We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Kivotos Villa to your Saves list.
Pool area  with... a  view !
Pool area with... a view !
Pool area  with... a  view !
Veranda with pool & sea view
Night view from veranda
Villa & pool area
Relaxing near the pool & the pavilion
Rethymnon
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LotanRiba...
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
“Kivotos Villa is perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent a lovely holiday in Crete, staying at Kivotos Villa. Just like other reviewers mentioned, this place is more than you expect.
The house itself is beautiful, the villa fully equipped in a high standard. It was clean and spacious and beautifully furnished. Everything is new and modern. The location is nice, on a hill over looking the sea. A short drive gets to a several supermarkets, which made cooking in the beautiful kitchen fun.
The owners are very friendly and think of your every need. We were on vacation with our babies, so the villa was perfectly arranged to our needs, including the smallest details that are normally overlooked. There were cribs, high chairs, a safety gate for the stairs, an activity mat and lots and lots of toys! It was very considerate and made all the difference in our stay.
The owner's organic vegetable garden was put to good use by us with their encouragement, another lovely little bonus of this fantastic villa.
All in all, a great place to spend your holidays, highly recommended!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The owners' care and attention to details.
Liked least: The location requires a car to get anywhere.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Potamus_1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A jewel in the Crown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

If you want stunning Panoramic views, peace and tranquillity, with a lovely spacious modern Cretan Villa north facing looking over a vast sea landscape and set amongst Olive Groves, this is definitely for you.
A perfect setting, great pool and gazebo to enjoy the brilliant sunshine which rises at 6.00a ( perfect for Tai Chi) and follows the villa around all day, super sunbathing trap.
The villa has 3 very well appointed bedrooms, furnished to a high standard, super Kitchen /Dining Room, with sofa suite to relax out of the sun, leading to a spacious balcony set out for open air eating whilst you gaze over those tremendous views. Two bathrooms which are excellent. Everything you need at a high standard, to have a Great Holiday.
The best villa we have ever stayed at, and the owner Eva is so charming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The 3 of us (retired) had a Super Holiday here, plenty of quaint villages to visit nearby, along with lots of taverna's serving first class food, with stunning views. Nearby supermarkets, butchers and bakers, everything you need.

A car though is needed, but a villa we will visit again and again. Superb

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquillity and stunning views
Liked least: A car is needed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CDeiger
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WIsh we could of stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Absolutely stunning property and house! It was spotless. The kitchen has everything you might need, bathroom large and clean, and the bedrooms, nice and comfortable. We enjoyed our peace and quiet evenings outside. It was so nice after long days of siteseeing to come home to our Cretan oasis, set up high, with beautiful views of the ocean. Eva is an excellent host, so warm, kind, and accommodating. She knows how to go above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable. An absolute pleasure. If you are looking for a place away from all the hustle and bustle, book this villa. It is a retreat in and of itself.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jim989
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What A Fab Way To Spend A Fortnight !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Most of this has already been said by the other guests who have been lucky enough also to have stayed here. I am pretty meticulous when it comes to choosing holiday homes for my family and I which is why I choose this one. There are usually one or two things that aren't quite as described when you stay in holiday homes however that was not the case on this occasion. Everything was just as described on the tin (and more).

Right from the experience of meeting Eva and her family, who met us a few miles away from the villa to guide us in for the last few miles, right up to the end of the holiday their hospitality was excellent. Fresh produce was regularly brought to our door from their vegetable plot which made our "al fresco" dining experiences all the more fabulous. The Greek Salad's we made were exquisite when Eva's home produced olive oil was drizzled over them (and thanks once again for the bottle you gave us to take home).

The Villa had everything we needed with fantastic views down the hillside to the sea (bring your binoculars to see all the passing boats & cruiseliners!!!!). The pool was excellent and cleaned every day by Eva's husband. The kids were hardly ever out of the pool - and as most parents know if your kids are happy then you are happy. In fact so much so that I actually read 3 books as it was so peaceful & quiet and the kids were happy swimming around and snorkelling in the pool (whereas usually I struggle to read 1 book on holiday).

We hired a car and went out on a few excursions as the Villa is situated closeby to some great locations - Rethymnon (nice to stroll around and eat by the harbour), Chania (definately worth a visit), Georgioupolis (a great beach where the sea is shallow for a long way which is ideal for young kids) and Kournas Lake (where you can hire a pedalo for $10 euro's for 4 for an hour to look for the turtles and it has some lovely restauarants around it's edge) to name but a few.

If you are looking for a relaxing break with great amenities ? then this is the place to stay !

It's location on a hillside is also fabulous for watching the shooting stars each evening. The kids and I were having competitions to see who could see the most - an amazing experience !!!!

Thanks Eva and family for such a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and amenities of the villa
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lucie C
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“one of our best holidays ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

this is a marvelous, splendid villa, very new build and very comfortable, also a quiet and goodworking airco in all rooms! the place is excellent because it is very quiet and peacefull and yet nearby the village Platanias and some kilometers from Rethymnon where you find really everything you need (a lot of shops, supermarkets and restaurants). The view is breathtaking and you can enjoy beautiful sunsets. we spend a lot of time in the pool, the water was really warm!
Thanks also to Eva who brought us vegetables from her own garden and a very nice pie. she even came out of bed at 4 in the morning to ring a taxi when the taxi that my daughter and her friend ordered didn't show up! price/quality, surely the best we ever rented!

Marc and Lucie

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the view, the pool and the airco
Liked least: i wouldn't know!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
miami1098
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had the most wonderful holiday with our family. Glorious weather, marvellous accommodation - spotless, comfortable and so well-designed and loved our 'landlady' who was so kind with delicious vegetables and help and villa cleaned twice a week.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: View and our landlady
Liked least: driving in Crete
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Elly L
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay with an amazing view over the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Kivotos Villa is a beautiful, well equipped villa with an amazing view, a nice garden and a refreshing swimming pool. The only thing we had to do was to relax and enjoy the sunset from the terrace! The house was cleaned twice a week.
Ideal for a relaxing holiday in a quiet place, not far from shops, supermarket. Beaches and Rethymnon are nearby. Thank you so much Eva for your warm hospitality, your help and advice, the welcome pack, the delicious "feuilleté aux courgettes" etc. This was one of the nicest places we ever stayed!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quiet location, the wonderfull view, the swimming pool
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$163
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Evaggelia M
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing