We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay in Crete!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimondi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rimondi Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Xanthoudidou Str., Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay in Crete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for a week at Rimondi Estate and couldn't have been happier. I honestly left with a big smile on my face. Hotel is located really central in the old town, close to sights, loads of restaurants to choose from and not too far from the port and beach. The room was extremely comfortable and all necessities were provided from loads of toiletries to ipod dock. I stayed in the Executive Suite which had a lovely loft style layout so I really didn't feel I was staying in a hotel room. Breakfast was fresh and made-to-order. Staff were all really lovely and always happy which made me feel even more relaxed. Highly recommend & would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    30
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
176
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is right in the heart of the old town and in a great location for the restaurants/shops and tucked away from the very touristy part of the city.
The decor was modern, comfortable and felt and looked like boutique accommodation. The staff were helpful and were always pleased to recommend restaurants along with things to see and do during the day.
The room was spectacular and set out with a duplex level which gave plenty of space. It had a lovely modern bathroom and was equipped with ipod dock, television and two ac units which helped with the heat in crete.
The pool area was small but very nice.
Breakfast was also very nice and not the usual buffet style most hotels used, everything was fresh to order.

Would highly recommend to stay here in crete.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

There are no words to really express this small piece of jewellery in the old town of Rethymon.It is such a luxurious yet romantic place where you escape from the everyday life. The staff is always there to make sure you have everything you need always with a smile on their face.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at Rimondi Estate. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was extremely well appointed. 1.5 bathrooms, king size bed, sectional couch, plenty of closet space, and a balcony with chairs and table. The room was extremely clean. There was a gift bottle of wine and fruit provided. The large master bathroom contained a jacuzzi tub made for two people with shower head on a hose. It also had a separate shower platform which was a little small - couldn't take a shower without making a mess of the floor. The only thing that didn't work was the upstairs air conditioner, which was going to be fixed after we vacated. The breakfasts were exceptional. We had fruit and yogurt every day with homemade pies and scrambled eggs and bacon - all delicious! The staff were extremely professional, kind and courteous. They treated me, my wife and especially our 5 month old like we were family! As for the location, it was ideally suited for easy walkabouts through the town, harbor, and fort. All sites within 10 minutes walking. Shopping right around the corner. Organized beaches about 15 minutes away. Private parking (at about 7 Euros a day) was a little far up the road if you were bringing lots of bags, free parking even further.
Will I come back - absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My sister and I stayed 2 nights at Rimondi Estate 20-22 May 2012 and we greatly enjoyed it.
We were upgraded to their best suite for the 1st night as they had a group staying'and the next night we were moved to the room next door: both rooms were wonderful.
Rimondi Estate is a tranquil and light place to come back to after wondering around Rethymnon. Breakfast was served in the courtyard. Everything was just great. And the staff were so helpful and kind. You just felt that they enjoyed what they are doing.
Thanks all very much!

Catharine en May from Amsterdam en London

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anlaby, Hull
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Just back from an amazing week at the Rimondi Estate. The hotel is stunning, we were told the owners are architects and have done an amazing job at the tasteful modernisation, bringing out the character of the ancient building using modern materials and style; the double height arched windows, the mezzanine level in reception and in our suite - number 2. Pool is beautiful day and night with it's landscaped surroundings, reallay comfy bean bags and lighting at night, during the day there is some sun and shade most of the day, only thing that would make it better is for the water to be a bit warmer, it was chillier than the sea! Fantastic location in the old town close to the lovely bars, restaurants, harbour, fortress and within easy walk of the huge sandy beach and the beachfront bars.
Staff could not be more helpful but are never pushy or overbearing, helped with restaurant recommendations, local info and ideas.
Breakfast is a real event and a thing of wonder! When you first go out it is 'just' a great buffet in the lovely pool surroundings but nothing is too much trouble and fresh squeezed orange juice with your coffee (or whatever hot or cold drink you like), eggs however you like them expertly cooked by Dimitrius (omelettes are fantastic I recommend ham/cheese/onion as he uses spring onions and a little herb) then every day there is at least one surprise from his experience working in a pastry shop - cheese pies, spinach pies, chocolate souffle, chocolate mousse, banana cake, amazing baked ham and cheese crepes and a baked savoury cake that was unbelievable (sausage, cheese, herbs...) all served by Dimitrius or one of the ladies.
Fantastic place and a great week.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful, but the ones that are split level mean you have a downstairs bathroom - ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Very nice boutique hotoel in the old part. We had a suite for one night and it was fantastic. Staff was friendly. Breakfast ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rimondi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Xanthoudidou Str., Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#4 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimondi Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rimondi Boutique Hotel is a small boutique hotel, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, SLH. The 15th century -newly renovated- mansion is located in the picturesque center of the Old Town of Rethymnon, Crete.Rimondi Estate house owns 32 unique rooms and suites of high aesthetics ranging from 22 to 55 sq.m. Each suite has been decorated individually combining traditional architecture, furniture of impeccable taste, antiques, modern comforts and luxuries. Rimondi boutique hotel is the perfect destination and a worthwhile get-away for demanding guests who are seeking for unique and exceptional experiences in deluxe accommodation, personal attention and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, T4B, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rimondi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimondi Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.