table by the pool. Thus, this was our second time at Minos and it has developed to the better since our first time (2010). Might come back...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked our Holiday to Crete through Booking.com. We stayed at this hotel for a week and we cannot fault our stay here. Room was very spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the pool. Every meal was great, staff were very helpful and pleasant and the tables around the pool area made it extra special. They tried very hard with the entertainment but it wasn't the best We enjoyed the belly dancing and Greek dancing night.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

The beach is not far away. The weather wasn't great when we went but when It was hot it was HOT!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent three weeks at the Minos Hotel in October and had a lovely holiday. Our room was upgraded and was superb-it had everything we wanted.It was a large room with a balcony overlooking the pool and a large,comfortable bed.There was air-conditioning,a television and a fridge.The room was cleaned each day and was spotlessly clean.
The restaurant was excellent with a really wide variety of food some of which was cooked to order and on some days we had champagne breakfasts. All the staff were so friendly and helpful both in the restaurant and in the hotel as a whole.
The swimming pools were clean and well cared for with plenty of sun loungers and parasols.
The sea was only a short walk away and the beach was beautifully clean with plenty of sun loungers.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Just returned from 7 days at the Minos at the end of October 2014. The hotel is in an excellent location just 15/20 minutes walk along the lovely sea front to the old town and 3 minutes from the beach. We didn't think the area was run down like a previous reviewer but hey everyone's entitled to an opinion (street view it and see for yourself). The hotel is really clean and spacious with a lovely main pool and smaller pool at the front. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite which was really spacious (basically the size of two normal rooms) with nice touches like a bottle of wine, fruit basket and a fridge packed solid with juices, water and fizzy drinks.
The hotel was very quiet but it was basically the last week of operation so no complaint there.
Breakfast was very acceptable but we found the evening meals lacked quality and seemed to deteriorate the closer we got to the hotel closing.
We would definitely use this hotel again because of it's great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston,Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We spent two weeks at Minos from 23/09/14 until 07/10/14. As a previous reviewer said, don't be put off by the look of the hotel from the outside. Once you enter it is a great hotel. Staff from the minute you enter until you leave could not be more helpful and friendly. The room was adequate with everything you could want provided. We arrived at around 2.00am and when we got to our room there was a plate of sandwiches waiting along with a bowl of fruit, and bottled water.
The bathroom had toiletries for our use. The only negative i would mention was the lack of a shower curtain or shower screen, meaning the floor of the bathroom got soaked.
The room was cleaned every day, and bedding changed every couple of days, along with the towels.
Towels for use at the pool are available for hire at reception. You leave a deposit of €12 per towel, and when you return them you get €10 returned.
The hotel has two pools. A small pool at the front entrance to the hotel, and a larger one at the rear of the hotel. We used the one at the rear. We had no problem getting a lounger or umbrella. The pool was very cold when you first get in, but after a minute or so it was very refreshing. A nice touch was that the hotel would send round one of the waiting staff with Water Melon or grapes.

The restaurant food was excellent with a varied menu. Breakfast had a great selection, and you could get bacon eggs, fruit juice, cheese and cold meats as well as salads.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Minos hotel to anyone going to Crete. If we return to Crete we will most certainly stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 409 and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have just returned from a week here a couple of days ago.
Our first impressions of this hotel were poor after the bus stopped on the roundabout opposite the hotel, the immediate area appeared run down and the bus driver pointed out the hotel over the road and left us to it. We navigated the busy road and looked for the hotel entrance, the Hotel Minos doors on the road level is just a bus stop room, so we then went up a steep drive way and found the main reception.
We paid extra for a Junior Suite, the room was clean and we had a bottle of wine and basket of fruit waiting. The beds were very hard and the previous occupant had obviously not liked the bright led light on the TV overnight as there was a plaster stuck on the front of the TV covering it.
The balcony looked over the pool and we could see the sea in the distance, but our room did not have a private balcony area, like some of the other rooms, we had a gate next to our room and our outside area was open for anyone to walk in.
There was a road the other side of the room, opposite our front door, which had the hotel tennis courts (very run down and did not look like they have been used in years). At night the sound of cars driving by with stereos blasting a max volume and scooters did get a bit annoying.
The cleaners came every day and did a good job, we did have one day when we stayed in the room/terrace all day and we kept trying to tell them we did not need the room cleaning, but after the third visit we just let them clean around us.
We were told by staff that the hotel closes at the end of October for six months and it was being slowly shut down whilst we were there. There were not many guests and we never had any problems getting a sun bed, the most people I saw in the main pool was probably 3 or 4 people.
The pool area was nice and clean and we liked sitting for breakfast or evening meal by the pool side.
The food was ok, there were lots of choices, but it was only average quality.
The bar was empty most of the time and we often had to wait for staff in another area to notice us so we could order a drink.
For the first six nights the most people the bar in the evening was us plus two others, there was no evening entertainment put on until out last night when a greek dancer was in the bar area.
He was very good and friendly and a few more people stayed in the bar that evening.
Our overall opinion was that we would not return to this hotel due to its location more than the hotel which would have been nicer in a slightly better area. I would also be interested to see what it is like in the peak summer period with more staff/guests.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Hotel

Address: 5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Minos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.