We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but no Cigar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Theartemis Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Theartemis Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Theartemis Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M. Portaliou 26 | PO Box 132, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Close, but no Cigar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed 1 week at Theartemis Palace Hotel with my in-law family and we had a good time -
mostly though because of the nice stretch of beach just 300 meters (and a little to the right) of the hotel as well as the great weather.

The hotel has a four star rating, but the there are some severe lacks.
1) The service in the all-inclusive bar was at times horrific; shaking heads and comments on the amount of drinks we ordered and reluctance to adhere to our wishes. The staff seemed to have forgotten that we actually paid for the stuff in advance.
2) The room: The beds are hard as rocks, the refrigerator weak, no mini-bar and a small/old TV and an altana pointing to the street. However, the rooms were decently sized. Wifi-internet did not reach rooms on 4th floor at all.
3)The entertainment was, mostly, absolutely terrible and amateurish!

On the plus side is the location, as Theartemis is located outside downtown Rethymnon and thus are in peace for all the noise and lights (which are within walking distance if preferred; some of us went out most nights).

The food was fine and a positive surprise compared to other buffets we've tried, but the dining room/restaurant lacked atmosphere.

All in all, close but no cigar - as there simply are to many small point of irritation that can be added to the poor all-inclusive service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    128
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
163
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as the second part of a tour of Crete so in all we spent 10 days at the hotel.
OK (and this is not a bragging session) we paid the extra for pool-side rooms which I can now recommend to everyone.
The hotel has spent alot of time on making sure details are covered. It was almost impossible to slam the bedroom doors, the halls are carpeted, the drawers have dampeners on them so they glide shut. We slept very well and unusually (possible the only time I have been able to say this) I did not hear one sound from our 'neighbours'.
The food was also excellent in The Chloe restaurant. A fantastic choice every meal, in good surroundings and the serving staff were always smiling and welcoming.
The desk staff were also friendly and helpful with and queries or info on tours. The pool was clean and well kept and well shaded.
We would gladly go back but would always spend the extra to get a pool-side room and avoid the cafe style all inclusive crowds.
If I have to have one complaint it would be the smoking around the pool and drifting into reception and across our balcony - but hey, it's Greece, they like their ciggys!!!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra - pool side room. First class room and meals to go with it and you get a bird's-ey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel was conveniently close to the beach, only 2-3 blocks away. The distance to the OldTown was a little problem: ok when walking in to town - don't try it during day time though becasue of the intense sun and the shops being closed betw 2 and 5 pm - but walking all the way back after walking quite a bit in town at night was quite tiresome. Took some 20-30 minutes. Taxi was 5 euros wherever you went, so we did that sometimes. You had to walk to a certain place to get a taxi (Unknown Soldier's Square) since they cannot drive in the narrow - but very cute - Old Town area. The main building of the hotel has extremely modern rooms. The level of AC, TV, fridge, water pressure, and cleaning etc was surprisingly high, especially for Greece. 4 stars for the rooms. We were so happy for not having chosen the all inclusive option! since those who did had a much worse breakfast than we did, and also felt forced to have dinner in the same hotel dining room each and every night. When you have a large picturesque medieval Old Town and harbour in walking distance, bursting with local and affordable restaurants! The hotel garden is neat but tiny and always too crowded, and the germans as always occupy all sunbeds at dawn. Even if the spend the day out of the hotel. When will European hotel owners do something about this? In any Asian country this is totally out of the question. Nobody would act that rude around pools or in gardens in Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore etc. The staff in Asian countries immediately clear the sunbeds for people who actually are around and want to use them. The water aerobics at Theartemis was ok, so was the pilates. The gym was a joke: no bikes, one single treadmill which was useless because all the buttons were gone or broken. The rest of the so called entertainment was bad, mostly greek movies indoors or people singing karaoke tunes form their own countries, in their native languages. After having spent the day with other citizens of their country on tours, speaking their native langauge all day.(Why do some people travel at all?!) We went on a greek-operated tour to the Gramvousa island(a disappointment) and the Balos Lagoon (fantastic place, and the boat trips were great too) but afterwards were stopped by the police who fined the bus driver for no reason. And one of us got a fake 10 euro bill which we did'nt realsie until trying to pay with it at the airport. A harbor restaurant tried to overcharge us - you can tell everyone's trying to get their hands on as much cash as possibly when times are hard. It was also difficult to use credit cards - there was almost always "a problem with the credit card machine" so bring lots of cash if you go.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main buiding are newly renovated and very good, albeit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a week, and we didn´t really sleep for the whole week... Our room was near to the elevators, and for the first two nights we were wondering that how the constructors are still working at midnight ( they were doing some renovation downstairs ), before we realized that the noise was coming from the other elevator! It was making a terrible noise and it took still several days before they closed it, as it was getting too dangerour to use it.
At the breakfast there was quite a lot of choices but was really average and didn´t taste that good. Coffee and juices were quite terrible.
As there is also the possibility for the all inclusive, there were quite many danish and swedish who were getting drunk during the whole day, and appearantly didn´t leave the hotel at all... This was the last time that I will choose an all inclusive hotel. We had just the breakfast, so don´t know about the dinner & snacks. There were really nice restaurants in Rethymnon, along the beach road ( the best was the Dome! ) as well in the old town.
The gym that they have is really old with broken and dangerous equipments. Those should really be taken away and don´t even say that you have a gym, when you actually don´t have it!
Hotel in all is just an avarage hotel, max. with three stars, nothing special or personal about it. Wouldn´t go there again.

