We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel in Crete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellagio Boutique Hotel

Bellagio Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bellagio Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Bellagio Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   21 Agias Varvaras | Palia Poli, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best small hotel in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Absolutely perfect - we give it 10 out of 10. Evi and her Mum run a first class hotel and are so kind and helpful - we felt more like friends than guests. The location was ideal - in a quiet street in the old town so there is easy access to the shops selling traditional fare, lovely restaurants and the old port plus nearby beach. If you hire a car the car park is only 200m away and costs about 7 euros per day (note it is closed on market days). The restaurants offer wonderful Cretan food - really delicious and reasonably priced. We visited nearby Chania but were pleased we chose to stay in Rethymnon as it felt more authentic and rustic. Wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to ask before booking as all people like different things. We had no problem with the inside ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lovely designed hotel with such a friendly landlady Evi, who is very young, yet runs this hotel very professionally with the help of her mother. Their friendliness, kindness, and willingness to make their guest comfortable is really something not found in many places. You will be offered more than you can expect. Evi prepared a fantastic takeaway breakfast for us when we went on an early day trip. The hotel is beautifully decorated and is positioned in a small quiet street. Breakfast is delicious. A bottle of vine and a basket of fruit will wait you in the room upon arrival.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite Gynaika on the second floor, which has its own inner patio, and is very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Three wonderful nights were spent at this beautiful little hotel at the end of our Cretan odyssey. It proved to be yet another highlight. Perfectly positioned just off the hustle and bustle but close enough to feel part of the Old City life, Bellagio is a lovely building. But what really makes it of course is the hospitality we received from Evi and her Mum. We enjoyed the lavish breakfast selection, the walks around the ancient streets and the most comfortable bed in the world. But best of all was being able to share it with our hosts. Less like hotel owners more like family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived in Rethymon, Crete just after midnight, approximately an hour's drive from Heraklion airport. Evi, the owner's daughter, telephoned our mobile as we approached the town and we were grateful for her directions to help us find our way to the car park just outside the old town. I have no idea how we would have found this exquisite hotel without her help and we finally arrived at the hotel entrance, lugging our suitcases, meandering as we had been through the quaint narrow streets of this old town! The first impressions of this boutique hotel are of tranquility and beautiful decor as we checked in and accepted a toasted cheese and ham sandwich, iced water and two coffees before Evi took us to our room. We ascended a beautiful glass staircase and were both delighted when the door opened to our beautiful room which can only be described as exquisite. A gorgeous king size bed took pride of place in the centre of an enormous split-level room, decorated simply but elegantly with long silk drapes and tasteful turquoise decor. The en suite bathroom was delicately framed in frosted glass and as we opened the door, this room too was similarly tastefully decorated with the addition of marble surfaces, a free-standing unusually-shaped hand basin and a deep jacuzzi bath. Fresh towelling robes and towelling slippers were ready in the adjoining wardrobe which was spacious and finished in a polished wood.

The air-conditioning was welcome and ran efficiently yet quietly, controlled remotely for maximum convenience from the comfortable bed.

The turquoise decor was calming and attractive and featured throughout the hotel amidst natural stone walls and subtle cove lighting.

Breakfast was included in the price of £100 for this room, booked through Late Rooms and we were treated to a fabulous array of Greek yogurts, fresh fruits, pastries and breads. Cooked eggs were also offered and we served ourselves before taking our place at one of the tables set in the peaceful, sunny walled garden at the rear of the hotel.

After breakfast we relaxed in the roof terrace outside our room, (Room 3 called Gynaika) and were able to ascend some more steps to the top of this beautiful hotel to admire the view of the old town.

My partner and I only stayed here for one night but our transformation from tired, over-wrought travellers can only be attributed to the kindness of the staff, the most exquisite decor and wonderful hospitality we experienced.........we were able to set off on our journey to Palechora rested and in fine spirits.......a wonderfully warm welcome to Greece.....thank you!

Room Tip: Room 3 is peaceful and beautifully situated because it has its own terrace garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

7 nights at the beautiful Bellagio Boutique Hotel will remain in our hearts for years to come. The hotel as the city of Rethymnon are romantic as one can hope. In the center of the old town, close to the shops, restaurants and beach, it is a perfect location for a Greek holiday. Hospitality doesn't manage to explain how the owners treat you from the moment you enter until the moment you depart. The rooms are quiet and wonderful decorated, for a relaxing time. A delicious break-fast welcomes your mornings for a day of sightseeing at the Fortezza or a tan in the sun. A dream romantic holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the lovely Bellagio Luxury Hotel for two nights and absolutely loved our time there. It is located right in the middle of old town Rethymno, tucked away in a quiet lane just off the main streets. It is in a perfect location for exploring the old town with plenty of shops and restaurants just a short walk away. And when I say a short walk I mean 5-10mins max. In the day te streets are buzzing with plenty of people and this continues on through the night as many locals, old and young enjoy the cafes, bars and restaurants. Evi manages the hotel and is absolutely delightful. She is very attentive and sweet always checking up on us to make sure we are happy. Breakfast is fantastic with so much variety. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. They are beautifully decorated, as is the building which has a staircase taking you up two floors. Plenty of privacy and its very quiet at night in the rooms. Would definitely reccommend this hotel for an authentic home style experience. And we would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preveza, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night, and we were really satisfied! The hotel is located in the historical centre, which is very convenient and quiet. The room was very clean and the breakfast was good. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and nice! We would definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellagio Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellagio Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Agias Varvaras | Palia Poli, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellagio Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellagio luxury Boutique Hotel is one of the most prestigious hotels in Crete island set on an exquisite location in the down-town of Rethymnon - Crete. It is the fresh and artistic landmark on the old town of Rethymnon (Crete's city of the Culture) and few minute's walk from the Odeon square and the Rimondi fountain. Bellagio Hotel possesses a premier position in travelers preferences for its design the exclusiveness, the romantic elegance and the quality of services . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bellagio Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellagio Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellagio Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.