We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Melody Garden

Restaurant Melody Garden
Souliou 37 (Old Town), Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
+30.28310.35514
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 254 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went in for lunch after talking to the man sat outside who was pleasant enough and not pushy, we were shown to a lovely garden with fans to cool us off. We were welcomed with quite a large shot of Raki which the waiter joined in with. I don't mind Raki usually but this was killer stuff!! We ordered a light lunch (by greek standards) and when it came it was plentiful and very tasty. The service was great, very attentive but not intrusive.
At the end of the meal which was quite reasonably priced we were offered another Raki which my wife declined but I drank (out of politeness again with the waiter) A nice restaurant with friendly staff, although I don't know how the waiter gets through the day if everyone has two Rakis per meal and he joins all of them!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place doesn't look much from the street, but you are generally greeted by a friendly face. Both times that we ate here we were welcomed with a raki before being shown to a table in the garden at the back. It didn't ever seem to be very busy which we couldn't understand because we loved the place. You should try the lamb kleftico which is spicier than I've had anywhere else, but neverthless delicious. Also worth trying is the goat. We enjoyed a really good, relaxed meal on both of our visits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Cretan cuisine in a wonderful garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

One look at the menu and we were convinced we'd find good authentic Cretan food in this gem in Rethymnon's old city. We were slightly wrong, because the food was not only good but excellent. If you would like to treat yourself to something other than Souvlaki or Gyros, try the Lamb "Kleftiko"; wonderfully spiced lamb with cheese in puff pastry. The appetisers, the wine, the service and the food all were excellent and we're looking forward to another visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a restaurant we have visited a few times before and enjoyed. However, we did not enjoy it as much as previously. I think this maybe due to our tastes changing rather than the standard declining. It is still a lovely setting with good food (we just found it a little too greasy).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant before and had fabulous meals in a beautiful setting. I went this time with a couple of friends who have also been here before and we all felt it wasn't as good this time. The salad was drowned in oil and we had been in Crete for almost two weeks by the time we visited and it was the most oil we had encountered in the entire time. I had the vegetarian Crepe and they had Kleftico and stifado. We all felt our meals were ok but definitely not up the standards we had encountered on previous visits. Maybe it was a one off and the chef was different or was having a bad day but I would hesitate to return if I had the choice. The setting however is lovely still and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Melody Garden also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Melody Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Melody Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.