We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but Greek 4* and UK 4* are two very different things!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Hotel to your Saves list
Minos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 172 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ipswich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, but Greek 4* and UK 4* are two very different things!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very steep drive up to the hotel, so this property is not suitable for all. The hotel was clean, the room was clean had air con and a small fridge so cannot complain. The bathroom was functional but the glass door was too small and did not fit properly. We had a balcony with a view of several apartment block concrete shells........this, is beyond the control of the hotel. Wifi signal was only available in Reception. The buffet was very repetitive and deep fried spam was not what I was expecting from any hotel no matter the star level. There is a strange little pool just outside the front of the hotel and a larger 1 to the rear of the hotel next to the restaurant. Once you managed to dodge the speeding vehicles flying round the huge roundabout directly outside the hotel the beach is only a few minutes walk away passing a few restaurants and a big supermarket. I would suggest walking along the beach side of the road, as this will stop you being accosted by each bar and restaurant along the main road through the resort. Ultimately we wanted a week away, with a beach within walking distance, lots of sunshine staying in a clean safe hotel and that is what we got. Would we go back again? No.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

On arrival a very helpful greeting by the reception and those on reception always willing to discuss anything and give advice. The people that serviced the room always left the room clean and tidy and gave that extra feeling that they were dedicated in their work. I was very impressed the way I saw the ladies that clean the outside areas in their attention to detail and persistent effort. The restaurant manager made us feel important and the food was excellent.
I think that the high quality of the hotel was because all the staff displayed the feeling that they "loved" their work and wanted to go that bit extra to please the customer; therefore I assume that any parts of the Hotel we did not see or made use of would be of the same excellence.
Well done all at the Minos Hotel and we would love to stay again if we get the chance.

