We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maistra Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Maistra Residence to your Saves list
Casa Maistra Residence
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Arkadiou 149 | Old Town, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 4 adults and 3 kids (12,10,5) stayed for 3 nights.

First of all the accommodations are exceptional-the atmosphere and décor are welcoming yet refined. Every detail was planned out well-the color of the walls, furniture floors...Beds were super comfy. The apartment had plenty of room as we stayed in the top suite-the sea panorama which is 2 br. The 2 br were on the upper floor of the apartment but they shared a sort of common living space which also had a sofabed.

Living room spacious-really huge, with a balcony with enough room for sitting and sipping wine while admiring the view.

Kitchen was full and well stocked-Karen thought of everything, from the basic necessities of oil, salt and pepper, to things like curry and sugar substitues! There is no dining table, but there was a counter with high chairs which was adequate for light meals for 4 or 5 people. Anyway. we ate out for everything except for breakfast ( and Karen provided fresh baked delicious bread every morning)

If you are not close with your travel partners it may be a little difficult with the bathroom, since there is only one in the apartment. Again no problem for us, it was squeaky clean, toiletries provided, extra towels and nice fluffy robes were also given, shower pressure decent.

Location can't be beat: We had a great view of the harbor, lighthouse, beach and Aegean Sea, and yet we were within the heart of charming Old Town of Rethymnon. Lots of great restaurants, Karen's suggestions for restaurants were much appreciated. Only thing would be to add the addresses of the restaurants to her guidebook.

Other amenities: free wifi, free calls to US, (and to other countries, but a certain limitation which is explained in her guidebook), extra towels, beach towels and toys, beach umbrella, flat screen tvs in living room, and bedrooms with cable access, laptop in case you didn't bring any other access, Play Station 2 game system with games, fresh bread in am delivered to your door, and of course Karen and her husband, very kind and patient people-she even helped me with an airline check in issue by making the calls herself to the airline

No real cons, but just a comment on the circuit breaker which would trip every so often, again no big deal, we would call Karen and she would come right away, but we felt bad about this and just asked her to show us how to reset the circuit breaker which was easy and no problem.

So all in all, an excellent value for everything-service, accommodations, and location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well worth a five start rating. Excellent central location. Very high quality suites with lots of space. An easy stroll to the shops restaurants and bars of this lovely holiday city. Suites have everything that you need and more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I loved this place. It was (almost) nicer than my own home, and it was certainly bigger. The owners truly put some love and care into the place. In talking to them (a nice Greek/German pair), they apparently did many of the renovations themselves. It shows in all of the wonderful little details we found: a spiral staircase, a detachable ladder leading to the private patio, thoughtful lighting, family antique furniture.

But it was the personal service made this one of the best places I've ever stayed in (and that includes 5 star hotels and resorts). Even though we were only staying one night, the owners picked us up and brought us back to the bus station, gave us excellent activity and dining recommendations, and even made a FREE and tasteful assortment of sodas, liquor, and wine available to us. Karin bought us bread from the local bakery in the morning and hung it on our door, and even made us both homemade cupcakes.

If I ever return to Greece, I would plan a return trip to Rethymnon just so I could stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Casa Maistra - in the old beautiful section of Rethymno - is one of the best - and especialy unique - "residence" - we ever stayed in.
Lovingly restored old house with three modern spacious and fully equiped suits - centrally located between the main touristic street of old Rethymno and rhe beach promanade.
And above all - the warm and friendly Karen and Marinos - taking care of all what their guests might need.

Room Tip: The two sea facing suits have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I and our two children 5 years and 5 months stayed in the Sea View Suite for ten days in September. We would highly recommned this apartment. Great location in Rethymno right near shopping and eating areas and walking distance to fort.
The apartment was absolutely, spotlessly clean. It has been beautifully renovated.
We had been travelling Greece for a while and our baby had slept in many portacots, but when we arrived we found a full sized cot with beautiful linen for her. This is an example of Karens attention to detail and providing those extras that make a stay so lovely. From the toiletries and high quality towels in the bathroom plus lovely wine and home made yoghurt in the kitchen and delicious bread and pastries every other day we felt like we were staying in a high end hotel.
Karen and Marino were always available by phone to answer any questions.
We would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent two days with some friends at the Sea Panorama Suite and it was just breathtaking! We didn't want to leave our room, we sat at the balcony and enjoyed the amazing view to the water as well as the palm trees of the Rethymno promenade. The whole suite was amazingly decorated, simple but cozy and tasteful, the kitchen fully equipped with everything you could ever ask for and the hosts brought us fresh bread in the morning! We just didn't want to ever leave this place and we thank Karen for her warm welcome. We also tried the restaurant she recommended and we were trully grateful for her taste! Casa Maistra is a homely place, with great amenities that are not even offered at 5star hotels, therefore it's great value for money. I feel lucky to have stayed there and I will definitely visit this beautiful room again :) (And I still can't get over the sweet smell of the towels, the bathrobes and the sheets in my comfortable bed...I kept sniffing non-stop!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a fantastic spot, centrally located, our hosts Karen and Marinos could not have been more welcoming. Rethymno has history, shopping, beaches and is easy to access from Heraklion Airport, (~1.5 hour drive on national highway). Karen has thought of everything, beach towels in a carryall and a beach umbrella, wine in the room, breakfast pastries, to name just a few of the homey touches. The rooms were very modern and are spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and the living areas very comfortable. The loft beroom was very cozy and the rooftop deck was an extra special place to have a glass of wine and unwind at the end of the day or to enjoy coffee and pastries to begin ones day. This was Our first visit to Crete, and we would definitely return to this hotel/suites location. There are many fine restaurants in walking distance. Arkadiou St is part of the main shopping district in "old town", there is plenty to do and you are right in the middle of all the action of old town here. We could not say enough good things about this location.

Room Tip: There are only three suites, We only saw the suite we were in of course but it was large and very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Maistra Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maistra Residence

Address: Arkadiou 149 | Old Town, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Maistra Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Casa Maistra Residence” is a 19th century traditional residence right in the middle of the town’s promenade, the Venetian coastal road Ruga Maistra. Restored in 2010, keeping the original traditional architecture, the building was divided into 3 exclusive apartment-suites that combine elements of the past with today’s comfort and style. Each suite is fully equipped and spacious enough to accommodate a whole family for any amount of time all year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Maistra Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maistra Residence Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maistra Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.