We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOTSCAPES of CRETE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Footscapes of Crete

Footscapes of Crete
Kastellos, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Porvoo Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“FOOTSCAPES of CRETE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I visited Crete at date 4 - 12.7 2013. I have been 13 times at Crete during 11 years. Crete is a unique and fine island. The nature is very fine and special. There are hunreds of nice small romantic villages up in the mountings. There is much of history at Crete. I have been visiting 3 monasteries the Arkadi Monastery, Agia Irini Monastery and Preveli Monastery. Also The Palace of Knossos close to the city of Heraklion is very intresting. At Crete are a lot of fine local restaurants where you can eat traditional Greek food. The local people of Crete are very open and friendly. At the island are many very fine sand beaches. Go to Crete I am sure that you will like this island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful city to visit in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Rethymno lies roughly in the middle of the Crete. It can work very well as a hub from where tourists can take day trips either in the western direction, to Hania OR to the east, Iraklio, Ayios Nikolaos. Tourists can also stay put and enjoy superior accommodations, excellent meals in the old town, and wonderful beaches.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

In May we made a return visit to Footscapes – in fact we’ve been returning every year since Footscapes opened in 2005, which says something about how much we enjoy our holidays there.

Footscapes is spectacularly situated atop a small hill near the village of Kastellos. This affords wonderful views both to the sea and to the mountains, as well as a general air of peace and quiet. The studio villas themselves are well appointed, spotlessly clean and contain everything you need for a comfortable couple of weeks. Especially appreciated is the `welcome` pack of bread, cheese, wine, fruit and a flask of raki – the local firewater.

The knowledge and enthusiasm of the owners, Liz and Paul, is infectious. When we first visited we used Footscapes as a base for sightseeing in the area, and wouldn’t have classed ourselves as walkers. However on the next visit we did a couple of their shorter walks which fired our enthusiasm and now we’ve completed just about all of their portfolio of walks.

Liz and Paul offer guided walks for all abilities – from 4-wheel drive tracks and donkey trails between villages to the highest peaks in the area, and there are plenty of opportunities for the more adventurous to undertake walks under their own steam. There’s a folder in each studio detailing the guided walks and Liz and Paul are on hand to provide advice if necessary. Another folder provides information about the immediate vicinity, shopping, dining, wildlife etc.

Liz and Paul only lead walks for guests in their studios, so the group will never be more than six guests and they carefully co-ordinate the walking schedule based on all their guests requirements and abilities. Most of the walks are also available `self-guided` for GPS owners.

For visitors in the spring, Crete is a riot of colour as the meadows burst into flower. A number of the guided walks have been planned around maximising the opportunities for flower spotting – this is likely to include many different type of orchid. Liz and Paul take a great interest in the local flora and fauna and will point out items of interest along the route.

Footscapes is not just for walkers as it offers a great base for exploring the island. Rethymno (a beautiful Venetian harbour town) is just 20 minutes drive away, Chania (Crete’s second largest town) is around an hour away and both the north and south coasts are within easy reach. For those interested in history there are many major archaeological sites including Phaestos, Agia Triada and Aptera.

Food wise there are plenty of fantastic tavernas within a 20-30 minute drive and by dining in the `local` eateries you’ll get a completely different experience from standard tourist fare. Great fresh food, friendly faces and reasonable prices. Liz and Paul will provide well researched advice! Of course, the studios are well equipped and it’s a please to rustle up a simple meal and sit on the terrace enjoying the sunset over the mountains and sea.

To get maximum benefit from a visit to Footscapes a car is recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Others have said it all - superb location, excellent accommodation, courteous, well informed, hosts, lots of local information on places to visit and to eat - couldn't fault a thing !

We walked 3 days with Liz & Paul and if not walking all week and you want to look further and have more eating choices - then a car is needed.

We used europeocars.com whose prices are all inclusive, no one way charges, and cheaper than any other - OK it's not a new car. but on Crete's back roads, who cares !

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“CRETE IS A HOLIDAY PARADISE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The island of Crete is a wonderful part of the world. The nature is fantastic and there is much history. I visited Crete in April 2012 together with my wife. There are nice villages and fine monasteries, beautiful gorges and numerous fascinating caves. The island runs west to east 260
kilometers and 60 kilometers wide at its widest point. There are 3 nice old cities Chania, Rethymno and Heraklion. The largest city Heraklion is capital of the island. In all these cities are nice old harbous from the Venetian time. In Rethymno is a great Fortezza in the east part of the Old Town. Close to Heraklion is the Palace of Knossos. This is the most important monument in Crete. There you can see the old Minoan civilisation. It was very advanced already 4000 years ago. Go to Crete I am sure that you will like this island.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Footscapes of Crete also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Footscapes of Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Footscapes of Crete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.