We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grecotel White Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grecotel White Palace to your Saves list
Grecotel White Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pigianos Campos | PO Box 27, Rethymnon, Crete GR-741 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Durham
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel, so clean but what makes it extra special is the staff everyone is so friendly especially Cara who works for the animation team! We will miss Grecotel and the staff. I'm sure we will be back very soon! - Joanne and Lee x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    122
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
152
176
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEWCASTLE ON TYNE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this was the most relaxing holiday , I have had .,the staff are so efficient,professional,and courteous,.Bar,pool dining room reception, cleaners,all very friendly did every thing for you ,had a room facing road no problem , Only hotel I know where there are 4 guest relations officers making sure everything is ok . great choice of food something for everyone theme nights2 times a week, gala evening was very good apart from the rain .entertainment a bit basic ,three tenors was highlight ,too energetic animation team for me <,I am late 60s. >but good fun to watch had slight problem on arrival with room location but sorted out by super reception staff in a couple of minutes, 10 minute walk into next village well worth it .plenty of sunbeds for all, the cliental were from all corners of Europe ,but the animation team broke down all the barriers made sure every enjoyed their stay would certainly go again

Room Tip: book early and get a sea view larger rooms but for me a hotel room is just for some where to hang yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had done a fair bit of research before booking this holiday - read all the reviews, looked at every single photo etc. I was fairly confident that it would be good. When the transfer coach pulled up outside I had to catch my breath - the outside with the infinity water features and lovely flower beds make a good first impression. The reception area is stunning and we were greeted with cloths to freshen up, a welcome drink and then taken to one of the tables to check in with a member of staff. No queuing at the reception desk! This welcome set the standard for our entire stay.

Our sea facing room was in a block adjacent to the main building which has its own large pool and garden area with loungers. The room was large - with a walk in shower in the room and separate bathroom. It is beautifully designed and the white and blue theme is stylish and restful. The bed was comfortable and the overall level of cleanliness extremely high - in fact it was faultless.

In terms of the public areas what works really well is that there are different areas - zones if you like - that you can use depending on time of day. We tended to go to the main bar for a drink before dinner and after, the pool bar for a little late lunch or a drink early afternoon and the sea front bar for a little post sunbathing refreshment. The pools are all very clean as is the beach which we used more than we thought we would because it's private and very nice.

The food really exceeded our expectations - the choice and quality of food at every sitting was superb. Apparently this hotel has its own organic farm and the vegetable choices were plentiful and imaginative. We were surprised to see brussel sprouts one evening and tried them - oh and they were good - cooked with some smoked bacon and finished very delicately with cream. We did not tire of the food at all - one can only imagine the amount of hard work that goes into planning and executing such a fantastic selection of consistently high standard food.

The location of the hotel was good for us - we wanted to pretty much hole up and relax and were glad that it's not in the middle of a big resort. We did make it into Rethymnon on a couple of occasions and it was easy enough to get there - 20 mins at the most. The architecture is stunning and there are plenty enough shops to indulge in a bit of retail therapy.

However - it's not the gorgeous, stylish surroundings or the quality of the food that sets this hotel apart. The USP for this hotel is the staff and it is they that make staying here truly special. One of the previous reviews is titled 'Treated like kings' - which I think sums up the experience of staying at this hotel. Nothing, and I mean nothing, is too much trouble. This is a very special team who are led by the hotel manager who is visible and chats to guests, always asking if all is okay with their stay.

We are hoping to return for a week in October - we simply cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said! This was truly exceptional, do not hesitate and book it!!!! Beautiful hotel, beautiful views and the nicest staff you will ever meet! Myself and my husband stayed in June for our wedding anniversary and were treated like royalty, the staff couldn't do enough and made us feel special! The food, well... We defiantly come home a few pounds heavier, it's a 5 star culinary experience. Don't miss out on your gala dinner, whilst watching the sun set. Very romantic. Lastly, you must book all inclusive when you go to this hotel. It's worth every penny. Have already recommended and will be retuning next year with family xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Second visit to this hotel and this time it was even better. It's now called 'White Palace' and certainly lives up to the name. It's been refurbished to a very good standard, the bedrooms have been modernised with a minimal white & blue decor (some rooms have a walk in shower in the bedroom and seperate bathroom) and are nice and spacious with air con. Would definitely recommend the sea view rooms. The bars and restaurant have lovely outdoor areas with stunning sea views and sunsets. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and the maitre du is always around to make sure everything is ok. Great service all round, the staff are genuinely lovely, they really make this hotel special. Nothing is too much trouble and they are always happy, friendly and welcoming. Particularly noticed Dimitra and Eliza on reception, Oggy in the restaurant, Maria from the bar, the girls serving drinks at the pool/beach are very sweet and Andreas 'the captain' at the beach bar is fantastic. The hotel is in a quiet area with a bus stop outside which will take you the 20 min journey into Rethymnon. (You can buy tickets at the shop opposite for 1euro 20 each way.) Well worth a visit, plenty of shops, restaurants and a pretty harbour. The hotel will be installing a spa and fitness room in the near future so it's improving all the time. It's a relaxing, high quality, friendly property which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel has a split personality - as indicated by its two names El Greco (which Thomson's call it) or the White Palace (as per Trip Advisor). Having read the glowing reviews I thought we were in for a five star treat when we visiting in early June 2014. However our experience fell short.

I get the impression that you HAVE to pay for an upgraded (sea view) room in order to have the 5 star experience. We had already spent a decent sum on the holiday so didn't/couldn't supplement with a room upgrade - therefore we got an older room and unfortunately it was disappointing.

The bathroom had an over-the-bath shower and frayed shower curtain that soaked the bathroom floor whenever you washed. The bath itself was narrow and you had to hold the shower head whilst washing as it was fixed at waist height - which meant taking a shower was a bit of a balancing act. There was no extractor fan so we had to open the tiny window into a grubby chimney of pipes running down the centre of the building in order to let out condensation.

Unfortunately I also found the buffet food disappointing - often too salty and dry, with repetitive choices throughout the week, and desserts that looked pretty but were tasteless. On the plus side one meal at the Gala Dinner was included in our stay and this was great - and really highlighted the difference in quality between this a la carte evening and the mass catering buffet during the rest of our stay.

But there are positives that meant our holiday was ok...

The staff were great.
It's a beautiful location to watch the sunset.
The all inclusive option is worthwhile (bottled water included which is a great money saver)

Finally please be aware that we paid Thomsons £35 for a late room, however when we asked at reception they said that we could have a room until 6pm free of charge. Maybe something was lost in translation but you might want to wait until you are at the hotel before arranging a late room just in case you can save a few quid.

So there you are, a mixed bag - not a terrible time but I wont return to the White Palace.

Room Tip: Pay for a room upgrade Take your own hairdryer
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Arrived at The White Palace at the beginning of June,having never been to Creete before,from the moment we arrived the service was fantastic as was the position of the hotel sitting behind a private beach.The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious and ours had a private garden area with our own sunbeds. Every member of staff form the porters to the Managers were exceptional, never have we had customer service like this and have been in many Hotels. we were all inclusive and the food was first class all in all a true five star experiance and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grecotel White Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel White Palace

Address: Pigianos Campos | PO Box 27, Rethymnon, Crete GR-741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel White Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grecotel White Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
Grecotel White Palace Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grecotel White Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.