We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food by any standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of To Pigadi

To Pigadi
Xanthoudidou 31 | Old Town, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
+302831027522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 238 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Kuwait
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food by any standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant comes very well reviewed pretty much everywhere you look. Indeed, the food was amazing; very freshly prepared with quality ingredients and the chef must be great. That said, there are equally impressive (if not better) places to dine around Reythmno.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    154
    33
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“gets better and better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Again we chose To Pigadi for our evening dining. It cannot be faulted - after four years we would not go anywhere else. Ignore those two star ratings, they know nothing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good choice.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to TO PIGADI after beeing told by our landlady Karen from CASA MAISTRA. It was a good choice. The food and the wine were absolutely delicious. We even found a cache from Geocaching inside the restaurant. Alltogether: a good choice. Tks for everything, we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's worth booking a table at this family restaurant, since it is very popular. At the end of a holiday in Crete, we had our best meal here. The service was attentive, the food delicious and the local wine good. They even had vegetarian moussaka, which was lovely. This is the place to eat in Rethimnon!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A huge letdown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were expecting a nice dinner, since the reviews were quite positive, but we were hugely disappointed. The starters took 35 mn to arrive, and the main course 25 mn after that. Furthemore, depending on our choice, the main course was quite disappointing (we are thinking of the vegetarian pasta, which should be avoided). All the while, the waiters seemed not so busy, and overall ignored us, even though we clearly had finished eating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Pigadi also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to To Pigadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Pigadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.