We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel except for food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Minos Hotel to your Saves list
Minos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 172 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel except for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent 4 days in this hotel in May 2012. It's not far from the city center (20 minutes walking slowly). The hotel is nice. Employees are very nice and polite. The rooms are clean, there is enough space, and it's quiet, even close from the elevators. The only problem with this hotel is food. The breakfast is [--], no fresh juice, nothing really good. The diner is also [--]. It's just bad quality, like a cheap meal in a cheap resto... We prefered to go eating in the city even if we had paid for the food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food good and lots of variety, location excellent, very clean and welcoming. Driveway to hotel very slight incline. Very convenient for all shops and about 500 yds from beach. Fridge in room at no extra cost and air conditioning superb! Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Fine for a few days' sight-seeing in Rethymnon - a bit pricey (£250 for 3 nights) but staff were polite, efficient and friendly. Breakfast reflected the international feel of the place (options included, for example, pizza and tobacco onions).The air-con was adequate; rooms do not have a kettle however so you might wish to bring a travel kettle (assuming this is not frowned upon...). View was disappointing (high wall, vine covered) and balcony was in shade all day.
Atmosphere varied from lively and good-natured (aquarobics) to rather boisterous (water-polo) but overall tended towards restrained, elegant fun. Main pool is bounded by grassy sun-bathing area (the one on the web-site with the swanky loungers was tiny and perhaps the preserve of 'superior' guests?
Overall, location was good (20 min walk to Old Town, 2 min walk to beach front) on main bus route. Good for older couples and young families.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay here. It is a fabulous hotel. The situation is perfect, within walking distance to the town and the beach. The food is absolutely out of this world, so much variety and wonderfully set out. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The two swimming pools are beautifully kept - apart from not keeping to the rule of booking a sunbed by putting your towel down first thing in the morning. We did complain about this but nothing was done about it. Apart from that it is a first class hotel and we will certainly return to it sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel Minos was a great place for our first trip to Crete. The Hotel staff were great and the location was good despite our worries because it was on a roundabout on a busy road, but we had no problems.
The food was good quality and varied and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The air-con was a blessing in the blistering heat.
The entertainment was quite good with something happening most days and evenings. The pool was nice with free beds and brollies.
If we returned to Crete, again, we would have no hesitation in staying in the Hotel Minos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 12 day stay at the Minos Hotel.

Having only booked this holiday as a last minute, I quickly checked up on Trip Advisor and all gave mostly favouribly results.

However, on my opinion, this is NO 4 star hotel. We were quite taken back that shortly after our arrival we found that we had to purchase beach towels from either the hotel or from the shops and we also had to pay for a safe for our room. Furthermore, the air conditioning in the over all hotel was joke.

On most mornings, we dined outside near the pool area. But on the one or two occasions we had breakfast inside, it was like sitting in a centrally heated dining room. Furthermore, the corridors or reception area were not cool either. On our first night, we had to call assistance as our room was like a hot tub. The manager came and made some adjustments and advised us that at all times the patio door must remain full closed.

The breakfast was sparse by any standards. It was laid out in such a fashion that it made it look more than what it was. It never changed once during our 12 days. Apart from the last day or two, they brought out seeded grapes.

The kitchen staff were most rude. The women topping up the breakfast bar would push you out the way, snort or rudely address you. There are ways and means of communication with people - even if language is a barrier.

Again at breakfast, they would take your plates away, even if you had not finished. On one occasion, my husband was making a breadroll with some cheese in it. I was rumaging in my bag to get my mobile phone out and she said most rudely, NO FOOD OUT THIS ROOM.... ONLY FOOD IN THIS ROOM. My husband was about to eat the said roll but nearly choked on it - so left it.

The reception staff were always helpful and very friendly.

The bedroom was quite basic. We had been advised on arrival that we had been upgraded but looking at our room, I'm not sure what the basic room looked like. Our patio faced the back patio area and every day smells from the kitchen perminated the air if you stepped onto the balcony. The room was basic. Very! Just enough space to leave our clothes and luggage. We had a sink outside the bathroom, plus an additional sink, toilet and bath/shower (proper bath) in the bathroom. However, we found the class door of the bathroom most disconcerning. It never shut properly and if we weren't a married couple would find this most uncomfortable as there was lack of privacy. Furthermore, if I was stood near the "dressing table", then my husband had to walk over the bed to get to the other side of the room. We never sat on the patio - what with the view and people walking by all the time - staff and hotel guests and for the smell from the kitchen.

We used the pool area once. Mainly because we found it too hot and humid. Sitting on grassed area creates more moisture. the beds were most uncomfortable and were all on top of each other. We tried to sit once also on the top deck area - where there is come chairs, beds and snooker table but it just baked in the day time - and quickly left and headed to the beach.

On the 2nd day and thereafter, we went to the beach and hired beds and an umbrella. We preferred paying the money for the comfort and also the breeze and airyness of the beach. The beach was a mere 5 minute walk across the streets - which were sometimes a pain to cross.

We hired a car. However, as many other hotel guests did too - if we came back, we often found there was no room to park the car in the hotel car park. Surely instead of creating some amenity on ground-level, (toilet and waiting area - which I really could never understand why it was there), they could have built say an underground car park - under the front swimming pool.

Overall, the hotel was in a good location. There were some local shops in the area and immediate area some touristry restaurants (which we always avoided).

As only on Bed and Breakfast, we were free to come and go as we pleased and eat out each night in the old town. Avoiding at all cost all the tourist traps on the sea-front, we walked the 20 - 30 minutes to the old town and ate out at many restaurants and tavernas that weren't overly busy and touristry. Always were locals ate. We took the local bus once into town at a cost of 1 euro each - but this was only on the last night as we were being collected from the hotel at 10 pm by our tour rep for the airport and didn't want to get too hot and bothered walking into town.

It's OK....... and didn't have any nasty experiences - except what mentioned - but really would wish they would sort out some decent air -con.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Based on all the good reviews, I chose this hotel but wish I hadn't as quite disappointed overall...I have stayed in many 4* hotels in Europe as part of my job & on holidays & would say 4* is generous for the Minos.
* upgraded to superior room- if the small, basic room in need of a refurb was a superior room then i hate to imagine what a standard room would be like!
* Had a kettle & cups but nothing to make with it- tea/coffee/sugar etc!.
* air con only from 8pm-7am
* room not usually made until 4pm ish
* forget trying to sleep before 11pm due to entertainment/music being outdoor near pool.
* other time restraints like being at school- I.e not allowed in pool after 6:30 (still hot sun then), had to set alarm for breakfast as finnished at 10am (with a 2hr time difference that's an early start on holiday!).
Dinner until 9:30pm but quite often had to queue & wait to go in even tho there was plenty of empty tables!!.
On the positive side- friendly staff, food ok!!.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Minos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Hotel

Address: 5 Machiton Scholis Chorofylakis Str, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Hotel is a 4 star luxurious complex superbly located, 2 minutes away from the beautiful awarded with blue flag sandy beach of Rethymnon and a short walk from the attractions and the historic centre. The friendly and professional staff reflecting the traditional Cretan hospitality will make you want to return. During the 35 years of its operation, Minos Hotel has succeeded in gaining the guests' trust and a good reputation in the European market. The great number of repeaters guests shows the high standard service and the warm, friendly and family atmosphere the hotel has. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Minos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.