We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, and an amazing management!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroditi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Afroditi Hotel to your Saves list
Afroditi Hotel
Daskalogianni 5, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great hotel, and an amazing management!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Where do I start... although I visited Crete one year ago, but I felt obliged to submit a review about this hotel.
The rooms: A little studio with a kitchen, toilet, and sleeping area. Very charming and in a very good condition. As I have learned, the owner, Yanni, renovates the hotel whenever he has enough funds. He cares so much about his business that he does everything to please the guests, without being too pushy or overdoing it. He welcomed us with a bottle of local wine and a fruit basket and when he knew that we don't drink alcohol, he replaced it with 2 bottles of orange juice without asking! In addition, the toilet had some complimentary toiletries, and the air conditioner was working perfectly.

About the location, can't be more central!! Rethymno is a lovely, well-preserved, beautiful and vibrant little city. Just walking in its streets is a lovely feeling that lingers in one's memory for a long time. Afroditi, is in the middle of those streets, very close to the sea.

The price was relatively affordable. Not very cheap (60 euros per room per night when we went), but worth every cent!

Finally, if I keep talking on how amazing Yanni was to us, I wouldn't do him justice! On our departure day we missed the bus that would have taken us to the main bus station to catch our bus to the airport. Not only did Yanni insist on driving us in his car, but he gave us a small gift to remind us of Rethymno. This man does all that out of passion, not because its just his job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice and I agree with all the comments that the owner is very, very nice and helpful.
One room I stayed in had inside the room a little mezzanine with stairs up to a double bed. The bathrooms are big, clean with a bath. The kitchen is big and well equipped with water and fruit. The rooms are big with lovely little touches.

the owner also gave us a parting gift on both occasions which I still have.

You will not regret it if you stay here. The hotel and the town are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

No doubt one of the best stays we've ever had in a hotel. Seriously you don't feel like being in a hotel but in a very clean apartment. Mr Yiannis,the owner, is the excellent sample of what it means hospitality.. Our memories from Rethymno and especially from Afroditi Hotel are unforgetable..Thank you kyrie Yianni and we'll be back for sure!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This review is very overdue! We stayed at Afroditi for only one night in Sept. 2012. Being unfamiliar with Rethymno, the hotel was very difficult for us to find after arriving late in the evening. Yiannis exhaustingly waited and searched for us to personally escort us to our room. This man is one of the kindest individuals that I ever met! Our room was perfect! Right in the heart of old Rethymno, a beautifully restored historic flat with everything you could ask for, including a washing machine! I wish we could have stayed longer. It would be a perfect central location to explore this island paradise, Crete. Love it! Thanks, Yiannis!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Afroditi. would recomend it to those wanting a change from usual holiday accomodation . Service great would defo return. rooms v. clean is great to have facilities and parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I were invited to a friend's wedding early Sep 2012. We stayed at Afroditi for 2 nights. The service is amazing, the owner is very friendly and helpful
The rooms are big and clean
free parking is available
location is super
everything about it is just perfect

Go there you will not regret it
Mai and Nathan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are very big, confortable and they're equipped with everything you may need during your trip (fridge, washing machine, etc...). The owner offered us nice souvenirs, juice, water, fruits and wine. He was really kind and helpful.
Perfect relationship between price and quality


They should inform in advance about the parking location that they offer because his location is not clear. During the afternoon the city center is close to traffic so you have to try to park nearby and go the hotel to ask for the parking location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroditi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroditi Hotel

Address: Daskalogianni 5, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Afroditi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroditi Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroditi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.