We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentido Aegean Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sentido Aegean Pearl to your Saves list
Sentido Aegean Pearl
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

the hotel is a new build to a very high standard. its at the end of the beach road and forms the corner. there are two buildings, the pearl and agean pearl and they form an open ended courtyard facing the beach. The Agean is the newer and thats the one you want.
we arrived late and were sat down given a drink and cool towels while we signed in and then they opened the resturant to give us prepared meals.
the rooms are very good and the staff are all very helpfull and cannot do enough for you.
The food is excellent and enough chioce for everynight.
Never had a problem getting a table or service and no queing for food.
The staff are attentive without being pushy and the restaurant manager greets you as he passes round and one of the senior managers on duty usually passes through and wished you a good evening.
The hotel has its own beach area with sunbeds etc and a very helpfull member of staff who you can order food and drink from.
The beach is good but the wind can pick up and create waves and undertow so watch the flags.
The walk along the prom to the edge of town is 30 mins plus another 10 if you go onto the old harbour or as long as you want wandereing round the old town. Or a taxi is 5 euros from a rank about 100 yards from hotel.

The hotel provides good low key night entertainment and also free guided walks around town.

If we were returning to crete we would stay here again.

If this is the standard we will look for other sentendo hotels.

An excellent hotel, with modern rooms,well trained and friendly staff and we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: we asked for a quite room and got one at the back. there are few sea view rooms anyway and the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    71
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
46
148
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok.... where do we start.....? we spent a week here at this hotel and to be perfectly honest, the reviews and description on the internet of this hotel are extremley misleading. EVERYTHING is at a huge cost, beware of those hidden extras... which are NOT cheap. (i.e. Bottled water is even at a huge cost - go down to the supermarket next door and you can buy 6 x bottles of water for €2 instead of the costly €3 per bottle!!!) Massage parlour is run independantly and nothing to do with hotel (we were not aware of this) and they only accept cash, please be aware of this.

You would totally assume that everything would be automatically charged to your credit card (which you provide, when you book the hotel) apparently this is not the case and we were chased down to another lovely hotel as they incorrectly assumed that we had left without paying, which both my friend and myself found totally insulting and a humiliating process nonetheless.

The place is run, like Butlins, (albeit Butlins have red coats, this place has blue coats). You are constantly told off for either a) helping yourself to a tiny jug of freshly squeezed orange juice (apparently your allocation is a tiny, weeny glass), b) forgetting to sign your bill. You feel like you are constantly being told off like a "naughty child".

Upon arrival, they offer you a tiny, weeny glass of orange cordial and a wet cold flannel. Whilst the flannel is nice, the orange cordial was pathetic, considering it is supposed to be a 5 star hotel.

Food is okay, but not great - VERY repetitive.

Annoying loud Mr Motivator type man, trying to get you do Acqua Aerobics at the gym.

Rude Russians (a plenty!!!)

The staff were totally unhelpful and whilst we were looking for extra accommodation to extend our stay, they refused to help us.

Poor location.... only a beach opposite and a right old trek into the old town (where the real Crete is!!)

If you want to go to a friendly, personable, welcoming hotel - this is definately not for you.

However, the positive sides are:-

Andrea (our Olympic Rep) - very, very helpful.
Doctors - were called by the hotel and were very attentative (I was ill)
The room/bathroom - very nice
Bathrobes and slippers provided
Balcony - good views
Bed linen - very nice and good quality

Above all, we would never stay here again, due to the rudeness, attitude of the staff and too many rude Russians around the pool area and the dining room.

This hotel definately caters for the Russians rather than British people.

Room Tip: If you do decide to use this hotel, please ask for Room 822 (I think this is probably one of the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANNIS K, Manager at Sentido Aegean Pearl, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your holiday resort and taking your time to write this review in order to share your opinion with us.
However, we would like to point out the following:

1. The Wellness Center is part of our hotel. The use of the indoor pool, Jacuzzi and gym is free of charge. Sauna and Haman cost 5 E per day and the massages and beauty treatments need to be paid for, like in every hotel, cash or with credit card.
Our reception staff gives to all our arriving clients a Spa brochure with price list and general information during the check in.

2. Our hotel has a high score in all social medias like Tripadvisor (Nr. 15 of 142 hotels and 90 % of recommendation), certificate of excellence for 2011, 2012 and 2012, and as well in Holiday Check (service 5.5 of 6 points) for customers’ friendliness and professionalism of our staff.

