We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and are booking to go back next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marva Apartments-Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marva Apartments-Studios
Save
You added Marva Apartments-Studios to your Saves list
11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved it and are booking to go back next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My daughters and I have just got back from the Marva and it was the best holiday we have had. The family who run the appartments can not do enough for you, they are all fantastic. The rooms are lovely and you have everything that you need in them. It is only a 5 min walk from the shops and tavernas and a 2 min walk from Lidl. It is a perfect location and everyone else who was there will agree. Thankyou for making our holiday so special :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beddau, Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We wanted a relaxing holiday in comfortable accomodation with a good location.And that is exactly what we got. A friendly family making sure we had a great holiday.Our apartment was overlooking the pool and the lovely hillside villages behind the resort.The pool was perfect.Very clean , always plenty of beds and virtually no one there.Very relaxing.There was a small bar which closed at the same time as the pool and hence no late night noisy drinkers.There was some noise at night and dawn from the local dogs,chickens etc. but hey, nothing an extra nightcap and a closed door did't fix.The location was unbeatable.With Lidl 100mts away and 100mts to the start of over a mile of good quality restaurants and bars and a furthur 150mtrs to the beach,what could be better.All the ammenities, none of the noise.During our stay the majority of holiday makers appeared to be aged 25 - 65 with vitually no groups of youngsters, but this did not stop it having a lively feel with plenty of choice.Getting away from the resort to explore was very easy with good roads and very little traffic.We would highly recommend travelling to some of the southern quieter resorts whch were only ,on average ,an hour away.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marva apartments and would HIGHLY recommend them to anyone who wants some excellent R & R. Thank you Marva

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Just came back from our holidays in Crete-Rethymnon. We stayed at the MARVA for 2 weeks and overall rating is 5 stars!!! Perfect location, beautiful gardens and friendly owners were some of the things we arrived to in Platanes. Shops and restaurants were all 5 min walk from the apartments. LIDL is just round the corner.
The apartment is really nice, although we had an issue with the toilet mechanism. It was fixed though in a few minutes from the owner (handyman, whatever!). The cleaning took place 3 times a week and we had our sheets changed once a week. You can ask for extra towels and pillows if you want.
Recommended for family and couples holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The apartments are nice basic style Greek apartments in a quiet area. They have a pool area which has grass. It is quite pleasant. There is no obvious bar. When we arrived at around midnight, we were greeted by the son of the owner who seemed really friendly and said we would meet his parents in the morning. If there was anything we wanted, they would be around all the time, so just ask. The next day I couldn't see any sign of anyone until the evening. When we did ask them for an extra pillow, it wasn't a problem, just a matter of finding one of them. We were at the apartments for a week. In that time the sheets were not changed and the one towel we had each, were changed after 24 hours and then not changed again, so we were left with the same towels for the rest of our stay. The bins (Bear in mind toilet paper is put in a bin in Greece) was only emptied 3 times in a week.

When we actually saw the family, they seemed friendly enough. I think the parents only spoke a minimal amount of English, so, obviously it would be difficult from them to be really chatty.

We often stay in similar apartments to these in Gouves, but the levels of cleanliness and friendliness are better.

So, all in all, it is okay. I would suggest taking some bath towels with you and if you can manage to get the owners to empty the bins more often it would be better.

Debra and Anthony - Neath, South Wales

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We've stayed at the MARVA for two weeks with my girlfriend and we were absolutely satisfied with our choice. Friendly people, lots of places to visit in the area and most importantly the ideal place to relax. The gardens around the block are amazing and I am pretty sure nature lovers will appreciate it. The room was comfortable enough and clean, although I would prefer if the bed sheets were changed twice a week. Lidl supermarket is 50 m away and about 200 metres away you can find almost everything!
If you want to relax outside the city (Rethymnon), Marva is the ideal place to go.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We just arrived from our one week holiday in Marva Apartments. I wish we had the chance to stay longer, but we will definitely go back there in September. The rooms are quite cosy and clean and we were provided everything that we needed , just to have nice holidays!! The region is quiet, and although the highway is colse enough, you can hardly hear it. The swimming pool area is full of umbrellas and sunbeds and we really enjoyed reading our books. It' really worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We arrived late at night and were shown to our top floor appartment,the views are lovely and the small grounds are surrounded by an olive grove.Lidl is 180m away and very handy.The appts are a good walk away from the beach but only about 10 mins.Platanes is a bit basic and was quiet when we were there.Watch out for the high levels of MSG in Taverna food!!Best night out was at Evelins opp Lidl the Greek night was fun and the food was lovely.The only thing that spoiled it a bit was the noise from 11pm-6am,dogs,cats and cocks(male hens!!)You really have to zone them out.Take towels,tea towelsetc as they provide hardly anything.We enjoyed it though.Rob the travel rep wasnt that helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marva Apartments-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marva Apartments-Studios

Address: 11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marva Apartments is a family run unit located in a peaceful environment in Platanes, Rethymnon. With only 4 km distance from the town center, you can enjoy both the vivid and the relaxing side of Rethymnon. We offer the Cretan hospitality, relaxation and comfort and you have the opportunity to experience your vacation in Rethymnon, a traditional tourist destination from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marva Apartments Rethymnon
Marva Apartments-Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marva Apartments-Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.