We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mythos Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mythos Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Mythos Suites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Karaoli Square, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Rethymnon
Lisbon
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the staff, friendly and always ready to help in everything you ask. Impecable service.

A small and quite place, but right in the middle of the old town.

Clean rooms, A/C worked and nice breakfast as well.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer a little more privacy as downstairs rooms are near a small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We only stayed for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! The hotel is small and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. While we were there, there were lots of families with young children and they also seemed very happy and at home at this hotel. We were there for a romantic couples holiday, just me and my wife and we experienced no discrimination or other negative feelings at all for being a same-sex couple. Our suite was very nice, breakfast was excellent, with fresh orange juice every morning and selections of typical continental breakfast foods and Greek foods with excellent pastries and Greek cheeses and olives. Overall, the atmosphere is very relaxed and perfect for a beach holiday. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the organized beaches in Reythmnon and right in the middle of old town. It's a bit difficult to find as the small side street it was on is not marked on most maps. There's a 1 Euro store on Arkadiou Street that we used as a landmark to know when to turn. Overall, staying at the Mythos made our stay in Rethymnon relaxed and happy. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors that open onto the inner courtyard where the pool is are probably the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After spending years of searching for our ideal small and friendly hotel we have finally found it at the Mythos Suites. We will definitely be going back soon.Our room was spotless and well cared for with the most careful attention to detail being spent to make it more comfortable. Our shower curtain was even changed during our stay ! Eleni, Julie and Andy together with the two other staff and owners did everything in their power to be genuinely friendly and helpful; answering any questions and help we needed.Breakfast each morning was an absolute delight with so many different choices each day. The location is without doubt the best there can be because everything is so close - the old town shops, cafes, restaurants and beaches on your door step. i have a walking problem and can say that the location of the hotel was perfect for me. The peace and relaxation we felt at the Hotel was not compromised by its location. As soon as you walked through the doors into the hotel the hustle and bustle disappeared and we felt we had come "home". The pool in the courtyard is lovely for a cool down after a "busy" day at the beach or strolling around the shops ;-) The area is spoilt for choice for things to see both in the town itself and the surrounding area. This was our third visit to Crete and the second time in the Rethymno area. We love it. The people are friendly and there was no trouble of any sort throughout our eleven day stay. The other holiday makers at the hotel were from all different nationalities making it a truly away from it all experience. We reignited the romance in our 29 years marriage at the Mythos- you couldn't help but feel romantic and relaxed. We can face another year of work after our lovely holiday. Thankyou All at the Mythos

Room Tip: Choose a suite that is overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the most friendly hotel I've ever stayed at. We stayed for 10 nights and really enjoyed the location as it's quiet yet very close to the beach, tavernas, bars and shops. Parking wasn't an issue for us as we knew the location of the hotel meant finding a space down a side street which was usually straightforward and free. We always found a space within 5 mins walk although sometimes it meant driving round the one way system a couple of times. The hotel is beautiful and as it's family owned, the staff take extra pride in ensuring their guests are made to feel welcome - they always had a wee chat with us. Rooms are very clean and although we were lazy and didn't always make it down for breakfast, when we did we enjoyed it! Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

In the bustling historic center, close to restaurants and the shore, yet a cool, remarkably quiet, and visually serene refuge to return to. Just on the right side of luxurious. The restoration is elegant, spare, and smart. The staff is exceptionally accommodating, charming and fluent in several languages, and a great resource. In fact, their resourcefulness can transform a trip. All these elements together, in what feels like a private little villa. You may hate to have to leave.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

small quite and romantic hotel. the staff was friendly and helpfull. the breakfast was amazing. the pool is very small but that is not a problem because the sea is in a walking distan, the room was very clean. all was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Mythos suites in Rethymno, Crete, is a perfect little oasis for anyone seeking a quiet, beautiful and friendly place to stay on Crete. Rethymno is a very pretty town, buzzing with tavernas and shops and perfectly situated for trips all over the Western half of the island.
The hotel is tucked away in a little alley off the main shopping road in the very center of town, but inside it is astonishingly quiet and peaceful. It is a small and very beautiful hotel, with a tiny and pretty pool around which the rooms are centred. The staff are very friendly and it is the perfect place to feel at home. There is only breakfast, which is no problem since the town is full of tavernas and restaurants and small places to eat. The cake for breakfast is self-made... The beach of Rethymno is 10 minutes walk away.
You should consider this place if you're looking for peace and quiet in the middle of the buzz, and for a headquarter to go exploring the island and come home to. Don't choose it if you want an in-house disco, all-inclusive meals at set times, the beach at your room door, and 700 people around you. Choose it if you love Crete.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mythos Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Suites Hotel

Address: 12 Karaoli Square, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#29 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mythos Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mythos Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mythos Suites Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mythos Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.