3. We have a very good mix balance of nationalities. During your stay the percentage of west European people was 90 % and East Europeans 10 %.

4. It is an international process that customers who check out come to the reception and pay their bills by signing the relevant credit card documents.
This is also mentioned in our Service Hotel Directory, which you find in all the rooms.
If a client leaves the hotel without going through the reception to settle the balance of his account, then there is a natural process, which we have to activate. Otherwise the receptionist on duty is responsible and the unpaid balance will be charged to this employee.

5. Our hotel is a city/beach hotel and Rethymnon is in walking distance 2.2 km to the old town, a beautiful promenade along the beach front.

Best regards

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is at the end of the beach promenade some 2km from the town (taxi there is 5 Euros) so if you are looking for a lot of nightlife nearby(apart from the low-key entertainments that are provided in hotel) then it may not be for you. The standards were very high all round and certainly better than some so-called 5 star hotels both in the Med and in the UK. The staff, all round, were unfailingly friendly courteous and helpful. The reception area was light and airy with comfortable seating, and the public areas both inside and out were well-kept. The outdoor swimming pools were smallish (it is a small hotel compared with some) but clean and tidy and the private beach just over the road was also kept neat and tidy. There is also an indoor heated (!) pool, Jacuzzi and Spa in the basement. The restaurant, although often busy was really well run with very friendly and helpful staff and Maitre d’. The buffet style breakfasts and dinners offered a very wide range of good quality foods, both Greek and more international, with choice to suit most tastes (and the wines were reasonably priced too) A bar/taverna also on site provided a good range of reasonably priced snacks and lunches and there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance.
Our room was fine: large, quiet and well- appointed with comfortable beds and clean Facilities. All in all we had a great holiday in a lovely hotel and have to agree with the favourable comments in most of the other recent reviews. We are not easily impressed but would just say that we have already booked again for another stay in September.
(NB The sister hotel: the Pearl Beach (a 4 star) shares the site although it has separate facilities, pools etc. and should not be confused with this one.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful well maintained smart modem hotel. Situated at the end of the promenade away from the main tourist area. Within easy walking distance of the two best restaurants in Rethymnon; Zizi's and Mio Gusto. We did not eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the food.
The hotel organised a free guided walk up into the hills behind the town which is well worth doing.
Walkers will also appreciate the Mili gorge. We took a 15 minute taxi ride up to the top and walked home about 2 hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is situated at end of the main road, in a built up area and was high standard with very comfortable bed. The beech is across the road. The staffs were very helpful. Our room was on first floor facing the sea but was also facing the dinning area and had two balconies since it was in a corner. The balconies had a rails and was not enclosed so there was no privacy. Also there was no cloth rail to hang wet cloths on balcony. I was not keen on open plan bathroom aspect, the doors to toilet and shower were see thru. The sink was in the room itself which meant the floor can get pretty wet. Not enough privacy too.

We went half board, the food was plenty and very tasty though the choice was limited then the riu hotels that we are used to. Also the service in the restaurant was too slow, it took 10 minutes before a bottle of water arrived. And no staff came to greet us on our first day. It was not very personal, just a number.

If you are looking for romantic hotel, this is not the one, it is probably is suitable for family holiday with babies, teenagers, grandparents. Next time if we go to Greek island we will probably will stay in a smaller hotels rather then this big chain hotel to get the feel of real Greek cultural rather a hotel that reminds you of any city big chain hotel. We found the entertainment was just ok, we were waiting for real Greek entertainment such zorba dance and music but we got 70's and 80's music such as "brown girl in the ring", or "YMCA" or "You Are The First, My Last, My Everything. I came back home feeling that i have been to Blackpool minus the weather! In fact we joined neighbouring entertainment cos that was real Greek.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine which rooms can be private as the hotel is in very built up area.The rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the sentido aegean pearl with my girlfriend, we are both in our mid twenties and went for the B&B option.

Good points:
The rooms are fantastically stylish and feel very clean, lots of white furniture (white desk, eames chair, bed, corner chair etc) and woods to balance it out. The hotel had a big refurb last year so all the pictures of dated rooms and references to the old 4 star grading are now out of date. Minibar in the room which could be stocked for a charge but at €3 for a bottle of water you can buy 6 of for half the price a one minute walk down the road, we opted to keep ours unstocked and bought our own water to chill.
Lovely wooden sun beds and white canvas parasols around the pools keep up the great styling.
Right on the beachfront.