Room Tip: Pick a "Superior Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a week of Bed and Breakfast at this location in mid September. The hotel is very acceptable with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was a little manic as many guests so tables at a premium. Very extensive options including eggs cooked to order, bacon (strangely chopped into small pieces) and usual continental options. As ever orange and coffee both awful. The rooms are fine and air conditioning was very efficient ( quiet and free). There is a hair dryer in the bathroom and all usual mod cons. Rooms were spotless and cleaned daily and there was a small fridge that can be used to store drinks (but sadly no ice so no G&Ts). Having been to Greece many times the hotel seemed more Spanish in nature but perhaps that was because it was more efficient than usual in Greece.
Hotel is 20 - 25 minutes walk away from Rethymnon along the sea front and passing many bars and restaurants. The beach is only 3 to 4 minutes from the hotel and we really liked it and the sea. For information 2 sunbeds and umbrella were about 7 Euros. We both loved Rethymnon with its maze of streets and (often) crumbling buildings , very attractive if like me into photography. There are many fine (and expensive) restaurants (Venetto , Castello etc) and we ate at a fair number. Overall would say the atmosphere was brilliant but quality of the food some way short of that.
All in all a good experience and despite reservations about the food we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed on Crete for one week and I could say that this hotel made it very good! The service is totally customer oriented, rooms are clean, food is vary and fresh, very friendly and competent staff. What to say a big thank to the receprion and restaurant manager! First I moved in to the room at the upper floor, but it was a bit cold there. For summer period and hot daysthose rooms are just perfect, but I stayed there in october and there were a couple of cold nights. That is why I asked if I could change the room; on the reception the question resolved just in a few minutes and I've been suggested to check if I like another room. That was a bit smaller room on the first floor with windows to the swimming pool, very cozy and nice with carpet floor, I stayed there. Regarding food, I had breakfasts nly, the variety of food is good, starting from fresh fruits and vegetables, cereals, jams, and finishing with hot omlette, which they prepare just in front of you. They have hot dishes for vegeterian too. Since I am vegan it was a bit challenge for to find some hot food without cheese and milk, but restaurant manager resolved that problem and they were prepered some grilled vegetables without chese or anything by request. Also was surprised about their policy when was moving out. The check out time is 12 as normally. I had transfer late at the evening, so for those who has late transfers they have different nice options. First one can pay only 20eur and keep the room until 6p.m., second option is to leave the lagguage at the lagguage room, and go for a walk or to the beach or stay near swimming pool for example, then they can give you a key from a shower room to take a shower and make up oneself before leaving. That costs nothig. Also they had evening programms every day, sometimes thematical evenings, sometimes some games. In the morning stretching near the swimming pool if there are enough people:) The location is good too, just 10 min walking to downtown (ol town) where main bars, cafees and sightseeings are located. On the way and around the place a lot of good restaurans, cafees and supermarkets. The city-bus station just across the road, from there one can take a bus to down-town (takes 3 minutes) if no wish to walk, or to central bus station. The beach is close too. The beach is sand with good entrance to the sea, there one can rent a sunbed and umbrella for the whole day. Some sea activities just there too. The trip was great! I was really glad that chose that hotel!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are good for hot summer time, lower rooms for autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had read some negative reviews about how far from the beach,distance from Rethymnon Town and the steep incline, Well thats all poppycock. The Hotel was situated 3 mins from the sea front, as a 55yr old traveller it was only an easy walk 20-25mins to town centre and the slope upwards is easily manageable. This was a superb Hotel, the rooms were cleaned every day, staff were 5star in their friendliness towards you . We were on half board basis and no complaints whatsoever, We were there for 14 days and the menus was varied. It is a buffet style but there was always a large selection of food and one hot meat dish cooked every night in front of you. The waiters do serve drinks at the table but the wine I found quite expensive Eu 14 but do opt for the table wine at 8 Eu just as nice as the expensive one. There are two pools, one large one and never a problem getting sunbeds as most residents went to the nearby beach every day, the second pool is more for sunbathing/dipping in and only has about 14 sunbeds around it (Much quieter).
. The Venetian town of Rethymnon is beautiful with its narrow streets and hundreds of authentic Greek restaurants (No Macdonalds or Burger king in this town which is a bonus). However closer to the hotel there is a mile of restaurants to try , we did try a couple even though we were half board. Crete is the biggest Greek island I have been to so getting the local bus anywhere at distance does take all day so I would recommend car hire or organised bus trips. The Town of Rethymnon is a University town so although there are traditional bars there are lots of trendy 18-25 bars which are well used. The nice thing about this town, although quite large it is easy to visit all of it in your 2 weeks, No Industrial centre, mainly locals living in this area. A number of UK/Irish customers were returning guests and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: opt for superior rooms and 2nd floor pool facing rooms 503-508 also incorporates a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Minos hotel for 10 nights from 17th September and we had a fabulous stay. The staff were so friendly and would go out their way to help. Room was big and spotlessly clean only downside was the view from our balcony was a brick wall and a loud air conditioning on top of the building. Food was excellent and the staff very efficient and friendly. Would recommend this hotel if you want a totally relaxed holiday with pleasant people and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early September and thoroughly enjoyed the experience!
The rooms and communal areas were always spotless, the meals varied and tasty and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

The only negative things I would say is the bathroom is a little small but is compensated by having two sinks, the second just outside the main bathroom and useful when both of you are getting ready and as mentioned below there is no lft to the rooms with views.

Our Anniversary fell while we were staying and we were treated to a beautiful cake complete with sparkler and a bottle of champagne.....a lovely touch, so many thanks to all involved in organising this lovely surprise!

Location wise, ok a 15-20minute walk into the main town, passing many shops, tavernas and restaurants en-route.

To sum up....a lovely stay, Yamas, Minos!!!

Room Tip: We booked a garden/pool view room on the first floor which is very worth the extra outlay but beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Hotel

Address: 5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Hotel is a 4 star luxurious complex superbly located, 2 minutes away from the beautiful awarded with blue flag sandy beach of Rethymnon and a short walk from the attractions and the historic centre. The friendly and professional staff reflecting the traditional Cretan hospitality will make you want to return. During the 35 years of its operation, Minos Hotel has succeeded in gaining the guests' trust and a good reputation in the European market. The great number of repeaters guests shows the high standard service and the warm, friendly and family atmosphere the hotel has. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Minos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.