We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unsual rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afroditi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Afroditi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afroditi Hotel
Daskalogianni 5, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing and unsual rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel twice and I agree with all the comments that the owner is very, very nice and helpful.
One room I stayed in had inside the room a little mezzanine with stairs up to a double bed. The bathrooms are big, clean with a bath. The kitchen is big and well equipped with water and fruit. The rooms are big with lovely little touches.

the owner also gave us a parting gift on both occasions which I still have.

You will not regret it if you stay here. The hotel and the town are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

No doubt one of the best stays we've ever had in a hotel. Seriously you don't feel like being in a hotel but in a very clean apartment. Mr Yiannis,the owner, is the excellent sample of what it means hospitality.. Our memories from Rethymno and especially from Afroditi Hotel are unforgetable..Thank you kyrie Yianni and we'll be back for sure!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This review is very overdue! We stayed at Afroditi for only one night in Sept. 2012. Being unfamiliar with Rethymno, the hotel was very difficult for us to find after arriving late in the evening. Yiannis exhaustingly waited and searched for us to personally escort us to our room. This man is one of the kindest individuals that I ever met! Our room was perfect! Right in the heart of old Rethymno, a beautifully restored historic flat with everything you could ask for, including a washing machine! I wish we could have stayed longer. It would be a perfect central location to explore this island paradise, Crete. Love it! Thanks, Yiannis!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Afroditi. would recomend it to those wanting a change from usual holiday accomodation . Service great would defo return. rooms v. clean is great to have facilities and parking

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I were invited to a friend's wedding early Sep 2012. We stayed at Afroditi for 2 nights. The service is amazing, the owner is very friendly and helpful
The rooms are big and clean
free parking is available
location is super
everything about it is just perfect

Go there you will not regret it
Mai and Nathan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Rooms are very big, confortable and they're equipped with everything you may need during your trip (fridge, washing machine, etc...). The owner offered us nice souvenirs, juice, water, fruits and wine. He was really kind and helpful.
Perfect relationship between price and quality


They should inform in advance about the parking location that they offer because his location is not clear. During the afternoon the city center is close to traffic so you have to try to park nearby and go the hotel to ask for the parking location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I definitely recommend Afroditi Hotel. It is perfectly located in the heart of charming rethymnian old town and just next to the sea and the beach.
Rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Even beach accessories are available. You can borrow a mattress, a mat or a ball to play by the seaside - just ask the owner. He is always at guest's disposal and I was really impressed with his care and willingness to help. And souvenirs for the goodbye were such a nice surprise :)
That was not my first time in Rethymno but first in Afroditi, however I am decided to stay there during my next visits in that lovely town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afroditi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroditi Hotel

Address: Daskalogianni 5, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Afroditi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroditi Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroditi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.