Bad points:
Some of these seem trivial but I'm hoping the hotel management take heed of some common criticisms.
Our 'garden view room' looked out to the side of a rather ugly apartment block about 5 meters away. No garden, pool, or sea in sight. This really did upset us as it completely eliminated the charm of being able to sit out on the balcony, if we did we would've just been overlooked by people across the very small (and smelly) side street. We went down to reception to explain the view was not as expected and that it smelt of sewage. They didn't seem to care one iota, very dismissive and just sorry they were fully booked. When we went up to the room later, we could smell they had sprayed some air freshener (the toilet also stunk of sewage and made it feel like a public toilet you wanted to hold your breath before going in). Air freshener lasted all of an evening and we received no further "is there anything else we can do" or follow up at all. This leads me to our main overall criticism of the hotel, they weren't proactively trying to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Not once during the whole of our stay did anyone ask whether we were enjoying it, even at the end we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay.

Couple of examples to support our opinion of poor customer service: went to reception to ask for a stamp. Waited 5 minutes for them to help someone who was there before us (fine), asked the receptionist if they sold stamps and was told 'yes but in a minute' in a very patronising tone before she went to help someone else (non Brit) who had been waiting all of 30 seconds. Rude! And if she didn't see us waiting (there were only two of us to choose from) then they need to sharpen up a little. We suspected it was because we said we weren't happy with view and walked off in a moderately childish protest which didn't mean we got our stamp but felt like a moral victory! Also, at breakfast, there never seemed to be cutlery out, you had to go and ask someone...these are only small things but if hotel management reads, maybe they will make small changes to improve CS.

Breakfast was good, lots of variety, think we had something completely different each day. Tended to steer away from the hot food as like other guests, we didn't find it very 'hot'. But when it's 30 degrees outside, who wants hot food anyway.

A lady came round every morning saying the words 'room number' without any explanation as to why or so much as a good morning. In other hotels we have previously stayed in, this person usually asks how our stay has been every day and whether they can do anything. It's almost as if in this hotel they were scared to ask! It's little customer contacts like that which can improve the hotel, they may for instance find out that the timeout on the light in the toilets in the basement near the main pool/entrance is way too short so that it cuts out mid pee and you find yourself trying to jump up and down to be be able to see again!

There is a relatively busy road between the beach and hotel so if traffic noise does offend you or you would rather hear the sound of the waves, Rethymnon may not be for you as this is the same for all hotels there.

As for location, the hotel is nicely positioned at the end of the main strip but with bars, shops and restaurants all within spitting distance, to us it seemed more of a plus than a negative. Check out our other reviews for restaurants but the best ones are all in the old town which we took a taxi to in the evenings for €5 and walked back in about 20-30 minutes once the temperature had dipped. All feels very safe and at no point are you walking away from civilisation as the whole road has activity at night right up to the hotel.

Overall, really enjoyed our stay, only a few minor criticisms we felt we should share (with the hotel as much as other potential visitors given that they didn't ask). We probably wouldn't return unless we were guaranteed a room with a better view but other than that it was one of our best holidays yet, really urge you to go B&B to taste some of the fantastic food produced by the tavernas in the old town.



Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from an eleven night holiday at this hotel. Very nice hotel, clean and the staff very friendly and courteous. Food very good with plenty of choice, both at breakfast and dinner. The only downside was the hot dishes were never 'hot'. Every evening at dinner the manager would come round to wish you 'kalispera' and to ask if everything was ok.

Our room was one of about 10 that opened out on to a pool, believe it was called a garden room. We had asked for one with a sea view, but there were very few of these. In fact none of the rooms had very good outlooks, ours was overlooked by the adjacent Pearl Beach hotel.
My partner wasn't keen on the open plan bathroom aspect.

Room Tip: Not many have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sentido Aegean Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentido Aegean Pearl

Address: Afstralon Polemiston Str 28 | End of Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece (Formerly Aegean Pearl)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sentido Aegean Pearl 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sentido Aegean Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sentido Aegean Pearl Hotel Rethymnon
Sentido Aegean Pearl Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentido Aegean Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.