We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for, I guess?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marilyn Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marilyn Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Marilyn Hotel Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Ari Velouchioti & Gorgopotamou, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for, I guess?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked this one based on two things: location and price. We made a bit of a misjudgment on the location - it was a 30 minute walk away from the town centre, we thought it was closer. The price was low but after the room upgrade, safety box and air conditioning we ended up paying almost twice the amount we thought we'd pay.

We didn't mind the walk but someone else might, so if you don't walk to walk half a hour to the centre, either take a taxi or another hotel.

The ocean was just across the street, and the street was just outside the hotel so it felt like we could almost jump right to the beach from our 3rd story balcony. Never tried it so I'm still here to write this review. The hotel pool was small and pretty useless but who cares - the ocean's right there!

The hotel has a small bar that serves basic foodstuff (at least greek salad and probably there were some hamburgers or such, we only once bought the salad for lunch so I don't remember) and some basic alcohol. There wasn't a need to use it so we didn't. The hotel also has a small library of books left there by the previous visitors so we were able to borrow a few to read during our stay. They do have an elevator if you have problems walking the stairs but the stairs are faster and feel safer =)

The staff was ok. They did what was required and nothing else. The cleaners could've visited us more often - we made our own breakfast so 2-3 visits in 2 weeks really didn't cut it. The room was basic but nice enough considering the cost. The AC unit broke down during our stay and started leaking water in in the middle of the night. It took them 2 days to fix it so it leaked to the floor that time. We had paid for it and couldn't sleep without it. Had it been broken longer it would've been a problem, now it was just a small nuisance.

There are a few restaurants, car rentals, minimarkets and such around the place so you can basically get all you need in a 3 block radius. Of course you can get so much more by walking/driving around but we do like being able to buy the yoghurt, fresh bread, tomato, feta, coffee and such from somewhere very close.

Beach chairs outside the hotel aren't free - you pay quite a lot these days to rent a pair. There are some "free" ones somewhere probably not too far away but you're expected to buy food or drinks from the place "renting" those.

The safety box and AC unit cost extra as I mentioned but that's pretty normal in Crete. Just be prepared to pay ~15e/day extra for those two. You need them both. =)

So, not bad for inexpensive place. The cheapest room is probably never what you want unless you're ready to put up with no view and some extra noise so either upgrade right away to upper floors (better rooms and at least the 3rd floor view was well worth the upgrade price) or be prepared to whine your way there later, hoping they're not all taken already.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are on the back of the building or just outside the pool - there's noise. At leas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

it seems that the scam is to give people a room at the back (too hot by far, thin curtain so that all the light and heat of the early morning sun bakes you, really small balcony) and then when you request a move charge you 15 euros a day for a front studio. We met 3 couples there who had paid to move rooms - including us. Only saving grace is Martin and Emily the Swedish afternoon and evening staff who are excellent. Seems the Greek owner and staff are only interested in fleecing you! Having said that if you actually get what you booked (we booked 1 bed apartment then was told 2 weeks before that double booked so we got the rubish studio at the back) its very nice. Would not recommend though.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room facing the sea - they say all rooms have a sea view but only the front one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

For 14 days this summer, we had one of the 2 room flats facing the beach.
It allowed more than enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids (6 and 13 years
of age). The balcony where just perfect, for both breakfast and late night drinks.
The beach is under surveillance of lifegards, and they handled this very
professionally during two windy days with rather large waves suited for
surfing. The hotel had an area on the beach with sunbeds and umbrellas,
the whole day fee where modest, and you even got a drink included.
The pool area is only sufficient for modest number of users, but nice to
have for smaller children, or if the children need to have a swim while their
parents enjoys something from the bar :-)

We had great help from the service minded staff, both concerning
small issues with the room, and the need of assistance with medical help.
We never missed any cleaning of the room, always done while we where
away. Simply nice people :-)