Room Tip: Don´t take a room near to the elevators, but facing to the pool side as there is some programm every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed in a different hotel/B&B/studio apartment every night during a cross island cycle trip. Although the price was good (£34 HB), it certainly didn't rate particularly highly, especially compared with most other properties.

Apart from the room, I found everything about it to be very average. Food (quality and choice - awful breakfast drinks, food not particularly hot, uninspiring generally), public areas especially by the pool, location (side street) and restaurant staff. Room and quality of fittings/furnishings were excellent tho!

Certainly not bad - just instantly forgettable. Iberostar Marine near Panormos (£32 HB) and Seaside in Agia Pelagia (£42 for superb AI for a night!!!) were vastly superior.

Rethymnon was pretty enough. Would hate to be there for a week but nice vibe to it with lots of locals frequenting the bars, restaurants and beaches

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our fourth return visit to the Theartemis Palace. The hotel is approx 200 yards to the beach and promenade, with a delightfiul walk into the old town which takes approx 15 minutes. It is split into 2 hotels with a connecting underpass. We would recommend requesting rooms in the main body. A lift is provided to all floors.
Our room was always very clean and tidy. Food in the restaurants is always of a very high quality and plentiful. We go half board and never need a midday meal. The Maitre'D (Stelios) and his staff are very attentive to your needs.
Entertainment is provided every evening, ranging from a Magican for all the family ( he especially involves the children), and local Greek music and dancing of which you are all invited to join in. The Tuesday Raki evening quiz is very poplular with the guests. Both Aris and Michalis in the bar are always pleased to see you and offer a very wide variety of drinks and cocktails.
Everything about this hotel which is 4*+ is all that it promotes itself to be and no short measures are allowed. All the staff from the Manager downwards are always pleased to see you and are always on hand to sort out any problems you may have. If we could only go on holiday once a year we would always return to the Theartemis Palace Hotel.
Keith and Carol. Market Weighton, Yorkshire.

Room Tip: The ones facing the pool in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

After reading the review we were very worried about our booking, but what a pleasure , this hotel is top class in every sense, they have big roomy rooms that are quiet and away from the noise
the food is top quality, both for breakfast and dinner with a choice to suit all tastes and evening entertainment every night, the staff are a credit with Stelios in the restaurant and Aris in the Bar
WE WILL BE BACK IN 2012

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the pool as entertainment is on there till 10 PM, but you have a grand view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Theartemis Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theartemis Palace Hotel

Address: M. Portaliou 26 | PO Box 132, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Theartemis Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Theartemis Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theartemis Palace Rethymnon
Theartemis Palace Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theartemis Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.