We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Cretan local flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goules

Goules
Goulediana, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
+302831041001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 254 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Erlenbach über Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best Cretan local flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you want to feel at home on Crete, eat with the locals at this marvelous village tavern. Try the chickpeas as an accompaniment to any of the mains.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the Best dining experience I had in Crete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We ate with a table full of old friends and new friends we met in Crete. We were served family style starting with salads served in pita bowls, the chick peas, chicken, then rabbit, then pork, followed by a desert I had never had before, marinated lemon. It seemed like a cooked marinated pear. It was wonderful and I had no idea it was lemon. All of the food was cooked to perfection. The tavern had a very cozy feel, with old world stone walls with lots of wood and very warm toned light. The village near Rethymnon has only 100 people living there and is a scenic drive from the city. We met the chef and owner Kostas Chamogiorgakis who managed to welcome guest, who filled up the tavern, and still oversee the food and service. Kostas was very engaging and a lot of fun. If I make it back to Crete Taverna Goules will be a top priority stop.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlenbach über Schweich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Gordon Ramsay of Cretan Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

For those who've never been, Goules Tavern is situated in the hills to the south of Rethymno. A pirate is said to have grown weary of the sea and having set out to distance himself, established this small hamlet back when. A friend of ours just completed a stone villa overlooking the town, so down the stairs past the church, dining at the restaurant of owner Kostas Chamogiorgakis is an added bonus for villa guests. And how.

Authentic is the term for simple food prepared to perfection, served on fresh linen, and with genuine Cretan hospitality. During our three weeks on Crete we dined at some of the most notorious restaurants on the Island, and at several village establishments of a type. Not one excelled at preparation, bio-diverse ingredients, rich flavor, or culinary art like this establishment.

To give you an idea, the village is hidden down country roads not much better than goat paths. Finding it for the first time is, a tiny bit of a chore. We arrived early for lunch, Cretans take these meals after two. Out of literal nowhere 20 tables filled up in almost an instant, as we dined and talked, the effect was one of those "aha" moments. I cannot recommend this Crete eatery highly enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best meal that I have ever had in Crete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It is an amazing place! You cannot get any better than that if you fancy a traditional places with great cretan cuisine! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cannot afford to miss it when visiting Rethymno...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is how easy going, casual, home made food taverns should be like.
The food is fresh and tasty. The people are easy going and friendly but at the same time professional, polite and know how to run a business.
This is a must for people traveling around and passing close to Rethymnon, or for people living in Rethymnon and don't mind for a short 15min drive. After all in summer Crete, a short evening drive through the sunset to get there and a short drive under the moon to get back to the city is as much a pleasure as the diner itself. And this is not very easy considering how good the food is at Goules. Try everything if you are hungry or with a big company. One dish is better than the other.
Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goules also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Goules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.