So we will recommend this hotel for families seeking a nice vacation,
among nice friendly greek’s .
We will be back that’s for shure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS-GREECE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at a two space-room on the 3rd floor with our three children. Fortunately there was an elevator (although it smelt bad). Room was big enough for the 5 of us, but the bathroom was very small and very worn. The view out of our large balcony was superb.
It was for that reason and for the good value of money (60 euro per night) that we stayed there for 8 nights. Otherwise we should have gone earlier. It was not the worn furniture and small bathroom that bothered us, but the dirty towels, dirty windows, mirror full of smudges and the bad plumbing in the kitchen and bathroom (kitchen sink choked, water flowing from the pipe of washbasin).
Finally we left the room one night earlier than scheduled due to a cockroach emerging out of the cupboard.
The owner was very kind and obliging, but his mother was rude and discreditable and made us leave the room earlier, although we loved the location and the view.
Beach is really very close (cross the road and you are there), but the sea was always very wavy and lifeguards forbitted swimming in the evening.
If you want a good value of money hotel with nice view, you may try this one, but tell the owner about the cleanliness from the very first moment, in case you notice that something goes wrong, You might find a better condition next morning.
This hotel could be a very good one if their owners took care of it, properly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, South Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The Marilyn studios are about a 40 minute walk from Rethymnon old town, but there are buses and taxis local. There are however plenty of bars and restaurants around the apartments. The beach is across the road, and I can highly recommend the restauraunt near the supermarket (which is next door. ) Great,reasonably priced food and drink in a very friendly atmosphere. Also I thoroughly recommend Bar Elas, about a 15min walk from the Marilyn on the way to the old town. John and Elena are lovely people and they will give you a very friendly welcome with delicious food and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thames ditton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

we had a great time at the marilyn hotel. it is in a perfect location. right on the sandy beach with just a small road infront. we were put in a side room at first so asked the manager if we could move to a sea facing one if any became free. the next day we moved to a large airy room with a super view. it is a good 35 min walk to the hub of the town, with excellent restaurants in the old lanes and great fish ones around the harbour. well worth the effort. we found the staff very friendly and helpfull and will definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The Marilyn is situated facing the beach which runs from the harbour in the centre of Rethymnon (2km away) and continues in the distance past the Marilyn. The beach is mostly sandy but there is a stoney strip where the sand meets the sea. Throughout our stay the sea was calm and during the day there was a lifeguard on hand in case of emergency. The facilities on the beach consisted of plenty of sun loungers and parasols (typical cost 4 Euros) and some showers to rinse oneself after a day on the beach. There were plenty of places to get refreshments close to the beach. Unfortunately there were a lot of small items of litter on the beach.

The Marilyn is approximately 20 metres from the beach. One simply needs to cross a road from the Marilyn to get to the beach.

We stayed in a Promo room that was booked with A1 Travel. From the balcony we had a partial sea view and a view of the children's entertainment centre which was next door to the hotel. Facilities included a 2-ring cooker, a saucepan, a frying pan, a fridge with a small freezer, plates, dishes, bowls, cutlery, a tv (one English speaking news channel and occasional English speaking programmes on other channels), a bathroom and towels. Items not included: a can opener; a toaster; an oven; a grill; and a fan. Air conditioning was available at an additional cost of 6 Euros a night. There is a small swimming pool which had plenty of sun loungers; parasols; beach balls; a basket ball net; and inflatables (all provided free of charge).

There is a pool table in the small bar area of the Marilyn. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful.

At the children's entertainment centre there is a crazy golf course (4 Euros), a child's go-kart circuit, a basket ball hoop throwing game, trampolines, table hockey etc.

There are restaurants within yards of the Marilyn - my favourite was the Akti Traditional Taverna - where the food was delicious, the sea front location and surroundings were sensational and the service was first class.

Also, there is a small supermarket 20 yards from the Marilyn and a larger supermarket 10 minutes walk away.

Overall the Marilyn is a very basic - but adequate - hotel that has an excellent location.

A taxi from Chania Airport to the Marilyn costs 70 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marilyn Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marilyn Hotel Apartments

Address: Ari Velouchioti & Gorgopotamou, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marilyn Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marilyn Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marilyn Hotel Apartments Rethymnon, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marilyn Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.